Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
51 user(s) are online (25 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 51

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: 0€
(last updated 06/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 57 users playing Freelancer on 40 servers.
August. 6, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 »


Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
Hopefully another quick one.

I would like to increase the level cap in single-player, with a view to filling those levels with mod content in future. At present, i've learnt enough to know to do this using the ptough.ini and have gotten it from lvl 38 to 40, and that 40 is the normal hard limit for SP (multi-player being much higher because it uses levels differently) that the game won't let you mod beyond just by changing inis.

I'm imagining that, since this is probably hard coded, it's something i'd have to go into dlls with a hex editor to alter, but I neither know if i'm right or what file to look in, and am hoping this has been cracked already (the forum threads I found didn't seem like it, but they were old-ish).

Posted on: 7/3 0:07
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1957
Offline
Here and its followups.

Posted on: 7/3 1:49
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
Thank you for the direction. It's been helpful to know how I should be going about this.

That said, I think my understanding of hex codes might be off, because i've gotten to Gold_Sear's post at the end of the thread and can't find the lines he's referring to in content.dll with the hex editor i'm using.

Posted on: 7/10 0:09
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1957
Offline
Are you seeing A9 46? That means you're still using 1.0 (1.0.1223.11); we generally only provide offsets for 1.1 (1.0.1254.11).

Posted on: 7/10 2:20
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
I'm seeing A9 D8, I think, unless i'm looking at the wrong section, but searching A9 46 doesn't seem to get any direct matches. As far as I was aware, I had the 1.4 patch installed, which I thought included 1.1.

Posted on: 7/10 10:46
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1957
Offline
No, neither the Unofficial 1.4 patch nor JFLP include 1.1.

Posted on: 7/10 14:57
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
Ah. That would explain the confusion, then. Will be hunting down the 1.1 patch shortly.

Posted on: 7/10 15:57
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
I've found the correct line now (as well as realizing I wasn't looking for addresses correctly), so thank you for that, and have made the directed change to have a modded version of the content.dll.

However, now the game won't load when I have the modded dll in place, going through the pre-menu cinematics before suddenly closing before it gets to the menu itself.

EDIT: Having made observations in FLSpew, it seems the game can't find the new content.dll, and by observing the BIN folder as I uninstall the mod with FLMM, it apparently completely removes the content.dll from the normal files afterward... even when it was already there before the mod was turned on. I have no idea what to do with this information, though.

EDIT 2: No longer seems to be removing the file, now. Maybe it was just confused? Still can't run the game, though.

EDIT 3: I'm actually starting to suspect this crash might not even be related to the content.dll, given I've removed it, reinstalled Freelancer just in case and run things again with the mod... and still gotten the crash out. Also, I grabbed FLScanII and it said something about a parsing error related to the SHIPS folder, but I can't find what's causing that, if anything, unless it's something outside said folder making it unreadable.

Posted on: 7/10 16:10
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 100
Offline
Crash offset?

Posted on: 7/13 13:22
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
It's really going to show how green I am in regard to modding, but I don't know what you're asking me for.

Posted on: 7/13 13:30
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 100
Offline
You might wanna read this, some of it might be outdated though. XP had that nice feature that when an application crashed, it showed the crash offset in the 'Tell Microsoft about this problem' window that popped up. In these days, you have to find the crash offset using EventViewer, if I recall correctly.

Posted on: 7/13 17:38
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
Not quite sure how to interpret it as far as the W10 version of the viewer goes, and i'm not even sure i'm looking at the right events (no references to a 'Freelancer-Server' found, and am only finding results for just 'freelancer', but I did locate this Application Error from around the time I was probably trying to run the modded game (though repeat attempts haven't created any new error logs despite continued pre-menu crash outs):

Quote:
Faulting application name: Freelancer.exe, version: 1.0.1223.11, time stamp: 0x3e401b79
Faulting module name: Freelancer.exe, version: 1.0.1223.11, time stamp: 0x3e401b79
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x001531ef
Faulting process ID: 0x255c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d6563a5bb70e63
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\EXE\Freelancer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\EXE\Freelancer.exe
Report ID: bc5df5a3-7538-416d-832c-1f28116ce520
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


This is followed literally one second later by an error report log:

Quote:
Fault bucket 326222296, type 1
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: Freelancer.exe
P2: 1.0.1223.11
P3: 3e401b79
P4: Freelancer.exe
P5: 1.0.1223.11
P6: 3e401b79
P7: c0000005
P8: 001531ef
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\Users\Will\AppData\Local\Freelancer\FLSpew.txt
\\?\C:\Users\Will\AppData\Local\Temp\dxdiag.txt
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERD5E1.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERD5F2.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERD601.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERD621.tmp.txt

These files may be available here:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_Freelancer.exe_44c1b8ced3e223d934a43c483f83442cf65e22a1_00000000_4e89c42a-49c3-4e58-9fcb-5bf73f370d0c

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: bc5df5a3-7538-416d-832c-1f28116ce520
Report Status: 268435456
Hashed bucket: 59451ed260a60bd5e8b949da8f82ea38
Cab Guid: 0

Posted on: 7/13 20:18
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1957
Offline
That address seems to be due to a bad solar in a system file.

Code:
[Object]
archetype = this_solar_is_not_found

There should be a spew message: ArchDB::Get(hash) failed. Use CRCTool (GUI) or CreateID/WhatIs (CLI) to convert hash back to name.

Posted on: 7/14 2:36
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
5/29 17:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 54
Offline
No ArchDB in FLSpew, so i'm beginning to suspect that the error log I posted might actually be from what I was working on before the crash issue, as that involved solar objects. There's no major errors related to Freelancer that are newer than it, though, so I can only assume the load crash isn't creating error logs.

The FLSpew, did, however, contain the following in its final few lines:

Code:
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Common\Archetype.cpp(132) : *** ERROR: Loaded 'Ship' has no nickname .. not adding to database.
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Common\Archetype.cpp(1643) : *** WARNING: [Ship] nickname = 0x0 value is not unique. Aborted second version.
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Common\Archetype.cpp(868) : *** WARNING: [Simple] nickname = 0x8bbbb587 value is not unique. Aborted second version.
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Common\Archetype.cpp(868) : *** WARNING: [Simple] nickname = 0xa06c930c value is not unique. Aborted second version.
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Client\main.cpp(556) : *** ERROR: Couldn't load content.dll! Error code 127
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Client\nn\NN_Chat.cpp(1362) : NOTICE:General:Channel add successful.
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Client\nn\NN_Chat.cpp(1362) : NOTICE:General:Channel add successful.
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\Client\nn\NN_Chat.cpp(1362) : NOTICE:General:Channel add successful.
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\RPCLocal\RPCServer.cpp(62) : *** ERROR: Connect - failed to LoadLibrary(server.dll)
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\DALib\DALib.cpp(376) : WARNING:General:******* DA SYSTEM: trailing references *******
E:\FL\Scratch\Source\DALib\DALib.cpp(376) : WARNING:General:******* DA SYSTEM: trailing references *******

Posted on: 7/14 13:50
Top
Re: Increasing SP Level Cap Beyond 38/40?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1957
Offline
No nickname and nickname of 0 are probably the same thing. The simples are or_elite_dmg_star_wing_cap and or_elite_dmg_port_wing_cap. Copy of Anubis?

Posted on: 7/14 13:56
Top
(1) 2 »