Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
48 user(s) are online (21 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 48

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 56 users playing Freelancer on 51 servers.
January. 24, 2022

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Decrease screen font size?
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/4/10 13:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Hi guys! I just re-installed Freelancer after I stumbled across an old screenshot on my hd. I remembered I had never finished it when I played it years ago, so I plan to do that now (hope I manage this time...).

My problem is that the screen fonts are far too big. The description of objects in space is so long I cant read it completely. The names of weapons or actions in keyboard config menu are so long they overlap the mapped keys. Etc. etc...

I installed the Quickfix as suggested here but it didn't change anything. I also tried changing values in /FONTS, but didn't help either.

So, thanks for any advice...

Posted on: 2011/4/10 13:57
Top
Re: Decrease screen font size?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/7/30 4:40
From P.R.C
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 851
Offline
Sounds like your Freelancer installation not setup the font which Freelancer used.

Search Agency FB, download it and install it, then see is the problem solved.

BTW: If you see something like <XML> in the text, you need to install the XML Parser. You can found it in your Freelancer CD\REDIST folder,

Posted on: 2011/4/10 14:04
Sorry for my poor english...
Top
Re: Decrease screen font size?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
"[...] oh, and welcome to The Starport, Jim."

Posted on: 2011/4/10 18:10
Top
Re: Decrease screen font size?
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/4/10 13:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Agency FB did it! Now that I see it I remember the font well...

Thanks very much, also for the welcome!

Posted on: 2011/4/10 19:36
Top
Re: Decrease screen font size?
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/4/10 13:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Not sure if I should open 2 more threads or simply put it here... I have 2 more questions now:

- What's the easiest way to make FL appear in 16:10 on my monitor? I read about some ways, but as with the screen font, maybe there is a simpler solution than editing inis etc...

- Gameplay-wise I have to say that I'm having the same problems as last time... Already in the 3rd job assignment I tried, I simply died, repeatedly. I bought the best weapons available, but still when I go up against several rogues, my ship is destroyed before I can take them all out. I really wonder how to do this?! I can't do much more than follow one enemy after another and try to hit them with all I have... I didn't find any nanobot repair units at the dealer by the way, so I can't repair my ship in combat - maybe that's the secret? Thanks for any advice!

Posted on: 2011/4/11 13:31
Top
Re: Decrease screen font size?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1615
Offline
http://www.moddb.com/mods/widescreen-wondermods

In the arms dealer there are 4 categories. After you opened the trade window, look...eh, wait a sec.
http://www.abload.de/img/unbenannt7sjq.png

Since you are complaining that you die to fast you surely want also to check if there are better shields and ships aviable for you.

Posted on: 2011/4/11 16:26
Open in new window
Top
Re: Decrease screen font size?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2009/7/21 11:33
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 92
Offline
Fonts.ini:

[TrueType]
nickname = ButtonText
font = Britannic Bold
;fixed_height = 0.030000
fixed_height = 0.026000

;All headers including loading text
;Maybe Haettenschweiler
;Gloucester MT Extra Condensed
[TrueType]
nickname = PageHeader
font = Britannic Bold
fixed_height = 0.038000

;all subheaders
;maybe Cambria
[TrueType]
nickname = SubHeader
font = Cambria
fixed_height = 0.026000

;names of items for sale
[TrueType]
nickname = ItemName
font = Sylfaen
;fixed_height = 0.029000
fixed_height = 0.027000

;Save game titles
[TrueType]
nickname = ListText
font = Sylfaen
;fixed_height = 0.031000
fixed_height = 0.029500

;tool tips
[TrueType]
nickname = ToolTip
font = Times New Roman
fixed_height = 0.025000

; roll overs
[TrueType]
nickname = Rollover
font = Times New Roman
fixed_height = 0.025000

text of ;the 2 huds (WEAPS AND CONTACTLIST)
[TrueType]
nickname = HudSmall
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.022000

[TrueType]
nickname = MissionObjective
font = Agency FB
;fixed_height = 0.058000
fixed_height = 0.050000

[TrueType]
nickname = Normal
font = Sylfaen
fixed_height = 0.032000

[TrueType]
nickname = NewsMission
font = Sylfaen
fixed_height = 0.032000

[TrueType]
nickname = NewsTicker
font = Sylfaen
fixed_height = 0.042000

[TrueType]
nickname = PlayerName
font = Sylfaen
;fixed_height = 0.027000
fixed_height = 0.025000

