Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
40 user(s) are online (24 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 40

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +225€

Current balance: +35€
(last updated 01/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 35 users playing Freelancer on 30 servers.
January. 22, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 2 3 (4)


Re: Request: an easier way to implement paths (no idea whether this is even possible)
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 922
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
[...]

you would end up with a file (or maybe stdout or clipboard) containing the proper Freelancer zones/objects.

That'd certainly be nice!!

However, attack patrols aimed at trade lanes, can imho only be made after the trade lane rings are already in place, because it seems like they need to be aimed at an individual trade lane ring to trigger the "lane interrupted" event.

So, to me it makes sense to first create the physical setup of a System, including trade lanes, and only then generate the paths.

Posted on: 12/9 10:55
Top
Re: Request: an easier way to implement paths (no idea whether this is even possible)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1884
Offline
Here's the first version of Tracks, a program to generate complete FL definitions of trade lanes and patrol (or trade) paths given abridged definitions. For example, this will generate the first trade lane found in Li01.ini:

Code:
[Settings]
system = Li01
reputation = li_p_grp
loadout = trade_lane_ring_li_01

[TradeLane]
number = 16  ; nickname number, not number of rings
first = 3628, 0, -52369, 196776
last = -11163, 0, -78469, 261658
zone = 839, 3  ; size (both width & height) and nickname number
sort = 14
toughness = 1
density = 6
...


and this will generate a patrol path found in Br01.ini:

Code:
[Settings]
system = Br01

[Path]
name = molleys, 7
pos = -71115, 0, 27545
pos = -52152, 0, 9177, return
pos = -40132, 0, 12130, return
pos = 7661, 0, 26736
pos = -9684, 0, 46240
tradelane_attack = 10
pos = -40162, 0, 12415
tradelane_attack = 10
sort = 99
toughness = 7
density = 3
...


There's a readme.txt that describes the format; hopefully that's sufficient documentation, along with the program's own help.

Current limitations:

  1. it's 2D - Y is ignored (could do with examples if this is desired);

  2. there's no provision for individual trade lane rings having a different loadout;

  3. only writes to file (options for stdout or clipboard shouldn't be a problem);

  4. it's intended that a single file has a single system, but could add extra housekeeping if you'd like multiple systems in a single file.

Attach file:


zip tracks.zip Size: 32.55 KB; Hits: 24

Posted on: 12/14 3:28
Top
Re: Request: an easier way to implement paths (no idea whether this is even possible)
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 922
Offline
Great work Adoxa! It looks very promising!

A few questions though:

  1. First of all: how to even use this? When I double-click tracks.exe, it opens and closes within a tenth of the blink of an eye, where I had expected to be asked for a specific text file, or maybe a text interface, or otherwise a dialog to point to the proper directory.
     

  2. Second: when you say that lane_id, tradelane_down and attack_ids are not used, do you mean not at all, not ever, in vanilla? Or, by tracks.exe (implying that one has to manually add these after the code is generated)?
     

  3. Btw I presume (but never gave it much consideration actually) that tradelane_attack = is a 1-divided-by-value (meaning that the smaller the number, the bigger the chance) rather than a percentage-ish-type value (meaning: the higher the value, the bigger the chance). Do you know how this is treated?

Posted on: 12/14 17:54
Open in new window
Top
Re: Request: an easier way to implement paths (no idea whether this is even possible)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1884
Offline
1. It's a console program, so ideally you'd run it from Command Prompt. Running it from Explorer should display the help and wait for a key (it does for me on 7). Drop a file on it (say tracks.ini), it'll open & close, and you should end up with the output file (tracks-fl.ini). ... Ah, in testing on 10 I realized I forgot to mention that it expects Freelancer to be installed (I use its ini-reading code). If that's not the case copy common.dll dacom.dll dalib.dll zlib.dll to subdirectory EXE (or point HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\1.0\AppPath to where you installed FL).

2. Not at all - Freelancer does not read them (same with difficulty_level and pilot in [Object]s).

3. I know it's apparently treated as a percentage (the value is divided by 100), so presumably higher means more likely.


With regards my point 4: I need to do that anyway, as it should work with multiple files. And with point 3: I'll test if output is redirected and send it there if so; piping to clip will then put it on the clipboard.

Posted on: 12/15 6:44
Top
Re: Request: an easier way to implement paths (no idea whether this is even possible)
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 922
Offline
I can only write a very short reply because my time is pressed!

Quote:

adoxa wrote:
1. It's a console program, so ideally you'd run it from Command Prompt. Running it from Explorer should display the help and wait for a key (it does for me on 7). Drop a file on it (say tracks.ini), it'll open & close, and you should end up with the output file (tracks-fl.ini). ... Ah, in testing on 10 I realized I forgot to mention that it expects Freelancer to be installed (I use its ini-reading code). If that's not the case copy common.dll dacom.dll dalib.dll zlib.dll to subdirectory EXE (or point HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\1.0\AppPath to where you installed FL).

Hmm... I'd prefer to point it to my mod, instead of Freelancer directly, also because at some point I have multiple installations of Freelancer. (Btw I haven't installed Freelancer from an installation disk for years, naybe well over a decade. So, how could there be a register entry for it?)

About tracks.exe: I imagine a GUI like your XML->UTF tool would be excellent: in XML->UTF the user can enter an input and an output folder (and it also helps with my, admittedly irrational, aversion against console programs). But I have no idea how this would complicate your task, and/or how much work that would be.

Gotta run!

Posted on: 12/15 10:01
Open in new window
Top
Re: Request: an easier way to implement paths (no idea whether this is even possible)
Quite a regular
Joined:
2010/6/13 13:38
From Russia, Penza
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 114
Offline
That's working, thank you, Adoxa!

GUI is not matter for me.

> create points in mod studio
> put into tracks file
> get your ini data
> profit

Open in new window

I made it yesterday.

Posted on: 12/17 13:25
Top
Re: Request: an easier way to implement paths (no idea whether this is even possible)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1884
Offline
A minor update is now available on my site: settings are reset for each file, but I've decided to leave them be within a file; redirected output is detected, writing there instead of to file; fixed the flashing window if the DLL couldn't be loaded.

Posted on: 12/22 1:33
Top
« 1 2 3 (4)