Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
51 user(s) are online (24 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 51

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: -60€
(last updated 10/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 30 users playing Freelancer on 44 servers.
October. 24, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Problem: Cruise Jump Drive
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/3/13 20:29
From Victoria, Canada
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 69
Offline
Hey folks,

A couple of us are starting work on a new mod called Freelancer Exodus. In Exodus, there's no trade lanes, since it takes place in a different sector altogether. So we decided we'd build a "jump drive" using the cruise engine.

Now, we want to do it up so we can fire up the engine, the weapons power will drain to zero over a few seconds, and then the drive will cut out and drop you back to impulse. So I started working on it, but I've had no luck in getting it to work.

I've tried using cruise_power_drain = 375 to cause a 1500 unit power plant to drain over four seconds, but the power drains while charging and the ship will just stutter at high speeds instead of dropping out of cruise like we're trying to have it do. This is kind of problematic, as we don't want to have unlimited-time drives that run at 3000 m/s available on a multiplayer server because it's easily abusable. We also don't want to use FLHook, because then the drive won't work in OpenSP.

Does anyone have any idea what to do to get this working the way we want it to?

Cheers,
--Troy

Posted on: 2010/4/18 3:36
FLHook programmer
Top
Re: Problem: Cruise Jump Drive
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/1/14 3:12
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 144
Offline
I can think of one,

Find your powersupplys rechage amount, And then add it to the powerdrain.

But i forsee troubles with it also, Is that a constaint powerdrain for all ships, or is it for EACH seperate drive. If it is for EACH seperate drive it might work for you.

Posted on: 2010/4/18 4:56
Eve-online in a Freelancer world.
http://freelancercommunity.net/viewtopic.php?t=621
Top
Re: Problem: Cruise Jump Drive
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1958
Offline
FL Hack has Hypercruise for single player usage, which I think does what you want. Should be able to adapt it for multiplayer and disable the normal cruise.

Posted on: 2010/4/18 6:06
Top