Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
52 user(s) are online (32 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 52

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +70€

Current balance: 85€
(last updated 02/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 34 users playing Freelancer on 40 servers.
February. 18, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Need memory refresher - objects in space - name resources
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 910
Offline
I'm misremembering some basics in modding.

I'm creating a new system and have added a jump gate and a tradelane to the jump gate.

I'm running this mod on my client only at the moment just to verify object placement and the like. The name of the object (jump gate) will show up in the scan list but when you click on the object and turn to look at it you just see 'Texas System, Sector G3'.

The tradelane is different. The objects show up in the scan list as 'Texas System, Sector <A#>' and you don't see the name of the object (Planet Houston -> System Jump Gate) at all.

The ids_names are defined and the tradelane_space_names are defined as well.

Is the information I'm looking for dependent on the server? In other words, the information I should be seeing is provided by the server response to clicking on the objects and not on the client side?

Thanks for fighting dementia...


Posted on: 2014/12/19 15:10
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Need memory refresher - objects i space - name resources
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/4/11 22:00
From Lorain, Ohio
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 64
Offline
I found FreeLancer Explorer a good tool to add systems to the universe. Then I tweak things using FreeLancer Mod Studio, which give a great 3D view of your system, adding sections manually.
Pascal05

Posted on: 2014/12/19 19:14
L Chandler 3
Top
Re: Need memory refresher - objects i space - name resources
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1921
Offline
I know jump gates need to have a reputation line to see the name in space (Hostile Universe had the same problem); the same is probably true for trade lanes.

Posted on: 2014/12/20 0:00
Top
Re: Need memory refresher - objects in space - name resources
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 910
Offline
I verified that both the jump gates and the trade lanes had a reputation line in place. They all do. I'll just have to wait for our test server to come back up and see if they'll show then.

The syntax is consistent with the vanilla code which is why i'm wondering why they're not showing.

Posted on: 2014/12/22 2:18
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top