Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
41 user(s) are online (21 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 41

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +4€
Donations (last month): +71€

Current balance: -25€
(last updated 09/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 88 users playing Freelancer on 38 servers.
September. 22, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   4 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 »


Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
9/9 0:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
Hi,
I installed Freelancer in the hopes of playing it again after many, many years.
Ofcourse I got the 3d card not recognised thing and tried everything I could find to fix it.
I added my graphics card to the list, started as admin, started in compatability mode for winXP SP3, put my screen resolution to 1024x768, installed the quickfix patch, 1.1 patch, jflp patch, and even reinstalled it in D:\Freelancer and still it does not work.

My specs are:
AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
16GB DDR4 1600MHz RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
WIndows 10 Pro

If theres any other info you need or if theres anything I did not try please tell me since I really want to play the game again.

Sincerely,
Shifumii

Posted on: 9/9 1:08
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 900
Offline
Is there a checkbox in the dialogue box that says to not check for the video card issue? If so, have you checked it?

I have a nVidia GTX 760 on an i7 3770K system and the only thing I've changed is running the program in compatibility mode for WinXP sp3. This is on a Win7Pro system.

No problems here.

Posted on: 9/9 3:04
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
9/9 0:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
I do not mean the box in the beginning, I meant the crash error you get after you start the game proper. I do not get the box in the beginning at all.

Posted on: 9/9 8:33
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/3/29 21:54
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 20
Offline
Try clearing out any saves that may be located inside of C:\Users\You\My Documents\My Games\Freelancer
If you're running Windows 10, make sure you've installed DirectPlay from Legacy components (Control Panel -> Turn Windows Feature On/Off)

Posted on: 9/9 10:23
Way too ambitious for his own good.
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
9/9 0:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
I've turned on DirectPlay, forgot to add that to the first post, and I have never played on this pc before so no save files, I even checked.

Posted on: 9/9 11:24
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 900
Offline
I wonder if you need to install an earlier version of DirectX...

Posted on: 9/10 2:45
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
2018/10/24 15:01
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 7
Offline
windows 10 try using that no cd patch

Posted on: 9/10 16:05
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
9/9 0:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
DId that, forgot to add to OP as well, sorry.
As for older versions of directx, Is there a way to get them witout having to get rid of my current version?

Posted on: 9/11 0:22
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Quite a regular
Joined:
2010/6/13 13:38
From Russia, Penza
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 141
Offline
Try to remove files from DATA/MOVIES

Posted on: 9/11 7:13
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
9/9 0:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
Tried removing MOVIES, doesn't seem to work.

Posted on: 9/11 10:24
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 900
Offline
Quote:

Shifumii wrote:
DId that, forgot to add to OP as well, sorry.
As for older versions of directx, Is there a way to get them witout having to get rid of my current version?


https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=34429

Should install alongside whatever version you have now.


Posted on: 9/12 2:21
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
9/9 0:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
I can't install it on win10 it seems
Open in new window

Posted on: 9/12 10:05
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/8/3 19:16
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 74
Offline

Posted on: 9/12 13:45
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just popping in
Joined:
9/9 0:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
Installed the DIrectX you linked, still doesn't seem to work.

Posted on: 9/12 14:43
Top
Re: Can't seem to figure out the problem, please help
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/9 17:45
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 327
Offline
I´m now trying to hunt down the Problem of yours... since we didn´t have any issues to run Freelancer on WIN 10-systems as long as you follow these steps:

1. Deinstall all previous installs of Freelancer.

If still existing:

2. Delete all remaining Files and Folders of the game-Location manually.

3. Delete "User/mydocuments/mygames/freelancer" folder.

4. (Maybe do a registry-clean with CCleaner or such)
After all this do a clean reboot of the PC.

From this point on MAKE SURE TO DO EVERY INSTALL AS ADMIN !!!

5. Do a clean "vanilla" install on a partition or drive which is NOT home of your OS !!!!!
AND try to install the DirectX-Version which comes with the original Copy of Freelancer (Theres a Folder on the CD)

(If prompted do a reboot after that.)

6. Install the OFFICIAL Patch of MS called 1.1 (although this doesnt change the version number to 1.1 it fixes some major bugs regarding account-creation and such)

7. Make sure to enable the Win-system-features "DirectPlay" AND "NET.Framework 3.5" (Install it if missing)

8. Replace "Freelancer.exe" with the NO-CD-Patch Version.

9. Make sure that no Anti-Virus or Firewall is blocking or deleting any Game-Content/Files or functions.

10. Try to start the game AS IS (no compatibilty-mode but AS ADMIN) and see how far you can get.

Please report in after that and we can try something else... (just for testing purposes)


Greetings

J.R.

Posted on: 9/12 15:52
ENIGMA V.4 ATG HOMEPAGE/FORUM
Top
(1) 2 »