Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
79 user(s) are online (42 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 79

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 82 users playing Freelancer on 39 servers.
May. 18, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 »


Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
I have never been on-line to play FL

I use my phone to connect to the internet for the most part.

Q:is it possible to play on a server using a phone as a modem or would connection not be strong enough or cause problems.

Posted on: 2011/10/4 19:51
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/10/3 6:01
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 72
Offline
If your phone can run x86 programs under a windows operating system you could play FL. You'd need the CD, though, which is an issue.

Posted on: 2011/10/4 20:19
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2010/5/29 11:40
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 176
Offline
Haha, Hahukum_Konn He wants to use the internet connection of his phone to play, not the phone

It works, but not well for fighting..

Posted on: 2011/10/4 20:25
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/10/3 6:01
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 72
Offline
Oh, you mean tethering and stuff. Ewps.

Um, should work if you're not playing on heavily mod-intensive servers; mods, I've found, increase server and client load, particularly if there's minor bugs in the mod which make Freelancer's engine do extra work.

Posted on: 2011/10/4 20:57
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
So if I managed to connect what would or should i expect to see.

if fighting is a problem that problem would be:
1? slow movement
2? Plane dissapear
3? being shot out of the sky before i saw the other ship fireing.

Is it a good idea not to try will it cause problems for other players.
to be more specific of my knowledge. I've never been on-line with any game.

Thank you for you'r responses.

Posted on: 2011/10/4 21:15
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/9/28 21:13
From Wales
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 925
Offline
If your ping time is as bad as I suspect it would be with the inherent delay of sattelite, most servers would likely boot you anyway.

Posted on: 2011/10/4 22:41
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
I Have Anothe off the wall Stupid Q: SORRY- can the (ship dealer) be altered to be like a bridge so that instead of purchasing the ship it sends you to the cock-pit of the ship and now your flying that ship.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 0:35
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/6/13 4:53
From Canada
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 121
Offline
well when i was in the middle of moving i had to use my cell phone to connect to the net. I used it to play on SWWT a couple times and ping was pretty good. Actually better at times than my home isp gave me at the time. It really depends on the type of network your phone uses, mine uses the newer 4g. as do most newer phones. so you should be ok.

to further this, a guy that use to work with me only ever used his phone to connect and play online games. His ping rates were quite good.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 3:21
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
Cool So maybe i will try

thank you so much for your response

if it helps its a blackberry torch with now [email protected] for service
but thats all i know of it.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 4:11
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
ATT with a BB... Probably 3G, and not the best one at that.

You can sure try, but it might not be ideal.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 4:44
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
Somewhat off topic, but I don't think we even have 4G in Australia yet. ._.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 4:52
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
Ya it say 3G but most of the time it says its using edge and i notice i get the best reception and all that when thats what its using.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 5:11
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
Q:I was also wondering if to go on line there is a specific download i need recently bought this computer and its a win-7 64bit Ive been reading a lot of scary things about W-7 causing Freelancer not to play and i have been having problems with getting mod manager to work i plan to try some of the things ive read.

but the thing that concerns me the most is open SP won't deactavate ive uninstalled and reinstalled many times

I read something about big problems deleting fmbackfiles (i think thats what they where called) but i found one for open player in the install folder and deleted it after i uninstalled freelancer. i found and read the warning after i deleted and emptied my trash bin.

Am I COOKED.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 5:33
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
Do not install Freelancer and FLMM to Program Files.
That will solve most of your problems.

To get online, read the tutorial linked at the top of the page right under the search bar.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 6:26
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
ive been instaling them in prog files x86.

where should i install ?
Library?

Posted on: 2011/10/5 6:45
Top
(1) 2 »