Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
39 user(s) are online (22 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 39

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: -65€
(last updated 10/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 42 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
November. 16, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/11 0:27
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 9
Offline
I posted this to the general support forum first, then noticed I could get in here now.. sorry for the double post.

I have am hosting two FL servers...

Server A, which lists, and is using a non-standard connection port 3302 which the global server appears to have noticed as it checks back on 3300.

Server B, which does not list, uses the standard 2302, and 2300, and global server does not appear to have noticed it.

I've tried keeping A down, and B still won't list.. I'm wondering if the IP is listed in the global server dB as A, so B won't list, or is there another problem I need to adjust config for or something...

I'm running out of ideas here...

Thanks.


Posted on: 2011/5/13 5:58
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 634
Offline
Put one of them on another IP.

Posted on: 2011/5/13 16:14
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/9 17:27
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 240
Offline
Make sure that your servers aren't using the same server ID.

Posted on: 2011/5/13 16:55
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/11 0:27
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 9
Offline
What file does the server id get set or listed in?

Or, are you referring to the sever name?

Also, using a different IP is not an option for me at the moment.

Technically this ought to be possible. You can direct connect to each of them, so list-servers ought to be able to work with it too.




Posted on: 2011/5/13 22:20
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 634
Offline
It's in your My Documents\My Games folder. I think it's called flserver.dat, but I don't have a copy of FLServer at the moment so I can't check.

Posted on: 2011/5/13 22:28
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1776
Offline
Run multiple FLServer on multiple Windows user accounts. This will give you unique IDs for every server.
Also, you shouldnt run more than one FLServer under the same windows account because they will all access the same user database (think of the same user logged in twice).

Posted on: 2011/5/13 22:33
aka chaosgrid
https://www.freelancerserver.de
https://www.moddb.com/mods/fwtow
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/11 0:27
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 9
Offline
It would also help to know what the inbound and outbound ports are that both of the work arounds use. Then I would know exactly how to setup the router and firewalls.


Posted on: 2011/5/13 22:40
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/11 0:27
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 9
Offline
Quote:

w0dk4 wrote:
Run multiple FLServer on multiple Windows user accounts. This will give you unique IDs for every server.
Also, you shouldnt run more than one FLServer under the same windows account because they will all access the same user database (think of the same user logged in twice).


Each one is on it's own VM (virtual machine), in it's own account.


Posted on: 2011/5/13 22:42
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 634
Offline
Then it should work just fine. Does server B show up if A is not running?

Posted on: 2011/5/13 23:35
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1592
Offline
Do the VMs have different windows account names?

Just a wild guessing without to know it, really, but in the normal Freelancer you can get the same MP-ID if you have the same win user acc name. Maybe this counts for servers, too.

But as I have said, just a VERY wild guessing.

Posted on: 2011/5/14 0:02
Open in new window
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/11 0:27
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 9
Offline
Quote:

=Alex= wrote:
Then it should work just fine. Does server B show up if A is not running?


I just tried a bunch of combinations... A down, B running, setting FW to interactive, so I would see all the alerts.

While A was down, and B was running, I noticed in the router, the IP for VM-B would skip in and out of the attached devices. As it seems to while VM-A is running. But, when VM-A is running, it stays in the list constantly.

I'm suspecting the VM-Player software is not entirely good at sharing the host computers network adapter across more than one VM.

That or VM-B has the wrong driver for the network adapter.




Posted on: 2011/5/14 0:05
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
This might help you: http://the-starport.net/modules/newbb ... hp?topic_id=3325&forum=21

The problem I faced was that I started the FL sessions in the same account and this created the same server ID.

I deleted the folders and ran each session from a new account, and this fixed it.

Posted on: 2011/5/16 0:39
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/11 0:27
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 9
Offline
An Update:

I think a good portion of the problem may be in that virtual machine B which I'm targeting to host the DigDug FL server, may not be interfacing with the network adapter in bridge mode very well. Once I have it staying in the router's attached devices list, I'll switch back to retesting the FL server.

When I know more I'll be sure to stop back an post an update.


Posted on: 2011/5/20 3:16
Top
Re: Help getting two FL servers on same IP listed on gun.fllistserver.com
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/9 17:27
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 240
Offline
What's the server name/ip/id?

Posted on: 2011/5/20 11:55
Top