Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
36 user(s) are online (18 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 36

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: -85€
(last updated 11/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 55 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
December. 8, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 2 3 (4)


Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1777
Offline
Well, do you have implemented smooth camera movement in your engine? I suspect you only have linear non-acceleration based camera movement, which means that the position of your camera is static, therefore you dont see the shaking effect.

In FL, the camera is in most cases always in little motion (change of 0.00001 in a rotation may result in vastly different matrix transformations due to the high precision error) which I think is the origin of the shaking.

Im also not entirely sure if this is true, but for me thats the only logical explanation.

Posted on: 2009/8/24 20:42
aka chaosgrid
https://www.freelancerserver.de
https://www.moddb.com/mods/fwtow
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/10 22:00
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 1281
Offline
W0dk4 hit it on the head. The camera in FL is an attached camera that is based off of the ships position. It isn't the ship that's shaking, it's the camera. The camera in my game is designed exactly like the one in FL but in my case I can make it show the position of the camera in real-time. It jumps around just like it does in FL once it gets way out from the center. The ship's position is shows a much smaller jumping.

There is a feature in FL that allows you to lock your camera to the ship without any sliding from side to side, you could try that to see if the shaking goes away.

Also, only moving objects will appear to shake, not stationary ones.

Hope that helps explain it....

Posted on: 2009/8/24 23:06
Galaxy Empire
Youtube Videos
Facebook
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/3/8 5:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 8
Offline
I found selution for that problem. Custom cokpits dont shake match do to there size but all originale FL cockpits shake like crazy end the problem is that they (FLC) ar wery small size ( + - 0, 1 )
Resize the cockpits to atlis +- 5 or higher end shaking will go awey.
Youse FMR ( Freelancer model resizer ) on the cockpits . Try it end see how it go

Posted on: 2011/4/16 12:45
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2011/4/3 17:43
From N/A
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 199
Offline
It doesn't hurt the view point?

Posted on: 2011/4/16 13:25
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 95
Offline
[dream]Fixed.[/dream]

Hi all, happy new year!

First of all, apologies for bumping this very old topic.

Was wondering whether there is any news on this subject that I've missed (doesn't have to be big). For example from earlier in this thread:
Quote:

LancerSolurus wrote:
I agree with W0dk4 there i a limit to how much the normalizing will help. Even in GE the ship begins to shake a little bit at 2 million units out. And I use normalization on all of my matrices. The only sure fire way to get around the problem is to split up huge systems into sections and move everything in the system each time a player crosses one of the boundary. don't know difficult it would be to make a plugin for that but I have a feeling it wouldn't be easy.

or
Quote:

Schmackbolzen wrote:
I was talking to wodka about this and he was working on some changes via client- and serverhooking, but it's a rather huge change so i guess it will take a while. Changing the data type to double would have a bad effect on performance (besides i don't think it's easy to do). I did some tests in my own 3D engine and I only noticed some unprecision starting at around 5000K from the center, so I am not sure whether this really is a precision problem at all.

Anyone still working on this?

Just checking.

Posted on: 2018/1/3 22:57
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3519
Offline
No, there's no work on this and it's unlikely there will ever be a fix.

Posted on: 2018/1/4 3:46
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1909
Offline
I moved the ship out to 15000K and noticed each component of the ship shakes, as do the individual stars when you strafe, so that suggests it's not a camera issue.

Posted on: 2018/1/7 12:33
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3519
Offline
Yeah, it's the individual object matrices which become denormalized. If you perform all the calculations and rendering in camera space instead of world space (by moving everything so the camera is at the origin before rendering the frame, then reverting all that after rendering), you already get a noticeably lower amount of shaking for the exact same inputs. The rest of the shaking is probably caused by the positions themselves becoming inaccurate.

Unfortunately, I don't have the ability to do that space transformation for everything (specifically, it breaks ALEs and I believe stars), so it's not currently viable.

Posted on: 2018/1/7 14:47
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
« 1 2 3 (4)