Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
72 user(s) are online (37 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 72

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 41 users playing Freelancer on 44 servers.
July. 6, 2022

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 3 4 »


JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
So, I'd give JFLP another try. First time I had a weird result (a.o., the menu boxes were gone and iirc so was the hud). I thought that it was meant that way, decided I didn't like it, and removed it.

Probably some things simply went wrong, so I'll give it another try.

Before I actually do it, I'll be happy with any advice in general, and I have a few questions in particular:

On installing the Game plus JFLP

I guess this will simply be
1. The Game
2. The official 1.1 patch
3. JFLP

I assume it is not needed (or even bad) to install the FLSDK or the QuickFix, Am I right?


On Mods-in-progress

I assume the compatibility of a mod (in progress) with JFLP will depend on what files the mod alters, and to what degree...

I have quite a large mod in progress, mainly a Star System mod (adding Systems and expanding on existing ones) but also the market files, mBases.ini initialworld (and other faction related files) as well as other important files are rewritten, based on FLSDK 1.5. How large a problem will I have, using this mod? Should I rework a bunch, or maybe all of these files?

I realise the second question will be kinda hard to answer, but I don't expect an accurate or detailed answer. Will be pleased with some general directions)

Thans in advance!


Posted on: 2010/11/26 21:57
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
it depends on what you call jflp.
if you mean the jflp.dll library, it is pretty much compatible with anything you do with your mod (not with any other library out there though).
if you use the complete jflp, it does contain a SDK itself so it will work if the jflp is part of the game you apply your mod to.

however, it is better if you only use decompressed files there for modding them as most clients you probably will have won't replace all of their game files with jflp only for the purpose of ability to use your mod (most users wouldn't even know how to turn it off rather than reinstalling the whole game).

Posted on: 2010/11/26 22:07
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/17 23:28
From new jersey usa
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 911
Offline
jflp uses the sdk i can give you an idea it worked pretty well for me but i encountered some errors. you can build your mod around the jflp or include it with your mod so add the jflp files to your mod and incorporate the two. so who ever downloads your mod well get the benefit of both 1. your mod and jflp so in the end they don't have to download it so its part of your mod. my errors were caused by adding battle ship encounters script into the mod and caused problems.

Posted on: 2010/11/26 22:13
Open in new window
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Quote:

Gisteron wrote:
it depends on what you call jflp.
if you mean the jflp.dll library, it is pretty much compatible with anything you do with your mod (not with any other library out there though).
if you use the complete jflp, it does contain a SDK itself so it will work if the jflp is part of the game you apply your mod to.

however, it is better if you only use decompressed files there for modding them as most clients you probably will have won't replace all of their game files with jflp only for the purpose of ability to use your mod (most users wouldn't even know how to turn it off rather than reinstalling the whole game).

I was thinking of what you call the complete JFLP - including the SDK.

I am going thru the Readme now; it lists the files altered by the patch, so I can decide which of these changes I will implement in my mod.

Posted on: 2010/11/26 22:19
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/9/28 21:13
From Wales
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 925
Offline
I had problems when I tried to use it also. Menu was missing frames around tabs etc, and when I launched to space everything just went black, wierd. It put me off instantly.

Nevertheless, I've heard many good things about it and some swear by it, but I have a feeling that the best way to use it is to use it as the base for your mod and build on it, rather than try to pick it apart and add bits of it to your existing mod. Think that's why I didn't work for me, might not have been compatible with some hacks I'd already made.

Posted on: 2010/11/26 22:33
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Quote:

Timmy51m wrote:
I had problems when I tried to use it also. Menu was missing frames around tabs etc, and when I launched to space everything just went black, wierd. It put me off instantly.

Nevertheless, I've heard many good things about it and some swear by it, but I have a feeling that the best way to use it is to use it as the base for your mod and build on it, rather than try to pick it apart and add bits of it to your existing mod. Think that's why I didn't work for me, might not have been compatible with some hacks I'd already made.

Hmmm... Kinda hesitating now.... I think I got the same thing. And indeed I already implemented a bunch of hacks, and also changed and added several IDS.

So I think I'll just stick to FLSDK1.5 and manually correct thing Adoxa's describes in the Readme of JFLP. Sounds like that is very elaborated, but in fact it's probaby the most efficient way for me.

Posted on: 2010/11/27 8:01
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/29 1:19
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 220
Offline
What are you trying to accomplish, Moonhead?

If you want the features of the JFLP.DLL, then just install the .DLL. It is the easiest and highest quality way to get widescreen support in Freelancer.

The JFLP Patch is essentially an SDK. I wish that it were named that way to avoid confusion with the .DLL.

Yes, your installation order is correct. And, yes, it would be bad to install any other SDK or patch over the JFLP Patch... you would be mixing SDKs.

