Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
30 user(s) are online (7 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 30

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 60€
(last updated 03/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 56 users playing Freelancer on 43 servers.
May. 26, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 »


Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/6/13 10:58
From France
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 489
Offline
Hi!

I present you the Freelancer high resolution textures topic.

The first pack is a pack of Rheinland capital ship textures, I want to know what you think of it.

Here are the download link :
http://www.mediafire.com/download/1k3 ... ips_HD_textures.zip.flmod

http://www.mediafire.com/download/x31 ... _HD_texturesV2.zip+.flmod

I upload a preview screen of the Rheinland gunship :

Attach file:



jpg  Rheiland_Capship_HD_Textures.jpg (949.26 KB)
5161_53d921b38eddd.jpg 1920X995 px

jpg  Rh_tex_preview.jpg (844.12 KB)
5161_53f9e8b302c40.jpg 1890X990 px

Posted on: 2014/7/30 17:33
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/16 20:41
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 312
Offline
looks good, a lot of work - well done

Posted on: 2014/7/30 18:24
Open in new window
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.

Joined:
2014/7/7 16:40
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 35
Offline
Man, those are some FINE details! Great work, I can't wait to see the other textures as well.
A tiny question: Is it free to use?

Posted on: 2014/7/30 19:34
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/6/13 10:58
From France
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 489
Offline
Free! Free! Free! Use them wisely!

Posted on: 2014/7/30 19:51
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.

Joined:
2014/7/7 16:40
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 35
Offline
Trust me, I will
Thanks!

Posted on: 2014/7/30 20:11
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/8/30 8:36
From Bay Area, CA, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 379
Offline
Disclaimer: The following is artistic criticism, not any sort of negative mindless hate.

You've not taken it far enough. The diff cloud is a little obvious, I'd pull it back some. Take some of the blacks out, they're too heavy.

Your shapes are good, but they're too uniform. Spend some time damaging the panels instead of letting the Diff cloud do the work. Also, if you're gonna put in lighting (the panels dark v light edges) keep the light source uniform.

Manually put metallic highlights on your hard edges, right now it reads as plastic, not metal. And add some fake ambient occlusion to overlapping pieces. Another 2-3 hrs of work and this could be a nice piece.

Attached is a quick once over I've done on a small piece of the texture. Now, I can't compensate for your Diff clouds, I'm just painting over what you've got, but see the difference in how much less flat you can make it in just a few minutes? Really easy tricks.

Open in new window

By no means is this my little doodle representative of finished level quality. But you've got the resolution, so use it! Also, this is a choice thing, but I'd refrain from using a 'stamp' pattern like that metal plating backdrop. You can do so much better with just your own work.

Posted on: 2014/7/30 20:26
"Before I start, I'd like to apologize from all my heart in front of everybody for all the bad things I've done before posting this thread. (Sizer, I'll ALWAYS hate you)" - TheDVDMan
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/6/13 10:58
From France
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 489
Offline
So, if I understand well, I just have to change brightness and add some white on the edges?

The cloudy appearance is my base texture, if I removed that, my texture is ugly because I use the original texture as colour in my layers.

Edit : I tried another layer style/disposition and now that's not foggy and more clear without disgusting colours.

Posted on: 2014/7/30 20:42
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/8/30 8:36
From Bay Area, CA, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 379
Offline
Well, it's a little more than that. What I did was pull out some of the blacks using Curves/Levels. I didn't have the base PSD, so I had to just use a blunt force method, but with the layers intact, there are easier ways to do it.

As for the edges, use a 1px hard brush with a white+basecolor for edge highlights. And again, look at your big panels. The lightsource isnt matching up. Instead of using the layer style Bevel, hand paint the panels using two layers. The upper layer should be Light and the lower layer should be Shadow. Paint with a white+basecolor broad hard brush for your highlighted edges, and dark grey brush for your shadow edges. Always use one lightsource - I usually use upper left corner @ 45 degrees. That way on every panel, if the panel is raised, the top edge and left edge are highlighted, and the bottom edge and lower edge are shadow. If the panel is inset, the reverse is true. You'll get a more clear reading that way.

Also, using a Diff Cloud is a good way to make a base texture, but also try combining it via an Overlay layer using a texture from www.cgtextures.com. They're royalty free and usually pretty decent quality. Find a decent metal texture to use as a base, most of them are pre-tiled, so no worries there.

I have a really good test texture I built laying around somewhere. I'll try to find it and post it here so you can see what I mean.

Posted on: 2014/7/30 21:51
"Before I start, I'd like to apologize from all my heart in front of everybody for all the bad things I've done before posting this thread. (Sizer, I'll ALWAYS hate you)" - TheDVDMan
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/8/30 8:36
From Bay Area, CA, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 379
Offline

Posted on: 2014/7/30 21:55
"Before I start, I'd like to apologize from all my heart in front of everybody for all the bad things I've done before posting this thread. (Sizer, I'll ALWAYS hate you)" - TheDVDMan
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/6/13 10:58
From France
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 489
Offline
I have not the same functionalities in photoshop, what photoshop do you use?

Giving me a demo file is a good idea! Send me it via a private message.

Posted on: 2014/7/30 22:24
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/6/13 10:58
From France
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 489
Offline
Help! I can't create layer group in photoshop!

Posted on: 2014/7/30 23:01
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/8/30 8:36
From Bay Area, CA, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 379
Offline
I use CS6 Extended.

Groups should be creatable by selecting the layers you want to group and then hitting either the folder icon in the bottom of the layer tray or CRTL+G

I'll record a demo video, maybe tonight when I get back from class on what I know about texture tricks for PS. I might do a series on using dDo and nDo to create really nice diffuse textures.

Posted on: 2014/7/30 23:09
"Before I start, I'd like to apologize from all my heart in front of everybody for all the bad things I've done before posting this thread. (Sizer, I'll ALWAYS hate you)" - TheDVDMan
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
This is becoming a Master Class, thanks Sizer! I'm following although not understanding all.

Posted on: 2014/7/31 16:57
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1607
Offline
Did you check out http://www.moddb.com/games/freelancer/addons/hd-textures-12 to combine your efforts?

Posted on: 2014/8/3 21:29
Open in new window
Top
Re: Freelancer High Resolution Textures realase topic.
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/6/13 10:58
From France
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 489
Offline
No not really but I want to make something new. And I will not make planets, because in this pack the textures are in 1024X1024.

Posted on: 2014/8/5 11:08
Top
(1) 2 »