Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
39 user(s) are online (25 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 39

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +110€

Current balance: -105€
(last updated 02/2018)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 43 users playing Freelancer on 37 servers.
February. 23, 2018

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



CMP Importing Help
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/2/27 2:39
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Hello all!

My name is Sam, and I'm a programmer who currently is working on space projects in the Unity 3D game development area (For school).

I have been a life long fan of Freelancer and I really wanted to use some of Freelancers models in a custom game for a project, but I am having issues with Milkshape 3D unfortunately.

The program crashes everytime I attempt to import a cmp, and I have found no viable fixes for this yet. I've been at this for about 2 weeks now and can't figure it out.

I was wondering if anyone could lend me a hand in converting some ship models so I can get them to 3ds max with textures, and from there I can get them into Unity myself.

Is there anyway to circumvent Milkshape for this process?

Thanks again for anyone you can lend a hand or advice.

Sam.

**EDIT: Milkshape is bust for both my computer and Laptop unfortunately, it just doesn't stop crashing, could be Windows 10, video card, any number of reasons


=============================

**EDIT -> Proud to say I got it to work! Used a virtual machine for Windows XP that works on my system! Hooray!

Posted on: 2017/2/27 2:45

Edited by joeythelantern on 2017/2/28 4:13:23
Top
Re: CMP Importing Help
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/2/17 20:45
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 468
Offline
If it really doesn't work, just list all models you need and I'll do it.

Posted on: 2017/2/27 11:57
How to create .SUR files - Tutorial
Top
Re: CMP Importing Help
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/2/27 2:39
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Quote:

Skotty. wrote:
If it really doesn't work, just list all models you need and I'll do it.


I appreciate that. I am going to attempt one more fix. Appparently there are a lot of compatibility issues with windows 10 just not working. I'm going to attempt to Virtual Machine it from Windows 7 and see if that works, I'll know by the end of the day

If not, I'll shoot you a message. Thanks again.

Posted on: 2017/2/27 14:23
Top
Re: CMP Importing Help
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/2/27 2:39
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Quote:

joeythelantern wrote:
Quote:

Skotty. wrote:
If it really doesn't work, just list all models you need and I'll do it.


I appreciate that. I am going to attempt one more fix. Appparently there are a lot of compatibility issues with windows 10 just not working. I'm going to attempt to Virtual Machine it from Windows 7 and see if that works, I'll know by the end of the day

If not, I'll shoot you a message. Thanks again.


Annndd my computer doesn't support virtualization. gg lol

Posted on: 2017/2/27 19:30
Top
Re: CMP Importing Help
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/2/27 2:39
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Proud to say I got it to work! Used a virtual machine for Windows XP that works on my system! Hooray!

Posted on: 2017/2/28 4:12
Top
Re: CMP Importing Help
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2013/9/19 20:09
From Carbondale, IL
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 182
Offline
Under the heading of a day late:

Some people (------) created a game for google play called Interstellar Pilot using the unity engine that went so far as to rip off not only Freelancer but X3 to boot.

Think all the fun you have when all the ships in the game can only move on one plane? No up or down. (Loud raspberry). Unity, great for android smartphones, which is probably why you'll never see Microsoft making an android release of Freelancer even if this smartphone I'm using now has 4X the power and twice the memory of the PC I first loaded FL on in 2004!

Posted on: 1/14 2:27
Top
Re: CMP Importing Help
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2013/9/19 20:09
From Carbondale, IL
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 182
Offline
Speaking of CMP importing help, I've ran into having to revert to 3DSMax 2009 64bit and need the MS3D IMPORT-EXPORT .dle and more importantly the CMP and MAT exporters. The need for these dinosaurs is that this version has some killer pro tools filters and such and as. Any MAX users know, one years filters won't work in an older years build. Or sometimes newer builds. (Loud Sigh). If anyone has these in their closet I'd appreciate them.

Posted on: 1/15 14:23
Inter Arma Enem Silent Leges
Top