Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
30 user(s) are online (24 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 30

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 60€
(last updated 03/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 92 users playing Freelancer on 43 servers.
April. 1, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Help for the computer illiterate
Just popping in
Joined:
2/3 0:11
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Hey all,

I'm trying to install Freelancer on my Windows 10 laptop and after I allow the unknown publisher to make changes to my device, nothing happens. Tried the no CD EXE, hit run, and that's not working either. I'm getting 4 messages: DALib.dll, Movie.dll, Common.dll, DACOM.dll not found.

I am NOT a computer person. I don't mod, or use cheat codes, or any of that. If someone could walk me through how to make this game work under the assumption that I'm an idiot and don't speak computer, that would be swell.

Should I have saved the no CD EXE instead of running? At this point I don't want to do anything and mess it up lol. I'll just wait till someone can rescue me.

-- Kai

Posted on: 2/3 0:32
Top
Re: Help for the computer illiterate
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/9/11 15:55
From Somewhere at Moscow
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1761
Offline
Right-click freelancer.exe - run as admin

Posted on: 2/4 14:16
Open Sirius Mod
Top
Re: Help for the computer illiterate
Just popping in
Joined:
2/3 0:11
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Okay tried that … box pops up that asks if I want to allow changes from the unknown publisher, and I click yes, and … nothing.

I finally figured out how to save the no CD EXE and replaced the one from the disk with the download, and still nothing.

-- Kai

Posted on: 2/5 9:02
Top
Re: Help for the computer illiterate
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/17 23:28
From new jersey usa
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 905
Offline
have you tried this? go into the control panel add programs and features. then go to turn windows features on or off. go to folder legacy components. Click the folder you will add direct play and freelancer will work after that.

Posted on: 2/7 18:45
Open in new window
Top
Re: Help for the computer illiterate
Just popping in
Joined:
2/3 0:11
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
I tried that little trick aaaaand that didn't work either. Ergh My laptop just hates this game, apparently. I tried it both ways, double clicking to run normally and right clicking to run as admin. Same box asking if I give permission to allow changes, then nothing.

-- Kai

Posted on: 2/8 9:01
Top
Re: Help for the computer illiterate
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/9/11 15:55
From Somewhere at Moscow
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1761
Offline
Install Windows Programs And Features - Legacy Components - Direct Play

Posted on: 2/9 6:41
Open Sirius Mod
Top
Re: Help for the computer illiterate
Just popping in
Joined:
2/3 0:11
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Yeah I turned on Direct Play and still nothing.

-- Kai

Posted on: 2/10 6:05
Top