Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
176 user(s) are online (34 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 176

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +10€

Current balance: -300€
(last updated 11/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 99 users playing Freelancer on 34 servers.
November. 24, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 »


Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Hi all! *first post*

I've been working on adding subtitles to Freelancer in the past couple of days, and I've finally got to a point where I can actually show off something

---

Edit: updated flsubs.zip to the latest version.

Attach file:


zip flsubs.zip Size: 89.15 KB; Hits: 676

Posted on: 2014/6/10 6:06

Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 12:36:45
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 12:37:44
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 12:39:44
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 13:49:37
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 13:50:13
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 14:01:28
Edited by Lorash on 2015/1/19 18:58:22
Edited by Lorash on 2015/2/1 16:56:58
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2013/3/2 16:26
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 19
Offline
Whee, neat stuff!

Posted on: 2014/6/10 18:06
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Preview release! \ o /

I've done most of the "core" work, and I can reliably display subtitles by "listening in" to what Freelancer is currently playing.

Notably missing is the ability to display multi-part subtitles (the ones you usually get when you dock) and tools for working with the actual sound files instead of Freelancer's raw audio buffers.

I've attached the .zip file to the first post, let me know your opinions Refer to the readme.txt file in the .zip for instructions.

If you're missing either msvcr120.dll or msvcp120.dll, download and run vcredist_x86.exe from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Posted on: 2014/6/22 12:41

Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 13:14:49
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 13:16:08
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 13:35:29
Edited by Lorash on 2014/6/22 13:50:57
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
The keys are different when using l3codecp.acm (the professional version of Fraunhofer). From MP3Codec:

Quote:
Freelancer uses the "advanced" MP3 codec from Fraunhofer, which comes with 9X
and XP, but Vista/7 install with the "decode only" version, resulting in
numerous "missing MP3 codec" spew warnings. However, Vista/7 include the
"professional" version (also available for XP via WMP11), which can be
installed manually (e.g.: http://www.looprecorder.de/tut_l3codec.php). This
plugin tests for a custom codec via environment variable "FL_MP3", then any
of the Fraunhofer ones.

Posted on: 2014/6/23 4:01
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Thanks for pointing this out, I didn't even know the professional codec existed.

With tooling in place, the subtitles will be attached to particular files / UTF entries (much easier to reach 100% coverage this way). I'll just have to come up with the subtitle keys on the user's computer before the first run, it seems.

Posted on: 2014/6/24 10:41
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
I've managed to (almost, there's a bug still) recreate Freelancer's audio decoding, which means that in theory the keys should match any codec.
Could you please test the FP7 intro with the new version inside converttest.zip?

Attach file:


zip converttest.zip Size: 81.89 KB; Hits: 186

Posted on: 2014/9/15 19:26
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
Didn't work at all for me - crashed soon after startup (passing a NULL pointer to RtlEnterCriticalSection).

Posted on: 2014/9/17 8:06
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Thanks for the feedback!

Could you please retry with this d3d8.dll? It opens a console window when it's loaded; I'd like to see what was printed before the crash.

Attach file:


zip d3d8_console.zip Size: 71.65 KB; Hits: 195

Posted on: 2014/9/21 15:43
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
Ah, sorry, it was my fault - Converter didn't work because I only had 4.5, and the absence of subtitles.dat caused the crash. Updated to 4.5.1 and all good.

Posted on: 2014/9/23 8:57
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Whew, that's one less mysterious bug to worry about.

About 4.5.1: I don't actually use any of the new features, but for some reason VS doesn't let me target 4.0 or 4.5 (I forgot which one I need). I'll fix it for an actual release. Error reporting is something that could be improved as well, but it's not trivial because I do my stuff after Freelancer has switched to exclusive fullscreen.

Posted on: 2014/9/25 12:47
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/12/11 6:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1
Offline
Quote:

Lorash wrote:
Hi all! *first post*

I've been working on adding subtitles to Freelancer in the past couple of days, and I've finally got to a point where I can actually show off something

---
Edit: added the .zip file


Wow! I did not know someone is making subtitles for Freelancer! Tomorrow I am going to buy one gaming magazine with original Freelancer in it so I will try your subtitles. The more testers, the better!

Hope everything is goin well

Posted on: 2014/12/11 6:33
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/1/2 11:46
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Hi, thanks for excellent modification. Works almost fine for me, but I'm using it with Jason's Freelancer Patch for widescreen resolution and have a ugly black box with random (debug?) characters on the right side of screen. Is there some way to fix it? thanks!

Screen: http://draiser.net/gfx/screen2-low.jpg

Posted on: 2015/1/2 11:52
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
It is debug info; I've attached a patched version that removes it.

Attach file:


zip d3d8.zip Size: 68.73 KB; Hits: 196

Posted on: 2015/1/4 2:30
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/1/2 11:46
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Thanks!

Posted on: 2015/1/4 10:36
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
I've not had much time to work on this lately, but I did manage to add a hack that appears to fix MIXES. I've updated the first post with the latest version, without the debug bar this time.

I haven't tested it on widescreen. I guess when I get to making the text areas configurable this problem will solve itself.

Posted on: 2015/1/19 19:00
Top
(1) 2 »