Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
52 user(s) are online (31 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 52

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: -100€
(last updated 09/2018)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 87 users playing Freelancer on 33 servers.
September. 24, 2018

Browsing this Thread:   3 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
3/10 0:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 5
Offline
Hey everyone.

I recently bought a copy of Freelancer from ebay and want to play!
I tried to find it on GOG and it wasnt there,
bought a lot of wing commander while I was there though...

Either way the game does not run. I bought a new Alien A7 computer and it
has windows 10.

I tried downloading the no-cd thing and all I get are error messages:
common.dll was not found, dalib.dll was not found, movie.dll was not found,
dacom.dll was not found.

I checked to see if direct play was on and it is.
When i try to launch the game it doesnt do anything. It installs
fine though.

Help!!!!

Thankyou

Peter

Posted on: 3/10 0:05
Top
Re: Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
3/10 0:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 5
Offline
I also tried installing it in a different place. Not program x86. No change.

Can anyone help me please?

Posted on: 3/13 1:25
Top
Re: Windows 10
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 180
Offline
Have you tried running it with administrator privileges?

Posted on: 3/13 7:00
Top
Re: Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
3/10 0:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 5
Offline
Quote:

Dromedary wrote:
Have you tried running it with administrator privileges?


Yes, that's the only way I run my computer.

Posted on: 3/14 0:43
Top
Re: Windows 10
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 178
Offline
can you check if these files are actually in the freelancer\exe folder?

Posted on: 3/14 9:21
Top
Re: Windows 10
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2017/3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 86
Offline
Looks very much like the location you are running Freelancer.exe from doesn't have its corresponding files with it, which are the ones it claims are missing.

Try installing again, as administrator. Rather than just running the game as administrator - it doesn't sound like it has placed all the necessary files.

You may just need to navigate into the CD folders and find the setup.exe, and run that as administrator.

That may solve your initial issue.
But you will need the NO-CD as W10 doesn't support the way that Freelancer checks it's CD to see if it is in the drive.

Posted on: 3/14 16:47
Top
Re: Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
3/10 0:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 5
Offline
Quote:

Bolte wrote:
Looks very much like the location you are running Freelancer.exe from doesn't have its corresponding files with it, which are the ones it claims are missing.

Try installing again, as administrator. Rather than just running the game as administrator - it doesn't sound like it has placed all the necessary files.

You may just need to navigate into the CD folders and find the setup.exe, and run that as administrator.

That may solve your initial issue.
But you will need the NO-CD as W10 doesn't support the way that Freelancer checks it's CD to see if it is in the drive.


The only account I have on my computer is the Administrator. I don't have any others. Where do I put the No-CD thing? Like where do I move the shortcut? Its on the desktop but I get a warning that says this:

common.dll was not found, dalib.dll was not found, movie.dll was not found,
dacom.dll was not found.

Posted on: 3/15 1:34
Top
Re: Windows 10
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2013/9/19 20:09
From Carbondale, IL
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 212
Offline
Usually the "no cd thing" replaces freelancer's exe file.
Follow most of the clues on this thread and you should get it up and running eventually.

edit: Also load the updates since it's fresh off the disc: THEN add the no cd exe file.

Posted on: 3/15 11:35
Inter Arma Enem Silent Leges
Top
Re: Windows 10
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2017/3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 86
Offline
Quote:

viperpete wrote:
Quote:

Bolte wrote:
Looks very much like the location you are running Freelancer.exe from doesn't have its corresponding files with it, which are the ones it claims are missing.

Try installing again, as administrator. Rather than just running the game as administrator - it doesn't sound like it has placed all the necessary files.

You may just need to navigate into the CD folders and find the setup.exe, and run that as administrator.

That may solve your initial issue.
But you will need the NO-CD as W10 doesn't support the way that Freelancer checks it's CD to see if it is in the drive.


The only account I have on my computer is the Administrator. I don't have any others. Where do I put the No-CD thing? Like where do I move the shortcut? Its on the desktop but I get a warning that says this:

common.dll was not found, dalib.dll was not found, movie.dll was not found,
dacom.dll was not found.


You are running the Freelancer.exe from your desktop? That's not where you run it from. It needs to be run from the location where all the rest of the files are.

Usually C:/Program Files (x86)/Microsoft Games/Freelancer/EXE/
You replace the original Freelancer.exe with the NO-CD version and then run the game from the usual installed shortcut.

Posted on: 3/15 12:28
Top
Re: Windows 10
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 180
Offline
@ Bolte

Not on Windows 10, best to install it in any other directory than the default. I've had nothing but aggravation if i use the default path, install it anywhere else, no issues

Posted on: 3/15 17:44
Top
Re: Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
3/15 6:56
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 7
Offline
Can we download Freelancer online?

Posted on: 3/16 1:00
Top
Re: Windows 10
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2017/3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 86
Offline
Quote:

Dromedary wrote:
@ Bolte

Not on Windows 10, best to install it in any other directory than the default. I've had nothing but aggravation if i use the default path, install it anywhere else, no issues


I am using Windows 10...
And yes, sometimes it can cause issues when manipulating files in certain directories. Most of that can be solved by running as Administrator though.

Posted on: 3/17 9:15
Top
Re: Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
3/10 0:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 5
Offline
Yup that worked. Moved the NO-CD.exe and replaced the original shortcut and the game booted up perfect. haven't flown a mission yet but everything seems great.

Thanks so much for your help.

So there are some patches? What do they do exactly?

Posted on: 3/20 1:56
Top
Re: Windows 10
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 180
Offline
Personally i'd apply the jflp patch which adds widescreen support amongst other things. If you want to do multiplayer then the official 1.1 patch is a must

Posted on: 3/20 6:08
Top
Re: Windows 10
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2017/3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 86
Offline
Generally for me it's install game, then 1.1, then JFLP, then I add in the various little file fixes cos I'm never sure which ones are included in JFLP. You know the zlib, mp3codec, no-cd etc.

Posted on: 3/23 7:19
Top