Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
34 user(s) are online (13 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 33

Doom369, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: -65€
(last updated 10/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 29 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
November. 19, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2) 3 4 »


Re: Ship Shaking
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/10/10 20:44
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
Is it possible to write a programm that detects where the Freelancer.exe calls the D3DX routine (D3DXQuaternionRotationYawPitchRoll) for the camera?
If I understood you right, you would just have to add that normalization after this point.

Thank you for making this point clear to me anyways

Posted on: 2008/10/14 8:37
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1776
Offline
So, I have been doing some research on this and found quite a few things, sadly my conclusion is bad:
Not fixable.

I was right earlier in this thread, floating points simply lose precision and at values of like 5000k, this precision error is already 0.5m. Thats why your cockpit jumps all over your screen that far out in a system.

@LS: FL doesnt really use D3DX functions as far as Im aware, they have their own math library which can be found in x86math.dll.

Posted on: 2009/4/28 14:45
aka chaosgrid
https://www.freelancerserver.de
https://www.moddb.com/mods/fwtow
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/10 22:00
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 1281
Offline
I'll look thru my math code and see if I ever wrote a matrix normalization routine.

Posted on: 2009/4/28 15:13
Galaxy Empire
Youtube Videos
Facebook
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/10 15:03
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1018
Offline
i smell a hook plugin ^^

Posted on: 2009/4/28 15:21
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
I'm crossing my little fingers and toes that it does mean that

Posted on: 2009/4/28 22:18
Open in new window
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/10 15:03
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1018
Offline
Quote:

I'm crossing my little fingers and toes that it does mean that


im hoping so bad ill cross your fingers and toes FOR you ^^

*edit* cant believe i spelt toes as "tows" rofl

Posted on: 2009/4/28 22:19
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1776
Offline
There is no real way to fix this. The important thing to understand here is that Freelancer uses floating points (and I think, D3D8 also only supports floating points for camera stuff, but I may be terribly wrong there) for everything related to space positions and the camera.
When you are at 1000k and 1.0 = 1m, you have a precision of around 6cm.

Now imagine your ship standing at position 0, 1000000.03, 0
Since floating points cannot hold 1000000.03, but only 1000000.0 and 1000000.063, your ship and/or the camera may jump 6cm all the time. You see your ship shaking.
Also, what is important to understand: At those precision errors you can no longer fly in a straight line, your ship will shake when flying (or lets say, your ship will fly in zig-zag-pattern). This is especially visible at extreme distances, like 10000k, if you would login with 2 chars and would spectate the other player flying around.

Posted on: 2009/4/28 22:30
aka chaosgrid
https://www.freelancerserver.de
https://www.moddb.com/mods/fwtow
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/13 22:44
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 543
Offline
This happens also to sur files, I've noticed that my station at 140000, 105000, 120000 has nearly no collision detection, so i moved the station to 100000, 70000, 95000 and the collision detection is back as it should be.

Greetz
Mind

Note: Its a modul station made of 12 parts + the dock.

Posted on: 2009/4/28 23:32
Open in new window
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Hmm, that's interesting. We haven't noticed this effect at FWs, and we have stations 500km from the centre.

Posted on: 2009/4/29 2:17
Open in new window
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
Quote:

Hmm, that's interesting. We haven't noticed this effect at FWs, and we have stations 500km from the centre.


Can we have a look at your constants.ini Sushi please?

Posted on: 2009/4/29 12:37
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Code:
[Constants]
COLLISION_DAMAGE_FACTOR = 2
MUSIC_CROSS_FADE_DELAY = 10.000000
MUZZLE_CONE_ANGLE = 25 ;Cannot be zero
PLAYER_COLLISION_GROUP_HIT_PTS_SCALE = 1
PLAYER_ATTACHED_EQUIP_HIT_PTS_SCALE = 1
MAX_PLAYER_AMMO = 1000000000

