Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
50 user(s) are online (20 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 50

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 45 users playing Freelancer on 47 servers.
May. 28, 2022

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2)


Re: Discovery 4.85 HD
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/9/28 21:13
From Wales
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 925
Offline
Quote:

Huor wrote:
Its nearly always the same - we people on SWAT are the evil, because we take care of our work.


I don't think that really qualifies as evil lol.
The mad thing is, I know what crossfire is like, but I have no idea what SWAT is like. Is it like TSP, do you have models and what not available for download? Do you share your work, hacks etc? Or is the only method to unlock the goodies in crossfire by downloading it and tearing it apart to try and find out?

I could probably go a long way to solving many of OP's problems by just uploading models from games like spacforce, DS1, X3, X2 etc somewhere and then they wouldn't have to pinch them from his mod. The models I can do easily, the sur bit though I'm not much good at so they'd probably pinch his anyway

Posted on: 2012/10/6 18:11
Top
Re: Discovery 4.85 HD
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 221
Offline
I am wondering at which point the topic changed but ok.
Your question will be answered via PM to avoid unnecessary problems or misunderstandings.

Posted on: 2012/10/6 21:36
Top
Re: Discovery 4.85 HD
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/9/22 5:59
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 5
Offline
You misunderstood what I was saying about vanilla, the starspheres and anything else I used was vanilla freelancer, I'm not talking about crossfire. I did not use any original made graphics or models made by the crossfire team, all files used were vanilla that crossfire gave a higer resolution to, or added more polys to. I would not and never will just use models or anything that someone designed on their own. And I'm telling the truth about requesting permission, as you can see, I just made this account to post this share, my original account and email I just can't find since it's been years. I was deleting crap off several external Hdd's and throwing out DVD's, and I just thought it wouldn't be a big deal if I finally shared what I felt made Discovery look fantastic, I should've tried to reach out again, I'm sorry.

On another note:

And if crossfire had lan, I would've never went through the hassle of editing a zillion files to make Discovery look on par to crossfire. You say you don't mind about LAN, but I never seen anything released or explaining how to run a lan with crossfire. I love your work, but like I said, I play with the wife and kids and some friends only, and only on LAN with no internet.

And also, this is the only site I tried to share this repack with, in which case, the link was removed, and the repack has been destroyed, it's reasons like these that I don't deal with mod communities, you just don't understand what it means to be a REAL mod community....good luck!

Posted on: 2012/10/16 6:28
Top
Re: Discovery 4.85 HD
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 221
Offline
Crossfire does not use vanilla stuff with higher resolution. That makes no sense as you gain no quality improvement that way.

Posted on: 2012/10/16 11:23
Top
Re: Discovery 4.85 HD
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/9/22 5:59
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 5
Offline
If that's the case, then I would like an answer as to being able to reshare this repack. I know for a fact, if you look at vanilla freelancer starspheres and models in the original game and Discovery's mod, they don't look even close to the vanilla starsphere's and models that aren't used in crossfire freelancer folder. Maybe no vanilla is used, but someone had to improve the vanillas for some reason, wether they used them or not, there is a huge difference. Maybe if you or someone from this site downloaded the repack, they can take a look, look at the first system, pittsburgh I believe, I know you don't use pittsburgh in your mod, but you have the same vanilla starsphere that is used in pittsburgh, and planets/models. And your vanilla starspheres that are or were included in that version, keep in mind, this is 2 years ago, are much higher resolution, even though they're not being used you say.

I'm looking at the starsphers right now, instead of just being Li04, they are labeled cf_starsphere_br01, these starsphere's, which ARE vanilla freelancer, are the exact same starspheres, but with much higher resolution, if your team didn't improve the vanillas, and just renamed them, and used maybe someone else's work, then can you provide that person, and I will ask and give credit to that person if possible.

Posted on: 2012/10/17 2:58
Top
Re: Discovery 4.85 HD
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 221
Offline
I was the one who has build the starspheres. They are not vanilla ones, they are not what was released with Freelancer and they do look different than vanilla starspheres. It is not possible to simply raise the resolution of something and expect that it looks better... it is required to invest alot more work to rebuild something (in order to keep the original style of the system) in a more detailed way.
But still that is not vanilla stuff.

Ill show you what you get when you just change the resolution of something...

You take this as source:
Open in new window

and change its resolution with the result of getting this:
Open in new window

Is that better? Is it an improvement? You can not simply change the resolution of something and expect that suddenly details appear that where not there before. That is just impossible. And just because we tried to keep the original style of the systems it does not mean that we are using vanilla stuff.

Posted on: 2012/10/17 9:50
Top
« 1 (2)