Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
35 user(s) are online (17 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 35

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -35€
(last updated 05/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 60 users playing Freelancer on 43 servers.
June. 18, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Lan Server Problems
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/5/14 20:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Hi, I know this is a much touched upon subject, but I cannot get a private LAN server to work.

I can create one which shows up on the server list but I cannot connect to it. Each time I get a message displaying something along the lines of "The action is taking longer than expected" but nothing happens after that.
I have disabled Ipv6 in favour of Ivp4 but still nothing. I would rather not disable my firewall, as my dad would flip out and behead me.
If this helps, I have Windows10.
Cheers for any help.

Posted on: 2017/5/14 20:53
Top
Re: Lan Server Problems
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3517
Offline
Since you can see it, does the address look like a regular IPv4 address (XX.XX.XX.XX) or something else?

Assuming that it does, the other thing to look at would be to add a firewall exception on your computer for FLServer. This should be fairly simple if you're using Windows' built-in firewall.

Posted on: 2017/5/15 7:57
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Lan Server Problems
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/5/14 20:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Okay, I found a weird problem. I downloaded a programme from Microsoft to disable IPv6 in preference to IPv4 but it doesn't actually do what it is supposed to do. I still have the old IPv6 address.
I tried the firewall, only to find Freelancer already has the exception of bypassing the firewall.
Is there something I am missing, such as a vital step in the disabling process?

Posted on: 2017/5/15 16:29
Top
Re: Lan Server Problems
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1905
Offline
There's a patch for Freelancer.exe to prevent IPv6 addresses from being used.

Posted on: 2017/5/16 2:03
Top
Re: Lan Server Problems
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/5/14 20:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Just so I am not getting my wires crossed, would this be the same .exe file you use to replace a non-functional Freelancer.exe file? If not, where can I find it?

Posted on: 2017/5/18 15:42
Top
Re: Lan Server Problems
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1905
Offline
Yes, same exe.

Posted on: 2017/5/19 3:18
Top
Re: Lan Server Problems
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/5/14 20:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
No that didn't work. The server still shows, along with the IPv6 address. Why, I am not sure.
Could some one maybe walk me through how they disabled IPv6? Because everything I have tried so far hasn't worked, so maybe I am doing something wrong without knowing?

Thanks for the help.

Posted on: 2017/5/24 21:06
Top
Re: Lan Server Problems
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/12/6 22:34
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 1
Offline
Don't know if you are still trying or have found a solution but I was having similar problems. I found out that I had to open windows firewall and use the Advanced settings to enter an exception for the server using the actual port numbers and not just the FLserver.exe. you can google it to find the process.

Posted on: 2018/4/25 19:16
Top