Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
46 user(s) are online (27 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 46

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: -65€
(last updated 10/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 43 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
November. 16, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



@ Adoxa (and other hackers): The Player Ship indicator on Universe Map is bound within a region...
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
The Player Ship indicator on the Universe Map is bound within a region. Is there a fix to expand this region?

It seems that the farthest left it can be displayed, is at x=-1. When the system is further to the left, the Player Ship is still displayed at x=-1 (see image: the Player Ship indicator *should* be further to the left).

Open in new window


I have quite a bunch of systems planned, which are further left than x=-1; hence my request..

Posted on: 9/30 10:58
Open in new window
Top
Re: @ Adoxa (and other hackers): The Player Ship indicator on Universe Map is bound within a region...
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 95
Offline
@Moonhead: I asked this question back in 2015, answered by WhiskasTM.

EDIT: it is also shown in the wiki here.

Thanks for bringing it into attention tho... this should make it easier to find.

EDIT2: you might want to take a look at WhiskasTMs multiuniverse plugin (you already posted in this thread, but in case you forgot)

Posted on: 9/30 11:40
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: @ Adoxa (and other hackers): The Player Ship indicator on Universe Map is bound within a region...
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Thanks Gold_Sear!

I don't quite grasp the third part of the instructions though. That might be because I used to work with HexWorkshop, which stopped working at one point (Norton identified it as some generic virus, and it was a cracked version so I couldn't be totally sure it wasn't), and am now using HxD which is decent, but seems less versatile than HexWorkshop (I must also stress that I am not at all a hacker; I just blindly follow instructions and usually those get it done.)

Quote:

WhiskasTM wrote:

Code:
//new values
freelancer.exe 967F1 112000f = +x 
freelancer.exe 96816 -112000f = -x 
freelancer.exe 9683B 112000f = +y 
freelancer.exe 96860 -112000f = -y 

With applying 112000f => 130000f (keep sign there!) limits are ~:
Code:
pos = -2.1, -2.6 
pos = -2.1, 16.75 
pos = 16.75, -2.6 
pos = 16.75, 16.75

It also affects a red arrow in system map.Result:
http://s30.postimg.org/taj8n4gm9/universe.jpg
http://s30.postimg.org/6kk3u4xep/system.jpg


I don't understand the sign part (as in HxD there is not an option to 'lift out' the code at e.g. 967F1; in my recollection of HexWorkshop there was, which made such replacements a lot easier). Also "112000f" is 7 characters while these code replacements usually work with an even number.

Currently the values at those offsets are:
Code:

freelancer.exe 967F1 = 00 C0 DA 47
freelancer.exe 96816 = 00 C0 DA C7
freelancer.exe 9683B = 00 C0 DA 47
freelancer.exe 96860 = 00 C0 DA C7


Maybe you could talk me through it? (I've done the 1st and 2nd parts already.)


Also, back at the day (when the youtube demo still worked) I was hugely impressed with the multiverse plugin but I decided not to use it; I've already grown too fond of my 2D solution.

Posted on: 9/30 20:00
Open in new window
Top
Re: @ Adoxa (and other hackers): The Player Ship indicator on Universe Map is bound within a region...
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 95
Offline
Quote:

Moonhead wrote:
Thanks Gold_Sear!

I don't quite grasp the third part of the instructions though. That might be because I used to work with HexWorkshop, which stopped working at one point (Norton identified it as some generic virus, and it was a cracked version so I couldn't be totally sure it wasn't), and am now using HxD which is decent, but seems less versatile than HexWorkshop (I must also stress that I am not at all a hacker; I just blindly follow instructions and usually those get it done.)

Quote:

WhiskasTM wrote:

Code:
//new values
freelancer.exe 967F1 112000f = +x 
freelancer.exe 96816 -112000f = -x 
freelancer.exe 9683B 112000f = +y 
freelancer.exe 96860 -112000f = -y 

With applying 112000f => 130000f (keep sign there!) limits are ~:
Code:
pos = -2.1, -2.6 
pos = -2.1, 16.75 
pos = 16.75, -2.6 
pos = 16.75, 16.75

It also affects a red arrow in system map.Result:
http://s30.postimg.org/taj8n4gm9/universe.jpg
http://s30.postimg.org/6kk3u4xep/system.jpg


I don't understand the sign part (as in HxD there is not an option to 'lift out' the code at e.g. 967F1; in my recollection of HexWorkshop there was, which made such replacements a lot easier). Also "112000f" is 7 characters while these code replacements usually work with an even number.

Currently the values at those offsets are:
Code:

freelancer.exe 967F1 = 00 C0 DA 47
freelancer.exe 96816 = 00 C0 DA C7
freelancer.exe 9683B = 00 C0 DA 47
freelancer.exe 96860 = 00 C0 DA C7


Maybe you could talk me through it? (I've done the 1st and 2nd parts already.)


Also, back at the day (when the youtube demo still worked) I was hugely impressed with the multiverse plugin but I decided not to use it; I've already grown too fond of my 2D solution.

Moonhead - these are floats, not bytes. That is, 112000f looks in plain code as 00 C0 DA 47. Same for -112000, that looks like 00 C0 DA C7 in plain code, where the last bit is swapped to apply sign.

Posted on: 9/30 22:53
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: @ Adoxa (and other hackers): The Player Ship indicator on Universe Map is bound within a region...
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Quote:

Gold_Sear wrote:

Moonhead - these are floats, not bytes. That is, 112000f looks in plain code as 00 C0 DA 47. Same for -112000, that looks like 00 C0 DA C7 in plain code, where the last bit is swapped to apply sign.

Thanks. In HexWorkshop, if I remember correctly, I could swap between floats and bytes (and other display methods) - but not in HxD unfortunately (or at least, I haven't figured out how to).

Could you give me the byte versions of 130000f and -130000f?

Posted on: 10/1 15:58
Open in new window
Top
Re: @ Adoxa (and other hackers): The Player Ship indicator on Universe Map is bound within a region...
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1909
Offline
Change the Single (float32) value in Data inspector (under View->Toolbars if you've turned it off).

Posted on: 10/2 6:23
Top
Re: @ Adoxa (and other hackers): The Player Ship indicator on Universe Map is bound within a region...
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
Change the Single (float32) value in Data inspector (under View->Toolbars if you've turned it off).


It turned out that I had an older version of HxD; I installed the new one and this one indeed has the Data inspector

I applied the hacks but unfortunately they don't work for me (I checked twice). My test system is at -1.7, 3.70, so it should work, according to WhiskasTM's description...


EDIT instead of changing said values to 112000/-112000, I changed them to 150000/-150000, and now it works

Thanks guys!

Posted on: 10/2 15:50
Open in new window
Top