Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
62 user(s) are online (36 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 61

Thaddeus, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: 0€
(last updated 06/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 54 users playing Freelancer on 40 servers.
August. 6, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Satellite Name & Map
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
Just a couple of mini-questions about satellite objects.

1) If I have a satellite object (for example a nav buoy, weapons platform or telescope), and I align it to a faction, the text comes up as '[Faction] Satellite' in the game environment despite the actual name being on the nav list and map. Is there a way to make it come up with the name i've actually given it rather than the type and still keep it faction aligned (since removing alignment fixes this but I actually want it to have a faction)?

2) If a satellite object doesn't have a sprite on the navmap, is there a simple way to make sure it does?

Any help is appreciated.

Posted on: 7/9 23:55
Top
Re: Satellite Name & Map
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/2/17 20:45
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 480
Offline
It depends on the object type. If it is MISSION_SATELLITE then the name you gave it should be displayed. Otherwise it will be just <faction> Satellite. If I recall right.
If there is no sprite on the map then either the object is invisible on the map (visit=128) or because it's radius in the solararch.ini is too small to be displayed.

Posted on: 7/10 0:03
How to create .SUR files - Tutorial
Top
Re: Satellite Name & Map
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
Thanks for the help. The name of the object is now visible in-game after it being labelled as a mission sat.

That said, apparently also as a result of it being labelled a mission sat is that the name of the object no longer appears on the navmap, which it was doing before, so I can't tell whether or not the solar radius fix would be having any effect on the map sprite.

Posted on: 7/10 0:21
Top
Re: Satellite Name & Map
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/2/17 20:45
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 480
Offline
Solar Radius is just the sprite. I am not sure now however if the MISSION SATELLITE does change the visiblity in the contact list.

Posted on: 7/10 0:29
How to create .SUR files - Tutorial
Top
Re: Satellite Name & Map
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
It's definitely still in the contact list. The text just isn't on the navmap.

Posted on: 7/10 0:30
Top