[EngineEquipConsts]
CRUISE_DISRUPT_TIME = 1
MAX_DELTA_FX_THROTTLE = 0.250000
THROTTLE_STEADY_TIME = 0.500000
THROTTLE_ATTEN_MOD_RANGE = 8.000000
DELTA_THROTTLE_ATTEN_MOD_CHANGING = 8.000000
DELTA_THROTTLE_ATTEN_MOD_STEADY = -1.000000
CRUISE_STEADY_TIME = 10.0;0.100000
DELTA_CRUISE_ATTEN_MOD_STEADY = -5;-1.000000
CRUISE_ATTEN_MOD_RANGE = 8.000000
CRUISING_SPEED = 5000 ;10000
CRUISE_ACCEL_TIME = 5 ;0.5
CRUISE_DRAG = 85 ;250

[ShieldEquipConsts]
HULL_DAMAGE_FACTOR = 1.0

[PhySysConsts]
MATERIAL_FRICTION = 0.001;0.100000
MATERIAL_ELASTICITY = 0.2;0.500000
DEFAULT_LINEAR_DAMPING = 0.500000
DEFAULT_ANGULAR_DAMPING = 0.200000, 0.200000, 0.200000
ANOM_LIMITS_MAX_VELOCITY = 1000000
ANOM_LIMITS_MAX_ANGULAR_VELOCITY_PER_PSI = 0.04
;RMGR_LOOK_AHEAD_TIME_WORLD = 0 ;no idea what I'm doing here
;RMGR_LOOK_AHEAD_TIME_INTRA = 0

[CommConsts]
COMM_PLAYER_FAR_DIST = 6000.000000
COMM_PLAYER_FAR_DIST_ATTEN = 0.000000
CHATTER_MAX_DIST = 100000;3500.000000
CHATTER_MAX_DIST_ATTEN = -8;-16.000000
CHATTER_START_ATTEN = -2.000000
COMM_CONFLICT_PRIORITY_CUTOFF = -10;-3
WALLA_MAX_DIST = 100000;3500.000000
WALLA_MAX_DIST_ATTEN = -8;-24.000000
WALLA_START_ATTEN = -2;-8.000000
WALLA_PRIORITY_CUTOFF = -10;-3

[AsteroidConsts]
MAX_ASTEROID_LOOT_DAMAGE = 20000.000000
MAX_LOOT_PER_ASTEROID = 3


Posted on: 2009/4/29 12:52
Open in new window
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Well, I stand corrected. The base collision works about 70% of the time at this distance from the centre. Very interesting. I'll have to get my guys on it to see what's going on.

What's even stranger is that collision detection works fine on the ships at this distance.

Posted on: 2009/4/29 13:11
Open in new window
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/10 22:00
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 1281
Offline
I agree with W0dk4 there i a limit to how much the normalizing will help. Even in GE the ship begins to shake a little bit at 2 million units out. And I use normalization on all of my matrices. The only sure fire way to get around the problem is to split up huge systems into sections and move everything in the system each time a player crosses one of the boundary. don't know difficult it would be to make a plugin for that but I have a feeling it wouldn't be easy.

Posted on: 2009/4/29 15:27
Galaxy Empire
Youtube Videos
Facebook
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Alright, did a lot more thorough testing here:

130km seems to be a cutoff for all hiboxes. Ones that worked under 130km, may not work over 130km
Some boxes work fine at 150, 200, 300,400, 500km. These boxes seem to be square in shape, with no rounded/curve points to them. Combining the hitboxes didn't seem to have an effect at under 130km or 500km. The box worked or it didn't. So, what does this mean...I dunno...aside wanting the source code and being pissed at digital anvil for making these arbitrary cutoffs :@


Posted on: 2009/4/29 15:42
Open in new window
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/10 15:03
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1018
Offline
Quote:

I agree with W0dk4 there i a limit to how much the normalizing will help. Even in GE the ship begins to shake a little bit at 2 million units out. And I use normalization on all of my matrices. The only sure fire way to get around the problem is to split up huge systems into sections and move everything in the system each time a player crosses one of the boundary. don't know difficult it would be to make a plugin for that but I have a feeling it wouldn't be easy.


Speak to blackhole, i believe he said something about this a while ago when he was talking about something similar, dunno if hell remember but im PRETTY sure it was him i was speaking to about this issue some time ago, tho i could be wrong.

Posted on: 2009/4/29 18:01
Top
« 1 (2) 3 4 »