Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
37 user(s) are online (21 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 37

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -35€
(last updated 05/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 40 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
May. 23, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 3 4 »


gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/4/18 21:56
From Ohio, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 65
Offline
I've managed to get the neutron star effect implemented, and visible from further away than the 2k that seems to be the default, but now I'm having issues with it not being visible further away than about 26k or so, and even then not in it's entirety until you get even closer. Here's a short video showing my problem:

Open in new window

Here's the relevant code:

effects.ini
Code:
[Effect]
nickname = gf_neutronstar
effect_type = EFT_EQUIP_ATTACHED_INSANELY_LARGE
vis_effect = gf_neutronstar


effect_types.ini
Code:
[EffectType]
nickname = EFT_EQUIP_ATTACHED_INSANELY_LARGE
priority = 1.000000
generic_priority = 1.000000
lod_type = EFT_LOD_NONE
radius = 1000000
visibility = EXIST_OFFSCREEN
update = UPDATE_OFFSCREEN
run_time = -1
pbubble = 1000000, 1000000


loadouts.ini
Code:
[Loadout]
nickname = neutron_star
equip = neutron_star, HpFX


solararch.ini
Code:
[Solar]
nickname = neutron_star_fx
type = NON_TARGETABLE
DA_archetype = solar\misc\nav_buoy_volcano.3db
material_library = solar\Solar_mat_misc02.mat
LODranges = 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 20000
distance_render = 5000
mass = 10000.000000
loadout = neutron_star
solar_radius = 2.443000
shape_name = NNM_SM_NAVBUOY
hit_pts = 999999961690316250000000000000000000.000000


bw07.ini
Code:
[Object]
nickname = BW07_Sun1_fx
ids_name = 261048
pos = 0, 0, 0
rotate = 30, 0, 0
Archetype = neutron_star_fx
ids_info = 66164


I need the effect to be visible throughout the system, so if anyone knows what I'm missing, I'd very much appreciate it.

Posted on: 2011/4/19 12:17
Open in new window
ForumsModDB
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/25 17:58
From On my way back
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
Posts: 331
Offline
I remember someone saying that view distance was coded into the .ale file. I've had a look and I cant see where it is. maybe someone else could expand on this. I'd like it fixed because Omega 41 is flawed otherwise.

Posted on: 2011/4/19 12:36
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2011/4/3 17:43
From N/A
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 199
Offline
Right, without the neutron star effect Omega-41 is just another boring system...

Posted on: 2011/4/19 13:34
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3517
Offline
In the effect type, try turning down the radius and fixing the pbubble: it should be MIN, MAX, so something like 1, 100000.

If that doesn't work, might be something to do with the ALE; look at the Emitter_LODCurve definitions for all the effects and see if they go to zero somewhere.

Posted on: 2011/4/19 16:57
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/25 17:58
From On my way back
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
Posts: 331
Offline
Quote:

PolarBear wrote:
Right, without the neutron star effect Omega-41 is just another boring system...


Yes, yes it is, thank you for your useful post, as always. Now a question just for Polarbear/Dvdman - please explain why the effect vanishes or GTFO

Posted on: 2011/4/19 18:41
Top
Re: I want drama or ealse
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2011/4/3 17:43
From N/A
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 199
Offline
Because of it's LOD ranges, DUH!

Posted on: 2011/4/19 19:07
You're being ignored for:
Open in new window
seconds.

Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3517
Offline
PolarBear, stop acting like an ass and give a proper reply.

Since you obviously don't know what's wrong, just don't reply at all.

Any future reply from you in this topic will be deleted.

Posted on: 2011/4/19 19:09
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/25 17:58
From On my way back
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
Posts: 331
Offline
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
In the effect type, try turning down the radius and fixing the pbubble: it should be MIN, MAX, so something like 1, 100000.

If that doesn't work, might be something to do with the ALE; look at the Emitter_LODCurve definitions for all the effects and see if they go to zero somewhere.



changed the pbubble values to 1, 100000 ~ no effect

had a look at the .ale, the various effects have Emitter_LODCurve float values of (using Adoxas Xml kit):

0.0000000000: 0.07386288
1.0000000000: 1

and
0: 1

tell you the truth I have no idea what I'm looking at in .ales, why cant it just have a simply draw distance value you can change, lol


Just to make sure I changed the LOD range and the distance_render to double their size. Both have no effect on the draw distance


Posted on: 2011/4/19 22:09
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/4/18 21:56
From Ohio, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 65
Offline
Changing the radius and fixing the pbubble didn't change anything. I'll try the ALE next and see what happens. I've poked around with ALEs a time or two, so I'll see what happens.

Is there anything in the EXE that would have an effect on the visible distance?

Posted on: 2011/4/19 23:16
Open in new window
ForumsModDB
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3517
Offline
There are a few offsets that affect it, but I'd expect you've already modified those. In any case, just peek into the list:
http://the-starport.net/modules/media ... ex.php/Limit_Breaking_101

Specifically, I'd look at:
250000f freelancer.exe 210534 Dev far plane of view frustum (nothing will be drawn beyond this)

6250000f server.dll 086AEC FriendlyFire square of maximum effect draw distance (vis_beam)

Though there might be others which I've missed.

Posted on: 2011/4/20 0:04
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1905
Offline
Increase space_farclip (aka freelancer.exe @ 1C8910).

bw07.ini
Code:
[SystemInfo]
space_farclip = 100000

According to the list

Code:
freelancer.exe 1C8910 20000f = same offset as below, max distance at which ships can be seen (even if lodranges specify a higher distance) ~Dev
freelancer.exe 1C8910 20000f = same offset as above, poly flipping distance - raising this value stops graphical glitches on big CMPs, but raising it too high introduces flickering issues with SPH-based models (like planets) ~FriendlyFire

so I'm not sure if 100k is regarded as too big (I only tried with 40k to see if it would work at all).

Posted on: 2011/4/20 3:03
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/4/18 21:56
From Ohio, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 65
Offline
The space_farclip fixed it. Thanks for the help!

Posted on: 2011/4/20 4:10
Open in new window
ForumsModDB
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/25 17:58
From On my way back
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
Posts: 331
Offline
Quote:

Capt.Morgan wrote:
The space_farclip fixed it. Thanks for the help!


Thanks to Adoxa again! Confirmed, works in Omega 41 too. cost me 35k in damage just to view it from 100k away

least I can now use it in other systems without being embarrassed...

Posted on: 2011/4/20 9:11
Top
Anonymous
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Anonymous-Anonymous
Can also confirm that this works. Outstanding!

* NEW DISCOVERY*

This farclip also fixes another for me at least, major issue i've had for years in my mods. When using large planet and i mean large, 40-50k, if you use a ring round them, then these would flip out at certain ranges, or parts of the ring would just vanish until you got to a certain distance. Not any more. This cures the large ring vanishing problem as well. Now i'm even more impressed. Well done Adoxa.

Posted on: 2011/4/21 9:34
Top
Re: gf_neutronstar rendering problem
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 895
Offline
Is this a freelancer.exe edit at the ref mentioned above, or an ini edit at the system_info section?

In order to reduce experimentation (and work duplication), what is the recommended technique? Make farclip = the entry, or edit the exe to 100k?


Posted on: 2011/4/21 14:39
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
(1) 2 3 4 »