Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
41 user(s) are online (25 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 41

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: -45€
(last updated 09/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 35 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
October. 19, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 2 (3) 4 »


Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1774
Offline
I found a fix for the 130k sur collision detection problem:

0xED8B4 in common.dll (v1.0) 0.01f - collision detection min check distance

If you change it to 0.5f, you should be save until 4000k.

More details, how I found it:
Quote:
What is intersting to note is that between 130k and 140k the floating point precision error is going from <1cm to >1cm.

Moved the base to
pos = 2000362, 1009, 1002

Then, I could fly through a lot of walls that I couldnt fly through at 0, 0, 0.

Now, load up common.dll and replace every occurence of 0a d7 23 3C with 00 00 00 3F (should only be like 5 places or so).
3C23D70A is 0.01f (I think this is the min distance the collision detection code checks for collisions, since at great distances the floating point error is higher than that, it gets bugged).

After that hack, I couldnt fly through any walls


Posted on: 2009/4/29 23:40
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 18:04
From Maine, USA
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
Awesome w0dk4, I'll add this to the list.

Posted on: 2009/4/30 0:15
88 Flak for Freelancer
1.27 Betas | Wiki | Forums
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
As I said on the FW:ToW forums:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fj6qQdLBwm4

Posted on: 2009/4/30 0:21
Open in new window
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/26 14:24
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
Thanks w0dk4, you are the great hacker.

Posted on: 2009/4/30 5:30
Open in new window

The mod is only me working on it.
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/10 15:03
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1018
Offline
Quote:

As I said on the FW:ToW forums:


lmao nice one w0dk4!!!

Posted on: 2009/4/30 11:30
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/10/10 20:44
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
After a long time of being rather inactive in Freelancer Modding due to RL, I finally came back to my old problem.

I made one rather interesting discovery:
- tested ship shaking being ~470k away from the center, with a Nav Map Cale of 0.2 --> heavily recognizable
- tested ship shaking 40k ayway from the center with a nav map scale of 0.8. Nothing else changed in the system (still a station 450k away from center etc.) --> ship shaking stays noticeable
Has this anything to do with the NavMapScale being below 1.0?

And now the most important question: Are there any possibilities to optimize the game's math? My knowledge in programming is rextricted, but I could imagine such optimisation would be possible if the functions Freelancer asks for are kept in some way.

Posted on: 2009/5/31 23:03
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3519
Offline
Unfortunately I doubt upgrading FL's position calculations is possible because it'd require completely changing how it stores positions. The issue is inherent to the technique used and unfortunately can't be fixed much. Even if we were to be able to apply certain error correction techniques, the issue would still crop up. Completely swapping out the technique requires work that can only be done with the source code (unless someone's an ultra ASM guru and has years to work on it), which we don't have.

As for shaking and navmapscale, I don't think there's any relation. Since it's not a "feature", I doubt the programmers would've tied both values in any way - they'd always prefer maximizing precision.

Posted on: 2009/6/1 2:32
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/10/10 20:44
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
Well, then I actually will have to make things smaller. Weird though, that the FL-Developers didn't fix a bug which is mostly clearly visible in cockpit view.

Thanks for the help though
Will concentrate on modelling now, making the system(s) smaller shouldn't take much time.

Posted on: 2009/6/2 9:46
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/7/30 4:40
From P.R.C
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 843
Offline
Excuse me, I know this is a old thread, but i really want to know how to solve this problem, because i was planning to make a very very big system (include big planet and big sun), but i also got this shaking problem. actually i can see station also shaking not only the ship ......

I don't know if it is possible to change the data type (to double?) or other to make FL storage long float ..... although in my knowledge god can do this.....

However, i want to ask is someone solved this problem....

Posted on: 2009/8/24 9:46
Open in new window
Sorry for my poor english...
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/7/8 21:15
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 573
Offline
I was talking to wodka about this and he was working on some changes via client- and serverhooking, but it's a rather huge change so i guess it will take a while. Changing the data type to double would have a bad effect on performance (besides i don't think it's easy to do). I did some tests in my own 3D engine and I only noticed some unprecision starting at around 5000K from the center, so I am not sure whether this really is a precision problem at all.

Posted on: 2009/8/24 10:08
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/7/30 4:40
From P.R.C
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 843
Offline
I really hope this problem can be solve, thinks for your info Schmackbolzen.

Posted on: 2009/8/24 13:02
Open in new window
Sorry for my poor english...
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3519
Offline
Unfortunately, nothing is really telling us whether your 3D engine is using the same positioning method as Freelancer's. Based on what we see (IE the output, logs and such), I'd say FL doesn't appear to have the best code base in the world, so it's possible that part is a bit unreliable too.

Posted on: 2009/8/24 15:04
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/7/8 21:15
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 573
Offline
That is correct, but also means that FL would have to calculate internally with values greater than 1 million for the precision being a problem. I don't know why they would have done that although I admit it IS Freelancer Anyway wodkas approach would work completely around that, so let's hope he succeeds.

Posted on: 2009/8/24 16:46
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1774
Offline
I dont know how OpenGL or your engine handles position data in detail, but floating point precision will always be an issue when dealing with high values.
Just think about it: At 130 000 the precision error is already 0,01 so no, I dont think this is due to bad coding of the FL devs.

Posted on: 2009/8/24 17:43
Top
Re: Ship Shaking
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/7/8 21:15
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 573
Offline
I do get you point, but the question is, whether you would see it. I use 1:1 position data even for the physics engine and at 500K the movement seems still fluid, regardless of small or fast speed. Either way since we don't know (yet) exactly what Freelancer does I guess we just wait and see if your method works.

Posted on: 2009/8/24 19:13
Top
« 1 2 (3) 4 »