To attempt to apply an SDK to an existing mod is... difficult. Perhaps extremely difficult. And what result do you hope to achieve?

Adoxa made a determined effort to combine the best of other SDK's into the JFLP Patch. If you were starting a new mod from scratch, then JFLP Patch would be an excellent SDK to start with. I have not noticed any problems with it, and I use it quite a bit.

So, yes, for an existing mod you should probably not try to change SDKs.


Posted on: 2010/12/5 3:28
Peace through superior firepower
Top
Anonymous
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Anonymous-Anonymous
I happen to agree this is the best way to implement widescreen for FL. Takes seconds to add and works like a charm. Been using it since it came out. JFLP adds all sorts of stuff which you don't have to add. You can just utilise the widescreen part of it and then it's lovely if that's all you want.

Posted on: 2010/12/5 8:18
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
Quote:

Moonhead wrote:
...
So I think I'll just stick to FLSDK1.5 and ...


Just in passing:- SDK 1.5 is BAD according to Louva-Deus.

Use SDK 1.3 but it is not complete, Jason has put in a whole lot more fixes too. So maybe the best is to choose one OR the other.

Posted on: 2010/12/5 23:32
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/12/26 16:55
From Xarania
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 806
Offline
On the flipside... I've never had a problem with JFLP
in fact.. I swear by it & if i could, I'd do TV adds for it at 3am in the morning..

"Because you know it's good"

Posted on: 2010/12/6 6:54
Open in new window
http://freexlr.forumotion.net - FL-XLR MOD http://www.smfweb.com/forums/MERCHQ - [MERC]
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 2010
Offline
Now that I have a widescreen monitor myself, I've found a few flaws in my implementation. Fixed with v1.12 of jflp.dll. The mouse sensitivity has been restored, so if you've gotten used to the widescreen version, you might find this a little sluggish. Due to the adjusted camera for scripts, you'll notice something extra in the gasminer intro - I'll fix that with the next JFLP. It also fixes the Nav Map/Alt+Tab issue (reported somewhere else).

Once I get back to JFLP, I'll move widescreen and the extra stats into separate plugins.

Posted on: 2010/12/6 13:56
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1615
Offline
Bug: You can't finish the blood dragon's mission where you have to dock at tekagi's arc if you used "save" command, the generators don't appear then.

Bug: You can hardly finish the mission with the experimental nomad ships in Rheinland. Once you are in the minefield the mission fails either because you get behind a nomad ship or once you destroy one. You get the message: "Mission failed! You fled from battle!"

Setting the cruise speed to 300 before you launch from Holstein fixes the issue, so you might want either reset the cruise speed automatically (with notice) or just drop a hint at the mission information.

Posted on: 2010/12/6 16:23
Open in new window
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
the problem on mission 10 (the experimental nomad ships) i have, too, even without usage of the jflp. however, there is a way to avoid it just staying strictly at the hardpoints until you are clearly ordered to destroy the nomad spaceships.

Posted on: 2010/12/6 16:29
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/4/17 5:45
From Siruis Sector, Discovery
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 50
Offline
I have one problem with Widescreen not sure what it is.

Im running at 1366x768 and it looks great. but the problem i notice is a screen lag and a screen blur type problem. the blur dont bug me all to bad. but the screen lag is such that the mouse somewhat times out and the game gets abit slow.

I thought it was the AMD Dual-Core Optimizer so in uninstalled it.

Snake eye told me about FL and Duel core not getting along and told me about Affinity. so iv tryed that.

i thougth it was my sound ( Windows sound ) being at 24bit/48000 hz so i lowered it to 16.

but none of that worked. i checked the ENB files in Swwt. but that turned up with all settings off.

I posted in Hudshift request as to what i did to get 1366x768 to work. so you can have a look there as to what i did. im not sure if its GPU drivers or not. as i am unable to download them currently.

Another site you can look at for info on my problem is this site to.Swwt ENB also what all Dlls do i need to use. im only using jflp.dll and jflpac.dll.

Thanx for the update. i can see the change in the bar. its more pulled out from what it was. and thanx for putting up with me

Posted on: 2010/12/6 20:14
Join Farmers Rights MovementOpen in new window
Top
Re: JFLP / Jason's Freelancer Patch
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/29 1:19
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 220
Offline
Quote:

warlordfmike wrote:
I have one problem with Widescreen not sure what it is.


Are you certain that you experience the lag only when in widescreen mode? Does it happen at 800x600?

And does the lag happen after running for a few minutes? Perhaps during an intense battle?

Heat is a common cause of intermittent lag. Make sure that your fans can exchange air freely, and consider adding addition fans to keep your computer cool.

If it is a heat-related problem, then it is important to fix it. Heat will shorten the lifetime of your computer -- sometimes dramatically.

Posted on: 2010/12/6 20:21
Peace through superior firepower
Top
(1) 2 3 4 »