Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
64 user(s) are online (34 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 64

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +10€

Current balance: -300€
(last updated 11/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 40 users playing Freelancer on 32 servers.
November. 25, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 3 »


Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Just for the fun of it, I'd like to start a new story mode in the retail Freelancer campaign with my Eagle and all of my weapons and cargo and whatnot and all of the money I've made. I know how to do this by editing the very first game save called "Mission 01: Manhattan, New York", but I want this instead:

I want it so that I just click "New Game", watch the opening sequence video, meet Juni in the Manhattan bar, talk to her, and then meet her in the equipment room; I want the ship in the equipment room to be my Eagle with all of my weapons and equipment and cargo, not the default Starflier. I want it so that when I go to the landing pad and launch just as instructed by Juni, I want it so that it's still my Eagle with all of my stuff. Then when I meet King out in space before the Donau gets attacked, I want again to be in my Eagle and all my stuff.

Basically, I want to change the starting ship from the Starflier to be whatever I want it to be, and I want it to be such that it's there right in the opening part of the story mode as I explained, before launching out to space for the first time.

Is this possible? If so, then what are some ways that I can accomplish this?

Posted on: 2015/11/10 9:47

Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/12 12:02:43
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 102
Offline
Edit newplayer.fl to reflect your wishes.

http://the-starport.net/modules/wfdow ... lefile.php?cid=5&lid=2019
this is the tool you need.

Posted on: 2015/11/10 14:24

Edited by corpse on 2015/11/10 14:40:36
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

corpse wrote:
Edit newplayer.fl to reflect your wishes.

http://the-starport.net/freelancer/do ... lefile.php?cid=5&lid=2019
this is the tool you need.


Thank you, but this didn't work. On a positive note, I used to have Freelancer Save Editor, but Simple Save Editor is far superior. Thank you for that! It never occurred to me to see if a better editor exists.

As a temporary solution though, I went through with my original plan: I edited "Mission 01: Manhattan, New York" and just changed the money and the ship & equipment & cargo as planned. You see, when I made this thread, I was in the middle of finishing up a goal of reaching 10,000,000 credits legitimately so that I could start the story mode with a minimum of 10,000,000 credits (I don't know why, but that was just my goal). I had hoped that I'd have a way to do what I asked in this thread before reaching that goal so that I didn't have to stop the game after meeting Juni in the equipment room to edit the first game save. I kinda wanted it to be seamless. hehe Oh well.

Posted on: 2015/11/10 16:01

Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/10 16:07:22
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/10 16:39:40
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/10 16:44:20
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/10 16:44:57
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 102
Offline
oh in m01a reference msn_playerloadout in loadout.ini ?

Posted on: 2015/11/10 17:56
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

corpse wrote:
oh in m01a reference msn_playerloadout in loadout.ini ?


I need this explained in plain English. Sorry. :/

Posted on: 2015/11/10 18:03
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 102
Offline
ok you can edit m01a.ini (mission one)
Code:

[Trigger]
nickname = mrp_accept
system = Li01
Cnd_MsnResponse = accept
Act_SetShipAndLoadout = ge_fighter, msn_playerloadout;<<< here
Act_SetOffer = 21805
Act_SetTitle = 21800
Act_DeactTrig = mrp_reject
Act_RemoveRTC = missions\m01a\M001a_s005a_Li01_01_offer.ini
Act_RemoveRTC = missions\m01a\M001a_s005d_Li01_01_reoffer.ini
Act_RemoveAmbient = scripts\story\Li_01_Equipment_ambi_s005_ship_01.thn
Act_RemoveAmbient = Scripts\Bases\Li_01_Cityscape_gamestart_01.thn
Act_RemoveAmbient = scripts\Bases\Li_01_Equipment_ambi_s005_music.thn
Act_ActTrig = spe_initialize_end
Act_GCSClamp = true
Act_NagOff = greet
Act_ActTrig = bsx_newnnobj
Act_NNIds = 30020, HISTORY
Act_ActTrig = lce_setfirstobj

this points to ship/loadout.ini
Code:

[Loadout]
nickname = msn_playerloadout
archetype = ge_fighter
equip = ge_gf1_engine_01, HpEngine01;_npc
equip = npc_shield01_mark02, HpShield01
equip = ge_fighter_power01, HpEngine02;_npc
equip = ge_s_scanner_01
equip = ge_s_tractor_01
equip = ge_s_thruster_01, HpThruster01
;equip = ge_s_thruster_01, HpThruster01
equip = li_gun01_mark01, HpWeapon01
equip = li_gun01_mark01, HpWeapon02
equip = WhiteCone, HpHeadLight
equip = SlowSmallOrange, HpRunningLight01
equip = SlowSmallOrange, HpRunningLight02
equip = SlowSmallOrange, HpRunningLight05
equip = contrail01, HpContrail01
equip = contrail01, HpContrail02
equip = DockingLightRedSmall, HpDockLight01
equip = DockingLightRedSmall, HpDockLight02
;cargo = ge_s_battery_01, 3
cargo = ge_s_repair_01, 3


hope this helps

Posted on: 2015/11/10 18:19
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
That seems easy enough. Is there a preferred .ini editor/interpreter for Freelancer .ini files? Or can I just go find one out on the internet that I would like the most?

Posted on: 2015/11/10 18:48
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 102
Offline
i use ini editor by little fish
http://the-starport.net/modules/wfdow ... glefile.php?cid=5&lid=883
hope this helps

Posted on: 2015/11/11 12:14
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3458
Offline
I'd just recommend a regular INI editor like Notepad++, no real point to something specific.

