Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
36 user(s) are online (17 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 35

w0dk4, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: -100€
(last updated 07/2018)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 40 users playing Freelancer on 29 servers.
July. 18, 2018

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/4/29 10:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Hi there everyone,

I've just reinstalled the game on Windows 10, and after installing the official 1.1 patch and the noIPV6 patch, I've found that patrol paths do not display properly while playing a multiplayer LAN game. Only neutral patrol paths show up, no friendly or hostile ones. Same for political zones.

Can anyone assist?

Thanks

Posted on: 5/5 9:09
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 175
Offline
None of what you've added would have any effect on the patrol paths as the system ini files are not altered by the patches. I'm assuming you've tried the buttons on the navmap? Try adoxa's jflp patch which tidies up the ini code for you and fixes a bunch of stuff. May help with your issue

http://adoxa.altervista.org/freelancer/

Posted on: 5/5 16:27
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly

Joined:
2017/3/1 17:22
From Bavaria
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 30
Offline
This functionality only works in single player, the Freelancer developers have disabled it for multiplayer. Maybe JFLP enables it again, but I don't know.
What I do know is that adoxa found a way to enable it.

Posted on: 5/6 18:54
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 175
Offline
Well i can confirm it does work in mp, but then i do have jflp installed

Posted on: 5/6 19:28
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1839
Offline
It's MPRep that enables it.

Posted on: 5/7 6:10
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/4/29 10:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Thanks all, much appreciated. I was expecting to wait for a wee while before hearing back, so I appreciate the quick response also!.

That makes a lot of sense. I figured out that MS had disabled it in multiplayer, and felt a bit of a fool

My only issue now - the .ini appears to be scrambled. I'm fairly competent with computers, but can I have step by step instructions to install MPRep?

Thanks

Posted on: 5/7 11:36
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 175
Offline
Apply the jflp patch which as i've mentioned has a load of fixes. By product is you get all the ini files in a readable format, use notepad or whatever suits. Download from the same site the MPRep file and follow the instructions, it really is easy as pie. I forgot i even had it in my mod which is why i originally thought the jflp patch fixed it, but that has a number of other uses as well, so best to install that over a fresh FL install anyway

Posted on: 5/7 11:42
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/4/29 10:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
I'm of the opinion that, as I don't know what else the JFLP does, and don't actually need its functionality, that I'd rather not install it at this point of time.

@Adoxa in this process I somehow generated a new FL account ID, and obviously the old FL account ID available from the server doesn't save the last 4 digits. However I have the old file. Can I use your FLCodec to retrieve the account ID, and if so, how?

Posted on: 5/7 13:47
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1839
Offline
Quote:
StormingKiwi wrote:
I'm of the opinion that, as I don't know what else the JFLP does, and don't actually need its functionality, that I'd rather not install it at this point of time.

JFLP is the best option if you want widescreen support (Freelancer actively restricts to 4:3).

Quote:
@Adoxa in this process I somehow generated a new FL account ID, and obviously the old FL account ID available from the server doesn't save the last 4 digits. However I have the old file. Can I use your FLCodec to retrieve the account ID, and if so, how?

No, FLCodec is only for save games.

Posted on: 5/7 15:49
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 871
Offline
What does MPRep show you precisely? I installed it and a quick view at the navmap in NY doesn't show anything different.


Posted on: 5/9 1:37
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 175
Offline
Assuming you were in MP, it shows the patrol paths in different colours, red for enemy, white for neutral, green for friendly. You have to click on the patrol icon first, then the other three to see the different colours

Posted on: 5/9 6:47
Top
Re: Patrol Paths not displaying properly
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 871
Offline
LOL, I'm an idiot...
I was using a character that had a neutral rep. So, they all looked neutral to me.

Used a different character and it works as advertised.

All Hail the Mighty Adoxa (again)!!

Posted on: 5/10 4:34
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top