Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
54 user(s) are online (34 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 54

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +10€

Current balance: -300€
(last updated 11/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 71 users playing Freelancer on 33 servers.
November. 25, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Back to Elementary Modding School: weird crash "WARNING: Equipment has no pod_appearance"
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 827
Offline
Now, I find this both irritating and interesting. Feel free to comment...


The situation:

A somewhat moved-around version of the New York system:

  • I've bascially swapped Trenton Outpost and the Docking Ring of Planet Manhatten (and moved the planet as well, to the other side of the hub, because there is more room for a bigger planet; the sun is moved to the far left, beyond the Detroit depot)

  • I've moved the Docking Ring a bit (about 1000 on both axes) southward.




The crash:

Happened when I flew around Trenton for the eighth time or so.



Last FLSpew messages:

I have some vague recollection that the actual crash reason does not make it to the FLSpew... Nonetheless the last lines puzzle me:

Code:
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Server\SrvMisc.cpp(58) : *** WARNING: Equipment(0xaab2d740) has no pod_appearance.  Transport loadout aborted. 
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Server\SrvMisc.cpp(58) : *** WARNING: Equipment(0xa7838705) has no pod_appearance.  Transport loadout aborted.


The hash codes are for commodity_food and commodity_boron respectively, and according to CRCTool these entries are setup in DATA\EQUIPMENT\Goods.ini, DATA\EQUIPMENT\Select_Equip.ini, and DATA\MISSIONS\LootProps.ini

I haven't made any alterations, and both boron and food have pod_appearance entries (cargopod_drab and cargopod_red respectively)



Me wondering

  1. Why can't the game find those pod_appearance entries?

  2. Are these even the reason for the crash?

  3. Maybe the moving around of the bases screwed some trade paths up? But: there's one general population zone (base_cluster_law) for Manhattan, Trenton and Newark, so I suppose not?




EDIT Weird, I now have multiple of such messages (WARNING: no pod_appearance etc.) but no crash...

I can't recall having these messages earlier, but I haven't modified anything in the commodities...

Posted on: 10/14 10:18

Edited by Moonhead on 2017/10/14 11:32:58
Top
Re: Back to Elementary Modding School: weird crash "WARNING: Equipment has no pod_appearance"
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 78
Offline
Quote:

Moonhead wrote:
[...]
Me wondering

  1. Why can't the game find those pod_appearance entries?

  2. Are these even the reason for the crash?

  3. Maybe the moving around of the bases screwed some trade paths up? But: there's one general population zone (base_cluster_law) for Manhattan, Trenton and Newark, so I suppose not?




EDIT Weird, I now have multiple of such messages (WARNING: no pod_appearance etc.) but no crash...

I can't recall having these messages earlier, but I haven't modified anything in the commodities...


Hey Moonhead,

  1. Shouldn't have changed, since you didn't modify any of these.

  2. Look below:

  3. Probably some patrol or trade paths intersecting the planet's atmosphere or death zone, since you moved Manhattan and made it bigger. This is a known issue when modifying vanilla systems. It probably doesn't have anything to do with the population zone.

Posted on: 10/16 17:37
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Back to Elementary Modding School: weird crash "WARNING: Equipment has no pod_appearance"
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 827
Offline
With regards to -3-, I must say I do check the paths, and even take quite some effort to move them.

In New York, however, that isn't necessary as in the middle 'square' (where the sun normally is) there aren't any. At least, not those that show up on the radar (which afaik are the only ones).

Hmm.... I also doubled cruising speed globally. Maybe that causes *some* issues.

With respect to Select_equip, I wonder if it's not simply a corrupt file (will check asap — but I'm in the aftermath of my Secret World Legends dailies atm )

Posted on: 10/16 19:34

Edited by Moonhead on 2017/10/16 19:54:12
Top