Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
34 user(s) are online (16 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 33

w0dk4, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: -100€
(last updated 09/2018)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 78 users playing Freelancer on 33 servers.
September. 25, 2018

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



There is a simple trick to fix when your custom model becomes invisble when its center is offscreen
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 857
Offline
But I forgot what it was I have a vague recollection that it was something you had to in the .SUR section of FL Model Tool?

Can someone refresh my memory?

Posted on: 12/4 4:00
Top
Re: There is a simple trick to fix when your custom model becomes invisble when its center is offscreen
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 178
Offline
try to resize it by factor 1 and then save it
usually thats all you need to do

Posted on: 12/4 8:49
Top
Re: There is a simple trick to fix when your custom model becomes invisble when its center is offscreen
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 857
Offline
Quote:

SWAT_OP-R8R wrote:
try to resize it by factor 1 and then save it
usually thats all you need to do


Thanks SWAT. I didn't work though.

I wasn't sure whether you mean just the .SUR or both the files, so I tried first with .SUR only and then with both the ,.3DB and the .SUR. Also, tried it with all the three types the FL Model Clober offers (scenery, weapon/danage object, ship/station).

Looking into the .SUR file, I think it had to do with this line:

Code:
Surface      :
CenterX      : -0.020241  CenterY : 0.010830  CenterZ : -0.510531


But can I just manually set all the centers to 0.0?
EDIT Yes I can but it also doesn't solve the issue.

Posted on: 12/4 10:30
Top
Re: There is a simple trick to fix when your custom model becomes invisble when its center is offscreen
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 857
Offline
Hmm seems like I had a similar problem in 2010 already

Posted on: 12/4 11:26
Top
Re: There is a simple trick to fix when your custom model becomes invisble when its center is offscreen
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/6/13 13:38
From Russia, Penza
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 96
Offline
May be problem in CMP settings:
http://www.elite-games.ru/images/freelancer/modding/wire_dock2.png
Model will not appear when radius is too small.

Posted on: 12/4 11:48
Top
Re: There is a simple trick to fix when your custom model becomes invisble when its center is offscreen
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 857
Offline
Quote:

Jeider wrote:
May be problem in CMP settings:
http://www.elite-games.ru/images/freelancer/modding/wire_dock2.png
Model will not appear when radius is too small.


The model does appear, but not when its center goes offscreen. (BTW I did check what you pointed me to, and the radius of my enlarged model is larger than the vanilla one — although the enlargement factor is not the same; but I leave this for now as I know too little of these values to mess with them. Thanks anyway!!)

Btw meanwhile I noticed that the supposed resized .SUR hasn't been resized at all. Reading back, this apparently was a problem recognized at the time, and Adoxa made his SURresizer to compensate this part of FLMT. But I do not succeed it with SURresizer either (also, there is no "Do it!" button on that app, so I can only assume that entering the desired values and then hit "save" should do it, but apparently it doesn't.)

Posted on: 12/4 11:56

Edited by Moonhead on 2017/12/4 12:04:30
Top
Re: There is a simple trick to fix when your custom model becomes invisble when its center is offscreen
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2013/9/19 20:09
From Carbondale, IL
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 212
Offline
Run the .cmp file through FlModel tool. Resize too a low amount like .99 then save. This should zero position. If this doesn't work try resetting zero with FladdRadius (both progs are in downloads). If both don't work go back to modeler and zero the model (x0, y0, z0) on you model's center point and re-export.

Posted on: 1/10 14:50
Top