Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
70 user(s) are online (33 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 70

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 24 users playing Freelancer on 36 servers.
May. 10, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
I use and own a copy of Maya 2009 and ive used it for a while, do i need to use 3DS max to make models and UV them, then export them? or can i do these things in Maya. ?

i dont have 3DSmax, also there is hitboxing too.. all these things can only be done in Max ?

Edit: I can already make models and UV them from Maya. i just want to know if i have to do the whole process in 3DSmax instead.

Posted on: 2011/10/22 20:04
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
3ds Max is preferred, but not absolutely necessary. As long as you can export in OBJ format, you can do everything you need. Hitboxes use a separate application that takes OBJs for input. Models will have to go through Milkshape if you can't use Max (there's a far more recent Max exporter that works much better than the MS3D stuff, though).

Posted on: 2011/10/22 20:07
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/8/30 8:36
From Bay Area, CA, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 379
Offline
You can create geometry and uv maps in any program so long as you export them to a format either 3dsmax or Milkshape3d can read, because those are the only two programs that currently have export plug-ins written from them.


EDIT: Goddamnit, beat me to it, FF

Posted on: 2011/10/22 20:09
"Before I start, I'd like to apologize from all my heart in front of everybody for all the bad things I've done before posting this thread. (Sizer, I'll ALWAYS hate you)" - TheDVDMan
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
3ds Max is preferred, but not absolutely necessary. As long as you can export in OBJ format, you can do everything you need.


I do beleive i can export as OBJ, does OBJ keep UV's connected to the texture (ive never tried to get a model into a game before, so im very new to the transfer process)

Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
Hitboxes use a separate application that takes OBJs for input.


which application?

Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
Models will have to go through Milkshape if you can't use Max (there's a far more recent Max exporter that works much better than the MS3D stuff, though).


I might be able to see about getting 3DSmax... if its reccomended i dont really feel like learning 3 or 4 programs that all do the same thing it seems..

whats milkshape?

Posted on: 2011/10/22 20:14
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/10/3 6:01
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 72
Offline

Posted on: 2011/10/22 21:25
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/17 23:14
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 518
Offline
I use Maya. Actually, I prefer it to 3dsMax

Posted on: 2011/10/23 14:10
Open in new window
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
I personally would highly suggest you use 3ds as opposed to Milkshape, as the latter is a piece of crap, to put it succintly. If you can get 3ds Max, the new CMP exporter has more features, is more stable and generally just works a thousand times better.

I'm not sure where the compiled exporter is (it's still under development), but I guess w0d could compile the latest build.

As for the SUR exporter, this thread hosts current and future versions of it. It's also still under development so you can expect a few bugs here and there.

I can vouch for both programs, though. They've helped us tremendously and work much, much better than past alternatives.

Posted on: 2011/10/23 16:57
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?

Joined:
2011/12/5 20:31
From San Diego
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 31
Offline
Thanks. Good to know because I was planning on using Maya. I will check out 3DS Max

Is there anything you need to keep in mind while modelling? I read in other threads that you should avoid certain kinds of polygons (convex?)

What about the model itself? Does it have to be one piece or is it okay if consists of several smaller pieces?

Posted on: 2011/12/14 22:23
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/21 16:18
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 202
Offline
i use maya (much easier interface, 3ds (and blender) have special interfaces, and are more "memory consumer" and tiny)

I make all my models in maya, then export in .obj, then use the ms3d cmp exporter, no bugs found at this time.

Posted on: 2011/12/16 9:00
Burn the gum, Not your Soul...
Top
Re: use of Maya for Freelancer Modding?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
Quote:

Emmanuel wrote:
Thanks. Good to know because I was planning on using Maya. I will check out 3DS Max

Is there anything you need to keep in mind while modelling? I read in other threads that you should avoid certain kinds of polygons (convex?)

What about the model itself? Does it have to be one piece or is it okay if consists of several smaller pieces?


You (everyone) should make all ship models in more than one piece (Group).

No, your individual model pieces don't have to be convex, they can be any shape. Only sur file pieces must each be convex.

This is because collision detection is only possible by using completely convex surs, any concave part in a sur file will prevent it from detecting collisions. So unless your ship cmp model is already convex everywhere, this will not be easy. to do in one piece.

We use manual methods and tools like ConvexTool and Havok Contents Tools' Convex Hull modifier to make convex shrouds for each model piece, and then use those convex shapes to generate the sur files.

To make each part of a sur file convex while keeping close to the model body shape, may need many sur parts, and if you have only a few model parts (in the cmp file) then you will not have enough model parts for each sur part to connect with, because each sur part must have the same name as an existing model part.

This is why in the past, modellers and sur file creators added zOhMyGodBayxx01 dummy groups into the model cmp files, because the ship model was often in a single piece or only a couple of pieces.

So it's best to create the hull in one or more pieces, making another piece where the model outline naturally changes direction or shape is best, for example where a straight hull piece joins a fatter or thinner hull piece, or turns out at an angle.

Then make your wings, fins, pods, engines, booms etc each as a separate piece (called "groups" in MilkShape and in most tutorials), myship_Hull_Front, myship_Hull_Mid, myship_Hull_Rear, myship_LeftWing, myship_RightWing, myship_LeftEngine01, myship_LeftEngine02, myship_RightEngine01, myship_RightEngine02 etc.

In many cases I have made even one engine in several pieces - intake, grill, body, exhaust and nozzle,and maybe even side decals - this is very useful in putting in design features because you can paint each piece in a separate solid colour, instead of adding a texture file that has to be stretched to fit and shows wrinkles in places.

You can also make sculptured body detail pieces and add them as separate groups too.

But remember the maximum number of groups per cmp is 18 unless you know how to splice cmp files together, there is a good tutorial for that.

But you can make several model parts and the exporter can make them into one group. For instance the separate engine body, intake, nozzle, decals etc can be made into 1 group.

It takes a bit of trial and error but I got very nice looking results, and it's very gratifying.

Just ask if you have problems, and many people here can help.

Posted on: 2011/12/16 12:08
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top