Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
37 user(s) are online (13 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 37

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 60€
(last updated 03/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 55 users playing Freelancer on 45 servers.
May. 26, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



3DS Max Ship Conversion
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/6/9 9:32
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 93
Offline
Actually just looking for a bit of an assist with exporting ships utilizing the CMP exporter for 3DS Max. I have the ships ready to go with their smooth and hard edges already designated but I don't have 3DS Max.

Anyone out there willing to give a fellow modder a hand with these exports?

Posted on: 2013/11/12 14:10
Top
Re: 3DS Max Ship Conversion

Joined:
2012/6/23 2:14
From Classified
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 32
Offline
Sometimes it's simpler to use another program. Wings 3D does 3DS, both import and export models in that format. So you can export it to what you need and vis versa. That's how I would do it cause of such programs costing a lot.

Posted on: 2013/11/13 17:49
Top
Re: 3DS Max Ship Conversion
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/2/17 20:45
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 474
Offline
Quote:

Regious wrote:
Sometimes it's simpler to use another program.

The problem: w0dk4's CMP Exporter is only for 3dsMax.

Posted on: 2013/11/13 18:11
How to create .SUR files - Tutorial
Top
Re: 3DS Max Ship Conversion
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/6/9 9:32
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 93
Offline
Quote:

Skotty. wrote:
The problem: w0dk4's CMP Exporter is only for 3dsMax.


Therein lies the problem lol.

That's why I'm asking if someone who has 3DS Max would be so kind as to perform the conversions for me since the ships themselves are already set to be exported.

I use Wings3D for all my modelling and the files are in OBJ format with smooth and hard edges applied so they just need to be converted to CMP, MAT, and SUR files.

Posted on: 2013/11/13 19:33
Top
Re: 3DS Max Ship Conversion

Joined:
2013/10/19 0:51
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 34
Offline
Do it through Milkshape?

Posted on: 2013/11/13 20:02
A crime is the thought itself, the implementation is the only consequence.
Top
Re: 3DS Max Ship Conversion
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
Milkshape's exporter sucks.

Posted on: 2013/11/13 20:06
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: 3DS Max Ship Conversion

Joined:
2013/10/19 0:51
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 34
Offline
Of course but seems it will be much easier for topicstarter. Also we still don't have MAT exporter for Max

Posted on: 2013/11/13 21:03
A crime is the thought itself, the implementation is the only consequence.
Top
Re: 3DS Max Ship Conversion
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
How about you super-proggies looking at the possibility of an OBJ-CMP converter?

The obj-sur converter was a royal pain but you got that sorted very well, Schmack.

Posted on: 2013/11/14 2:44
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top