Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
65 user(s) are online (49 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 65

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +165€

Current balance: 105€
(last updated 02/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 56 users playing Freelancer on 38 servers.
April. 16, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2) 3 4 5 6 »


Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/26 14:24
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
If my CMP model is one part (not only one group), how to make it to work ?

Same as above ?

Posted on: 2008/11/16 15:24
Open in new window

The mod is only me working on it.
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/11/5 14:07
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Quote:

If my CMP model is one part (not only one group), how to make it to work ?

Same as above ?


your cmp could be in multiple part, it doesn't matter

you could have a cmp in only one volume or in separate element ..
when you do the SUR, box will be close to your CMP
you could do a solid one bloc SUR , or a multiple SUR for destructible component or animate part ...
if you do multiple SUR, better to do multiple CMP, with parent function for destructible of animate

CzW

Posted on: 2008/11/16 15:42
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/5 16:18
From Germany
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 546
Offline
looking on this tutorial i must say that its a method that i only want to use on very complex objects coz its much more complicated then creating surs in ms3d and much more time consuming

i guess its good for creating stations surs... but not good for ship surs.

Posted on: 2008/11/16 16:17
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer

Joined:
2008/11/10 10:07
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 45
Offline
I'm getting an issue when I try to run splicer.bat

C:\Users\Antares\Desktop\hitbox_tools\hitbox tools>sur_splice.exe ini.ini
Could not open output file [*]

C:\Users\Antares\Desktop\hitbox_tools\hitbox tools>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

This is my ini.ini
Code:

[*] ds_light.sur
[*] ds_light_cons_fix.dat
[*] 10517.076172
[*] 4856.150391 4860.586914 4856.150391
[*] dsl_S01.sur Root


The only sur I have is called dsl_S01.sur and it's in the same folder.

Any ideas?

Code:

Fix: remove the [*] at the beginning of each line in the ini.

Posted on: 2008/11/16 16:48
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/10/27 0:04
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 227
Offline
if i see right you sur file name is dsl_S01 and in the ini is ds1_S01 ???

and for the time needed to do hitbox it's just a matter of training
in the example the bs_light was made in 3dsmax
and it takes me about 10 minutes

Posted on: 2008/11/16 16:54
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer

Joined:
2008/11/10 10:07
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 45
Offline
They are the same, it's just that the Code thing shows the 1 differently.

Posted on: 2008/11/16 17:09
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/10/27 0:04
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 227
Offline
I had this error only when the file name was not the same as the name in the ini file ...
i cannot say more sorry

Posted on: 2008/11/16 17:24
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/5/12 20:47
From The Netherlands
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
Senior Members
Posts: 1076
Offline
Wow,

Many thanks Mirka for sharing this tutorial with us.

And FF, THANKS for the translation.

Maybe now even me can check out some SUR stuff me as being a n00b in this all.

Posted on: 2008/11/16 18:11
Open in new window
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/26 14:24
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
I approve OPR8R say, maybe I can use it to create some stations surs.

Anyway thanks CZW and all of your hard work.

Posted on: 2008/11/16 18:28
Open in new window

The mod is only me working on it.
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/11/5 14:07
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Quote:

looking on this tutorial i must say that its a method that i only want to use on very complex objects coz its much more complicated then creating surs in ms3d and much more time consuming

i guess its good for creating stations surs... but not good for ship surs.


everybody are free to use the way he want .....
this tutorial is just to explain how to do a perfect SUR file ..
if you prefered to a more simple SUR, that's your choice

myself, i prefer , my way, cuz, it's much closer than the model,
imagine a model with a hole into it ... look more fun to do this hole instead to have a bubble around ... every shoot will pass throught the model by this hole .. more realistic ..

after each modder will found his way ...
after if into your mod, you are alone to do all, sure to safe time, do a simple SUR ...

it just an offer to the community .. to present a more complex SUR file creation ....

our simple idea is to share our discover and knowledge ...

Posted on: 2008/11/17 1:04
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/5 16:18
From Germany
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 546
Offline
... much closer to the model... much more polygons... much more calculations needed for hit detection... but like you said... everybody are free to use the way he want ^^

Posted on: 2008/11/17 1:25
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/5/26 17:10
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 156
Offline
In my opinion, how long it takes to use a method completely depends on how much practice you have with it. Myself I like how you did it. Maybe one day I will go back to it and try.

Posted on: 2008/11/17 1:25
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Quote:

... much closer to the model... much more polygons... much more calculations needed for hit detection... but like you said... everybody are free to use the way he want ^^

Ya, we like this method because we use a lot of custom ships that don't fit with any normal Freelancer .surs. It offers a lot better hitboxes for us. Mirkha and CzW were nice enough to share this information to the entire community, so we can all benefit from what they've accomplished - something that I hope other mods communties do when advancements in FL Modding are made. Whether you use it for your server is up to you; for total conversion mods, I believe it's a necessity.

Posted on: 2008/11/17 1:43
Open in new window
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/5 16:18
From Germany
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 546
Offline
yeah but i was not speaking of vanilla surs
ive created more than 300 surs already using milkshape and they are working perfect

Posted on: 2008/11/17 2:23
Top
Re: [Sur Tutorial] Hitbox from 3DSMAX to Freelancer
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/26 14:24
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
Quote:

yeah but i was not speaking of vanilla surs
ive created more than 300 surs already using milkshape and they are working perfect


How to do that ?

As I know, if you use milkshape to create surs, that will be some issue.

Posted on: 2008/11/17 2:33
Open in new window

The mod is only me working on it.
Top
« 1 (2) 3 4 5 6 »