Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
33 user(s) are online (17 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 33

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +50€

Current balance: -70€
(last updated 05/2018)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 81 users playing Freelancer on 30 servers.
June. 25, 2018

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2)


Re: Server not seen on global server
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 871
Offline
It showed up briefly but when I attempted to connect I got that wait for it dialogue and then got dropped due to unable to make connection to server.

After refreshing the list the server no longer appears.

Posted on: 2017/11/5 2:36
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 871
Offline
Problem appears to be resolved.

Thanks W0dk4.

Posted on: 2017/11/6 0:42
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/20 0:27
From Russia, GMT+4
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
Hey everyone, long time, no see

So our (very mildly alive) server has moved to a different address and that's when i noticed that GLS is still down?

http://www.flserver.de/add_server.php is also not working, tried adding both fl.elite-games.ru and 195.42.181.130.

Posted on: 1/11 7:02
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 168
Offline
GLS is up, shows up fine for me. Our server is showing ok, and so are all the others. You sure your IP isn't blocked by a router or firewall?

Posted on: 1/11 18:19
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/20 0:27
From Russia, GMT+4
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
No connection from either server or client for me.
The server is hosted in a datacenter in another city too so the only common thing between it and my client are Russian IPs. Could those be blocked on GLS's side by any chance? Because i don't see another reason why it would be inaccessible.

Posted on: 1/12 16:00
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 168
Offline
Can't see a reason why GLS would block it. It's more likely a router issue as i said. I sorted my own server out not long ago, and i had issues connecting to it, to find it was my isp's router blocking it it. Once i turned that into a bridge and used my own router behind it by creating a static ip, all was well. What operating system you using? Do you have Adoxa's exe hack for FL barring ipv6 searches?

Posted on: 1/12 17:48
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/20 0:27
From Russia, GMT+4
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
I'm certain it's not the router or anything on my end. I have three very different machines in very different locations all unable to reach UDP port 2300 for gun.fllistserver.com.

This is on my work Linux machine:
Code:
Endeavour ~ # nping --udp -p 2300 gun.fllistserver.com

Starting Nping 0.7.01 ( https://nmap.org/nping ) at 2018-01-13 08:25 MSK
SENT (0.0378s) UDP 10.*.*.*:53 > 5.9.69.107:2300 ttl=64 id=12481 iplen=28
RCVD (0.2234s) ICMP [5.9.69.107 > 10.*.*.* Port unreachable (type=3/code=3) ] IP [ttl=50 id=54616 iplen=56 ]


This is on my home machine (Windows 8.1 IPv6 disabled) trying to connect with FL itself:
https://bsox.s3.amazonaws.com/ShareX/2 ... 1/2018-01-13_08-30-52.png

My server is colocated in a proper datacenter in a different city, so while i didn't run wireshark on it, i'm pretty sure the problem isn't there or in its (datacenters) routers.

The only, and i mean only, common thing between these three is that they're all located in Russia. I could try making an Amazon EC2 instance and trying from there but i think i gathered enough info already.

Posted on: 1/13 5:38
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 168
Offline
Based on that info, looks like things are fine on your end, especially the 8.1 machine. I mean that shows your internal IP and external which if the router wasn't configured properly would show another internal port.

I just find it odd that Russian IP's would be banned. I don't see how GLS would do that. I mean if i want to ban anyone i do it through the FL server software i use called Flac, could do it on the router as well if i wanted. GLS doesn't stop those IP's from coming in, I stop them. Has to be another explanation

Posted on: 1/13 8:14
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3505
Offline
Not really. Starport has been attacked repeatedly over the years by very specific IP ranges and we've been tempted to block Russian and Chinese IPs since that would've nixed 99% of them. We ended up not doing it and getting some DDoS protection, but I don't know if Crazy could actually implement that with the GLS since it's not just a website.

It's possible IP ranges have been banned on the GLS because of that. You'll have to hope Crazy sees this and answers you.

Posted on: 1/13 14:52
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1739
Offline
Guys, the GLS has been down since "Last Global Server Contact: 10/1/2017 4:20:14 AM CE(S)T"

--> http://www.flserver.de/topservers.htm

I tested the ip on the-starport.net and it seems reachable. I re-added your server via http://www.flserver.de/add_server.php

Let's see if it gets picked up. Maybe you added the server while it was offline - in this case, the server does not get added to the database.

Posted on: 1/15 12:19
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1739
Offline
Alright, I think I found a bug in my script. Since your server changed IP but was still with the old IP in the last global server update file, it never tried the new IP when added via the website.

It's fixed now and should be in the list!

Posted on: 1/16 2:52
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/20 0:27
From Russia, GMT+4
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
Thanks! <3
Shame the GLS didn't recover but at least the workaround is still going

Posted on: 1/16 16:44
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/9/11 15:55
From Somewhere at Moscow
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1699
Offline
@w0dk4 an addition!

So our angry gov blocked some ip ranges
Even apolitic sites like discoverygc.com and freelancerserver.de are blocked

Result of GLS Workaround: html redirect instead of ip list at the gls_workaround.txt

Sooo...

Quickfix is replace:

Code:
[Settings]
ListServerHostname=gun.fllistserver.com
ServerListURL=http://freelancerserver.de/serverips.txt



Code:
[Settings]
ListServerHostname=gun.fllistserver.com
ServerListURL=http://www.flserver.de/serverips.txt


Idea is... If you want and have time to make new GLS version with mirrors, ex:

Code:
[Settings]
ListServerHostname1=gun.fllistserver.com
ListServerHostname2=
ListServerHostname3=
ServerListURL1=http://freelancerserver.de/serverips.txt
ServerListURL2=http://www.flserver.de/serverips.txt
ServerListURL3=

Posted on: 5/26 22:09
Open Sirius Mod
Top
Re: Server not seen on global server
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3505
Offline
Oh man, I feel bad for you guys... Maybe we could also add a subdomain to Starport aliasing the workaround URL as further backup.

I like the idea of mirrors, don't know if w0d has the time to work on that though.

Posted on: 5/27 1:05
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
« 1 (2)