Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
59 user(s) are online (41 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 59

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +70€

Current balance: 85€
(last updated 02/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 86 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
February. 17, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



How to make Black Starsphere

Joined:
2013/11/1 8:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 23
Offline
Well, yeah.

I need a starsphere that is black. Only black. Absolutely nothing else.
I tried replacing existing starsphere textures with a black image, but I didn't work.

Also, please do not suggest "turning off background stars in the options".
I have something in mind.

So, any idea?

Posted on: 2015/5/11 12:30
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere

Joined:
2009/7/21 20:08
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 33
Offline
As far as I know it isn't possible. It was attempted in Neo Terra. You can have everything black except the tiny little background stars.

Posted on: 2015/5/11 12:34
Alley, DiscoveryGC Developer
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere

Joined:
2013/11/1 8:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 23
Offline
I suppose I should explain what my goal is.

You know you've got the starsphere textures, like crow nebula, edge nedula etc.
And then you have those small white stars.

Well I want to have only those small white stars. To give it more simple space-ish look. Like this for example.

http://phosproject.com/wp-content/themes/phos_theme/images/7.jpg

Posted on: 2015/5/11 12:38
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
Comment out every starsphere but the stars line in the system? That should just render stars.

Posted on: 2015/5/11 15:50
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere

Joined:
2013/11/1 8:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 23
Offline
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
Comment out every starsphere but the stars line in the system? That should just render stars.


How would that work?
And is is doable trough UTF Editor?

Posted on: 2015/5/11 15:59
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/25 22:40
From Romania
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 195
Offline
No, with notepad, in your System.ini.

For example in New York system :

Code:
[Background]
basic_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_stars_basic.cmp
complex_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01_stars.cmp
nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp


put a ; in front of your background nebula or starsphere with stars :

Code:
[Background]
;basic_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_stars_basic.cmp
;complex_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01_stars.cmp
;nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp


That should make a black space ambient, no stars no background.

Posted on: 2015/5/11 16:22
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere

Joined:
2013/11/1 8:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 23
Offline
Quote:

cata123 wrote:
No, with notepad, in your System.ini.

For example in New York system :

Code:
[Background]
basic_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_stars_basic.cmp
complex_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01_stars.cmp
nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp


put a ; in front of your background nebula or starsphere with stars :

Code:
[Background]
;basic_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_stars_basic.cmp
;complex_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01_stars.cmp
;nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp


That should make a black space ambient, no stars no background.


Removed only the line:
nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp
and it worked like a charm!
Exactly what I wanted.


However, is there a way to do this directly trough the .cmp files?
I plan on using this on the Discovery mod server, and they don't like people tampering with .ini files.

Anyway, thanks alot!

Posted on: 2015/5/11 18:43
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere

Joined:
2009/7/21 20:08
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

DragonRider wrote:
Quote:

cata123 wrote:
No, with notepad, in your System.ini.

For example in New York system :

Code:
[Background]
basic_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_stars_basic.cmp
complex_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01_stars.cmp
nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp


put a ; in front of your background nebula or starsphere with stars :

Code:
[Background]
;basic_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_stars_basic.cmp
;complex_stars = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01_stars.cmp
;nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp


That should make a black space ambient, no stars no background.


Removed only the line:
nebulae = solar\starsphere\starsphere_li01.cmp
and it worked like a charm!
Exactly what I wanted.


However, is there a way to do this directly trough the .cmp files?
I plan on using this on the Discovery mod server, and they don't like people tampering with .ini files.

Anyway, thanks alot!


CMP edits will get you equally banned.

Posted on: 2015/5/11 21:04
Alley, DiscoveryGC Developer
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/25 22:40
From Romania
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 195
Offline
It`s a modding community. We talk about how to modify your own.
If you`re playing a specific server, well, should talk with a server administrator to remove starsphere CRC check.
And really starsphere CMP is not a hack, who cares about what background you have there, loading the bandwidth with starsphere cmp check is a totally waste of time.

Posted on: 2015/5/11 22:17
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
kmiller = alley = current Discovery server programmer extraordinaire and admin.

She's merely indicating that CMP edits are also watched for in general, and that no exception for starspheres is currently there (and I'm not sure that adding one is worth the effort).

Posted on: 2015/5/11 23:46
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: How to make Black Starsphere
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1921
Offline
Extract the attached program to your EXE directory and modify your shortcut to use it. For example, if your shortcut contains "C:\Discovery\EXE\Freelancer.exe" ... change it to "C:\Discovery\EXE\nonebulae.exe" Freelancer.exe .... I don't think it'll be picked up as a cheat, but haven't actually tested it.

Attach file:


zip nonebulae.zip Size: 1.22 KB; Hits: 241

Posted on: 2015/5/12 2:10
Top