Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
76 user(s) are online (53 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 76

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 29 users playing Freelancer on 37 servers.
September. 17, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



New Multiplayer Character - Faction Selection
Just popping in
Joined:
9/1 21:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
I remember playing mods where you could select your faction upon creating a new character. Does anybody have any information on how this is done? I thought maybe you needed multiple [Faction] entries in newcharacter.ini, but appearantly the game just looks for the one with nickname = new_player.

Posted on: 9/1 21:51
Top
Re: New Multiplayer Character - Faction Selection
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 214
Offline
It was first done with a server tool called FLshell that allowed such alternate start conditions in its settings.
I think there are FLhook plugins which can do the same.

Posted on: 9/2 12:46
Top
Re: New Multiplayer Character - Faction Selection
Just popping in
Joined:
9/1 21:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Do you mean the /restart command? I remember there being an proper picker UI on the "New Character" Screen (see image). Freeworlds: Tides of War had this and I could have sworn disco did as well at some point, though it doesn't seem to anymore.

Attach file:



jpg  faction-select.jpg (78.03 KB)
48380_613107f27e6fa.jpg 632X518 px

Posted on: 9/2 18:22
Top
Re: New Multiplayer Character - Faction Selection
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 639
Offline
FLHook can indeed do /restart but not this.
I don't think Disco ever did this, I recall we discussed it at some point but it'd required some client hooking skill we no longer have.
Procyon had it I think.

Posted on: 9/2 18:24
Top
Re: New Multiplayer Character - Faction Selection
Just popping in
Joined:
9/1 21:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Thanks for the pointer!

I was able to find ProcyonHook 1.45, and saw the modified page_charactercreate.page, but I guess that function integrated too heavily with their server software to be able to be easily reused. I guess I'll have to make due with restarts or rephacks for now

Posted on: 9/2 22:23
Top
Re: New Multiplayer Character - Faction Selection

Joined:
2016/3/29 21:54
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 43
Offline
I spent weeks taking apart ProcyonHook to the best of my ability. I managed to figure out how their client side packaging system worked, how their UI hooked into the multiplayer menu, and how it connected to the server. They mostly used vanilla features that were just disabled, but with excessive amount of assembly in order to get it working - or at least as far as I could tell.

Posted on: 9/2 23:53
Way too ambitious for his own good.
Top