Posted on: 2015/11/11 14:23
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
I'm almost there. By editing loadouts.ini and the "money" line in Restart.fl, I have succeeded in starting with all of my money, my Eagle, and its equipment and cargo without having to edit the first game save (or the 2nd one, which is another way to do it). There are only three things that I haven't figured out yet:

1. How to get my Eagle and its equipment and cargo to be the ship that Juni offers, meaning that it's in the Equipment Room with us. That would be cool.

2. How to get my Eagle and its equipment to be used in the "video" footage that's shown for the Donau's destruction (from the moment you exit the docking ring to the moment right before you can finally start fighting). This would be cool too!

3. This one is a problem for me. As soon as I can start fighting, I do have my Eagle and all of my equipment and cargo (and my money), but only the two guns on the nose of the Eagle are enabled. I have to enable the other 4 (the normal way, by clicking them)! This doesn't happen when the only thing that I edit is the 1st or 2nd game save (or the Auto Save from either of these two). Granted, my way of editing just the game save means that I have to exit the game, edit the game save, and then go back into the game, but still: if I edit the first game save, then that moment when the Donau gets destroyed and I'm chomping at the bit to get started, all I have to do is start fighting. So, my way is still better - at least for now.

So, after editing loadouts.ini and Restart.fl, I get inferior results to my way of just editing the game save. This means that until I can figure these things out, I will just continue editing only the game save, like this:

1. Completely exit the game immediately after accepting Juni's offer (this is when the very first game save is created).

2. Edit the first game save so that I have what I want in terms of money, ship, equipment and cargo, which will always be exactly what I had when I decided to restart the story mode - which will always happen when I decide to stop playing the freelancing part after the story mode is over (if I'm not interested in playing any of my other games). This results in all 6 of my guns being enabled once the fight begins after the Donau is destroyed, which is nice.

I realize that I could just edit the Auto Save, but it's better to edit the first game save because then it will always be there for me.

This is much easier to accomplish and gives me superior results (all 6 guns enabled). Don't get me wrong: I'm still searching for a way to get what I am after (the 3 things at the beginning of this reply), but my way of doing things here will be ok in the meantime.

Posted on: 2015/11/12 11:59
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 102
Offline
I am sure you can edit your SP start ship.

Posted on: 2015/11/12 19:22
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Well, I did it, but it wasn't precisely as I wanted - as I explained.

Posted on: 2015/11/12 19:52
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/4/11 22:00
From Lorain, Ohio
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 64
Offline
TwoCables

Its been a while since I did this, but I was never satisfied with what the game gives for rewards. I built my mod to essentially play the vanilla game, with benefits. I modified the Starflier to reflect what an orgamization like LSF should give to a pilot, I gave the Starflier access to the cruise disrupter mount, that is already there, just not active. I increased the nanobot and battery capacity,v because they are worth $200, not because you need them. I actually did a lot of little thing to just make the game fair, money-wise. To me, "Free" Lancer was all about me paying to fight for someone else, not very fair. I don't mind earning my keep, but Juni has you working for nothing.

I modified the Starflier through loadouts.ini and shipsarch.ini. You can use the Microsoft Notepad, or any text editor. I use
FreeLancer INI Edotor to view the files, because it also provides a kind of index of the file structure.. To modify the loadout, you have to find your ship, which is the very first section, called nickname = msn_playerloadout. Here you can place all the equipment you need into here. Now, if you want your ship to look like your choice, you also have to alter the following section called nickname = msn_playerloadout_faux, otherwise when you meet King, your ship will look like the stock Starflier.

If you change the nanobots and shield battery count use the shiparch.ini.

In all of this, you will need the codes for each piece of equipment. If you are familiar with the old IONCross Ship Editor, the code are in the text data files. There are a lot of them.

Pascal05

Posted on: 2015/11/13 23:34
L Chandler 3
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

Pascal05 wrote:
TwoCables

Its been a while since I did this, but I was never satisfied with what the game gives for rewards. I built my mod to essentially play the vanilla game, with benefits. I modified the Starflier to reflect what an orgamization like LSF should give to a pilot, I gave the Starflier access to the cruise disrupter mount, that is already there, just not active. I increased the nanobot and battery capacity,v because they are worth $200, not because you need them. I actually did a lot of little thing to just make the game fair, money-wise. To me, "Free" Lancer was all about me paying to fight for someone else, not very fair. I don't mind earning my keep, but Juni has you working for nothing.

I modified the Starflier through loadouts.ini and shipsarch.ini. You can use the Microsoft Notepad, or any text editor. I use
FreeLancer INI Edotor to view the files, because it also provides a kind of index of the file structure.. To modify the loadout, you have to find your ship, which is the very first section, called nickname = msn_playerloadout. Here you can place all the equipment you need into here. Now, if you want your ship to look like your choice, you also have to alter the following section called nickname = msn_playerloadout_faux, otherwise when you meet King, your ship will look like the stock Starflier.

If you change the nanobots and shield battery count use the shiparch.ini.

In all of this, you will need the codes for each piece of equipment. If you are familiar with the old IONCross Ship Editor, the code are in the text data files. There are a lot of them.

Pascal05


I can't use Notepad or any text editor because all I get are random symbols - until I save the file using Tinyfish Freelancer Ini Editor.

Anyway, up until my latest posts, I got as far as editing loadouts.ini under nickname msn_playerloadout in order to get my preferred ship, equipment and cargo. What I didn't know though was that 'faux' will change which ship is shown when meeting King out in space. Do you know which one will change which ship is shown in the Equipment Room when meeting Juni? That'd be kinda fun (I'd do some testing at the moment, but I'm currently busy). I'll post again if I can get around to testing this - I mean, if I figure it out.

Posted on: 2015/11/14 0:27
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 102
Offline

Posted on: 2015/11/14 22:24
Top
(1) 2 3 »