Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
54 user(s) are online (31 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 54

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 22 users playing Freelancer on 35 servers.
May. 10, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   2 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 2 (3)


Re: increasing chatlog?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1607
Offline
Quote:
Ok, best value for maximum number of characters in multiplayer chat window is 7F/127. I am not sure, but I have the feeling that even higher values have an effect, meaning that you can write more letters then. But then there is the "loop"-bug again - meaning you dont come to an end of letters when you are writing a message (just see for yourself ^^)

I also made 2 screenshots to show how muhc it is only enlarged, not too much IMHO (127 instead of 80 letters):

http://www.abload.de/img/screen135k6kc.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/screen1361b7q.jpg

(I am I with EXE hack, Saarländer without EXE hack - Just look for Halloooooo[...])

Posted on: 2009/3/9 16:06
Open in new window
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
Looks like the max number of characters in the chat box is also a signed byte then, with negative values interpreted as no limit.

Posted on: 2009/3/14 9:21
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/20 0:27
From Russia, GMT+4
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
M0tah, since you're a hex god now ;D may be you can find something to decrease number of chat lines shown on-screen (when chat window is closed), or to decrease time interval these lines stay on screen...
:

Posted on: 2009/3/19 12:15
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
I found both. They were right next to the offset for the max number of lines in the history window .
Code:
10000i in freelancer.exe, 0x691ca = time in milliseconds chat text is displayed before disappearing
0x20 in freelancer.exe, 0x691cf = maximum number of chat lines displayed at once -1

Posted on: 2009/3/20 8:30
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1607
Offline
Ty, but I guess he means the numbers of chat lines at the left of the screen (and your value (0x20) seems to be a bit to height for this IMHO ^^)

Posted on: 2009/3/20 9:48
Open in new window
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
It should be for the chat at the left of the screen. I tested it by setting it to 0x02 and 0x00 and it would only show 3 lines and 1 line respectively. So I'm pretty sure it's right.

EDIT: What may be happening is not all 32 of those lines are actually shown when the chat seems to fill up the entire portion of the left screen section - the size of the actual text box might be smaller.

Posted on: 2009/3/20 10:34
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/12 10:19
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 86
Offline
0x20 in freelancer.exe, 0x691cf = maximum number of chat lines displayed at once -1
works but only to reduce chatlines... if you ingrease you get this:

Open in new window

bet other question is there also an value for chatcolor ? =)
Or other Colors in FL ?

Posted on: 2009/3/20 10:57
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/20 0:27
From Russia, GMT+4
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
Thanks, M0tah. Some players were speaking of distracting console chat messages, player deaths etc etc, and finally there's a solution

Posted on: 2009/3/20 18:16
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
Quote:

0x20 in freelancer.exe, 0x691cf = maximum number of chat lines displayed at once -1
works but only to reduce chatlines...
Yeah, I think the size of the textbox needs to be increased to be able to increase the limit, which requires another offset.

Quote:

bet other question is there also an value for chatcolor ? =)
Or other Colors in FL ?
The chat colors are controlled server-side. If you have FLHook you can change them with some modifications to the source code in HkCbChat.cpp.

Posted on: 2009/3/20 21:54
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/12 10:19
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 86
Offline
Hm can you find out the position adress of this Chattextfield ?

Posted on: 2009/3/22 23:09
Top
« 1 2 (3)