[TrueType]
nickname = TradePlayerName
font = Sylfaen
fixed_height = 0.027000

[TrueType]
nickname = DebugText
font = FixedSys
fixed_height = 0.027000

[TrueType]
nickname = ConfirmPlayerText
font = Sylfaen
fixed_height = 0.032000

[TrueType]
nickname = ConfirmText
font = Sylfaen
fixed_height = 0.029000

[TrueType]
nickname = NavMap1600
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.010000

[TrueType]
nickname = NavMap1024
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.021000

[TrueType]
nickname = NavMap1280
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.019200

[TrueType]
nickname = NavMap800
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.024200




Rich_fonts.ini:

[TrueType]
font = 0, Sylfaen, 25
font = 0a, Sylfaen, 25
font = 0b, Sylfaen, 25
font = 0c, Sylfaen, 25
font = 0d, Sylfaen, 25
font = 0e, Sylfaen, 25
font = 0f, Sylfaen, 22
font = 1, Sylfaen, 25
font = 1a, Sylfaen, 25
font = 2, Sylfaen, 22
font = 3, Britannic Bold, 33
font = 5, Britannic Bold, 18
font = 5a, Britannic Bold, 18
font = 5b, Agency FB, 18
font = 6, Britannic Bold, 22
font = 7, Britannic Bold, 19

;Cant seem to find which value this pertains to
[Style]
name = STYLE_CONSOLE
font = 0
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 101, 133, 207

;unable to find this one
[Style]
name = STYLE_DIALOG_SMALL
font = 0a
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 205, 146, 65

;unable to find this one
[Style]
name = STYLE_LOCTABLE
font = 0b
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 103, 106, 216

;unable to find this one
[Style]
name = STYLE_LOCTABLE_SELECT
font = 0c
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 255, 255, 0

;unable to find this one
[Style]
name = STYLE_LOCTABLE_INACTIVE
font = 0d
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 95, 140, 140

;unable to find this one
[Style]
name = STYLE_PRIVATE
font = 0e
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 0, 255, 0

;Random missions,neural net, info search-texts
[Style]
name = STYLE_ERROR
font = 0f
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 255, 0, 0

;= parts of Credits?
[Style]
name = STYLE_DIALOG
font = 1
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 61, 75, 209

;= Unable to locate so probly not important
[Style]
name = STYLE_SUBSUBTITLE
font = 1a
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 190, 180, 41

;part of Credits"digital anvil,studios"
[Style]
name = STYLE_CONSOLE_SENDER
font = 2
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 0, 255, 0

;Credits roll headline
[Style]
name = STYLE_TITLE
font = 3
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 190, 180, 41
justify = center

;Cant find this one
[Style]
name = STYLE_SMALL_HEADER
font = 5
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 117, 166, 85

;Cant find this one
[Style]
name = STYLE_SMALL_HEADER_ACTIVE
font = 5a
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 255, 255, 0

;little load page window bottom left
[Style]
name = STYLE_NN_AGENCY
font = 5b
bold = true
italic = false
underline = false
color = 190, 180, 41

;Load Log Buttons
[Style]
name = STYLE_BUTTON
font = 6
bold = true
italic = false
underline = false
color = 206, 118, 118

Posted on: 2011/4/12 10:51
Top
Re: Decrease screen font size?
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/4/10 13:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Verdammt, I had really overlooked the categories at the dealer... Please don't tell anyone! Thanks a lot!

The widescreen mod also works very well, thanks for that as well! While we're on it, are there also mods for...

- improving space station textures? The game doesn't look bad at all considering its age, it's just the space stations (and buildings on planets) that hurt the eye a bit...

- temporarily decreasing difficulty? Since the save points are 20 minutes apart, it's a bit annoying when you only have 1 hour to play, and have to play the same 20 minutes including cutscenes again and again. So, just in case I run into further problems...

- free saving, that would be best of course...

This makes you realise how easy the games of today have become... Don't require the same amount of thinking. Yesterday, I somehow launched into space without shield - it was too late when I realised...

Thanks for all the support, I'll recommend this site to Spock!

PS: Reply notification doesn't seem to work though, but no big deal.

Posted on: 2011/4/13 14:57
Top