Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
96 user(s) are online (32 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 96

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 25 users playing Freelancer on 48 servers.
May. 19, 2022

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Hack Request: Upping the Show Limit for Equipped Lights (to enable Flare Stars)
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
EDIT: I've altered the title from simply "Flare Stars" to the present one, to emphasize what I'd like to achieve.


I finally found the time to test the flare star idea I mentioned a few weeks ago. The idea was the increase a regular blinking light up to a stellar scale, to create a variable star.


It works, and looks great I must say! But only within a limit of 9.9 K (K being the FL in-game unit). Beyond that, the whole thing disappears from screen. Also, when the center of it disappears from screen, the entire thing also becomes invisible. Which is too bad. I'm hoping you can help me with expanding this limit!

I assume this problem might typically be overcome with a hack, like most of the game's default limits.


The entries I used:


In Light_Equip.ini :
Quote:
[Light]
nickname = STAR_LIGHT_RedGiant
inherit = Red
bulb_size = 5000
glow_size = 10000
flare_cone = 180, 90
avg_delay = 20
blink_duration = 30



In SolarArch.ini :
Quote:
[Solar]
nickname = STAR_SUN_RedGiant
type = MISSION_SATELLITE
DA_archetype = solar\misc\gravity_buoy.3db
material_library = solar\Solar_mat_misc02.mat
LODranges = 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
distance_render = 500000 <------ *
mass = 10000.000000
loadout = STAR_LOADOUT_RedGiant
solar_radius = 7500
shape_name = NNM_SM_SUN
hit_pts = 999999961690316250000000000000000000.000000


* I took this one from planet_storm_5000, and expanded it to 500000 to test if this does what I want, but it doesn't



In Solar/Loadouts.ini :
Quote:
[Loadout]
nickname = STAR_LOADOUT_RedGiant
equip = STAR_LIGHT_RedGiant, HpRunningLight01



In the Star System's ini:
Quote:
[LightSource]
nickname = Aa01_System_Light
pos = 0, 0, 0
color = 255, 223, 127
range = 320000
type = DIRECTIONAL
atten_curve = DYNAMIC_DIRECTION

[Object]
nickname = Aa01_STAR_SUN_RedGiant
pos = 0, 0, 0
rotate = 90, 45, 0
archetype = STAR_SUN_RedGiant
ids_name = 0;GENERATESTRRES("Red Giant" )


Posted on: 2011/2/5 18:49
Top
Re: Hack Request: Upping the Show Limit for Equipped Lights (to enable Flare Stars)
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
*Bump*

I'm not impatient, but I don't wanna let this one sink down.

Although FL is a beautiful game, there is not much we can do with the scenery (other than making up textures, arranging objects and setting the system lights) and this flare stars will really add something, visually.

I wish I would know how to make (and post) video's, so I could convince y'all.... Anyway, just imagine a slowly blinking light bulb like you can put on the stations and ships, but then enlarged by a few 1000 times. It's like a star that grows and shrinks (sounds silly maybe, but it looks great - and many real stars actually do this - even the sun, by 0.1 % over an 11-year cycle) I guess it'll be nice to superimpose this on a regular star, but I didn't do so in my testing. And even that looked great.


Except that you had to get withn 9.9 K to see anything at all, and make sure the center of the 'star' was within you screen. These are the things that need to be fixed.

I'm quite sure the first one is a simple hack.

No clue about the second one - it is reminiscent of the problem with custom ships in the old days, which, iirc, was overcome when custom SURs were improved. But there is no SUR for a light bulb... So, I hope this is also just a simple hack. BTW doesn't this issue also occur for the neutron star effect?

Posted on: 2011/2/6 12:49
Top
Re: Hack Request: Upping the Show Limit for Equipped Lights (to enable Flare Stars)
Quite a regular
Joined:
2010/11/8 16:38
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 131
Offline
I tested your star in-game and I noticed that it has similar problems to the Neutron Star effect (which I can't get to show up beyond a distance of around 30k.) Something else I noticed, I put it inside a star and the view distance decreased to about 7k. Since it's "procedurally generated" by ini files I'm wondering where the lod ranges for lights and beam effects are defined, because it's probably not handled in quite the same way as normal ale files.

Posted on: 2011/2/6 13:02
Top
Re: Hack Request: Upping the Show Limit for Equipped Lights (to enable Flare Stars)
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
Or you could combine an ALE with a traditional sun and get the added bonus of not recycling (and enlarging waaay beyond recommended size) the extremely crappy sarma texture over and over again with no hope of changing it.

Posted on: 2011/2/6 15:02
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Hack Request: Upping the Show Limit for Equipped Lights (to enable Flare Stars)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 2006
Offline
Code:
freelancer.exe 213EC8 10000f = maximum draw distance of lights ~adoxa

At least, I think it's just lights. Couldn't figure out the center bit.

Posted on: 2011/2/7 7:12
Top