Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
53 user(s) are online (17 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 53

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +10€

Current balance: -300€
(last updated 11/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 84 users playing Freelancer on 31 servers.
December. 12, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2)


Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Quote:

dRaiser wrote:
Hi, thanks for excellent modification. Works almost fine for me, but I'm using it with Jason's Freelancer Patch for widescreen resolution and have a ugly black box with random (debug?) characters on the right side of screen. Is there some way to fix it? thanks!

Screen: http://draiser.net/gfx/screen2-low.jpg
I'm more worried about the font. Does Freelancer use its usual font in-game for you?
It should look like this:
http://www.fontriver.com/i/fonts/agency_fb/agency_fb_specimen.jpg

Posted on: 2015/1/19 19:04
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
New version is in the first post.

Highlights of this release:
- Converter.exe now uses all of your CPU cores for MP3 decoding, resulting in a massive speedup.
- Configuration! You can disable, resize, move, and customize the font inside each text area. Check out subtitles.cfg and don't forget to rerun Converter to apply your changes made to it.
- Subtitles.dat is no more (you can delete yours if you have one), and has been replaced with flsd.dat and flsc.dat. These have a binary format which is no longer documented. Don't forget to rerun Converter after you update to generate these.
- Because of this change, the admittedly weird restriction is gone from dynamic subtitles and they can now contain colons.
- I've made captions for about half of King's lines spoken in-game (in the order they appear in king.utf, so I have stuff from the beginning of the game as well as some lines mentioning Nomads). Some of them are just radio spam he says during combat; I'll have to do something with those, as right now they're kind of annoying.

Posted on: 2015/2/1 17:08
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/10/3 6:01
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 72
Offline
By the way, this totally rocks. I've long wanted subtitles for the game because I don't understand half the dialog (especially the important stuff with the Dom Kavosh :| ).

Posted on: 2015/2/13 9:06
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/1/2 11:46
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
I'll test this in few days. I'm actually not sure if it's standard Freelancer font because I started playing for the 1st time with your mod.

Posted on: 2015/2/16 22:15
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Quote:

dRaiser wrote:
I'll test this in few days. I'm actually not sure if it's standard Freelancer font because I started playing for the 1st time with your mod.


Do you see text in menus (for instance, the options menu)?

Posted on: 2015/2/18 18:43
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/2/22 13:50
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2
Offline
Hi Lorash!

Thanks for your mod! My English is weak, and I can read text slightly better, than what I hear.

But unfortunatelly I can't try this mod, because I use this: enb 036
Beacuse I need DirectX9 of RadeonPro (to vsync control), and your mod use different d3d8.dll.

Thanks!

Posted on: 2015/2/22 13:58
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/2/20 15:40
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2
Offline
Hi Lorash!
I am an Italian user, and I appreciate very much your work.

two things:
1) I had to change the dpi from 96.0 in 1.0 in subtitles.cfg to see subtitles
2) the subtitle "Static TextArea" are seen, but no "Dynamic TextArea". I do not understand why.

thanks again

Posted on: 2015/2/22 22:53
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/2/22 13:50
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2
Offline
I try this mod... the result (converter.exe):

" ": translated from my language

"unhadled exception": System.FormatException: "Invalid input charstring format"
System.Number.ParseSingle(String value, NumberStyles options, NumberFormatInfo numfmt)
c.a(ocument A_0, BinaryWriter A_1)
c.a(Stream A_0, Stream A_1)
Converter.Program.Main(String[] args)

Posted on: 2015/2/24 15:33
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Danko78, Totya: I think your language doesn't use . as the decimal separator. I've fixed that, this Converter.exe should to the trick for you.

Attach file:


zip Converter.zip Size: 11.24 KB; Hits: 250

Posted on: 2015/2/28 9:59
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/2/20 15:40
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 2
Offline
the last file does not work .... but if I use the "first" converter with the command prompt dos, he works perfectly.... :d
anyway thanks a lot

Posted on: 2015/3/4 13:12
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Is there any data I could get from the game files regarding the "automated speech" you often get when landing for instance? I'd like to know the possible patterns the game could use when stitching together sound clips to form a complete sentence.

For example, "Acknowledged."+"Your request to"+"dock"+"is granted."+"Proceed"+"to dock"+"two" is a valid sentence, but it's impossible to get "two" right after "Your request to".

Posted on: 2015/3/17 17:20
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1813
Offline
The landing/docking sequence is not from the game files, but content.dll (function at 0x6ED74D0 in 1.1). The example above is: gcs_misc_ack + gcs_dockrequest_yourrequest+ + gcs_dockrequest_todock + gcs_dockrequest_granted + gcs_dockrequest_proceed + gcs_dockrequest_todock_number + gcs_misc_numberN-. If you have access to the nicknames (maybe hook GetNicknameId), you could look for a trailing + and combine it with everything until a trailing -.

Posted on: 2015/3/18 8:48
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
Thank you!

Posted on: 2015/4/24 10:44
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
No updates, just wanted to keep you posted on current developments. Right now I'm in the middle of a minor revamp of text rendering.

All the versions I've posted here so far assemble the final subtitle text comprising multiple lines by essentially adding a line break and redrawing the entire text (while trying to be smart about it) based on what audio sources are currently active (or in the case of dynamic captions, changing text while audio is playing).

This has two drawbacks: firstly, this can cause rapid transitions when a new line of text starts before the previous one ends. This can be observed in the first Manhattan bar scene after Trent rather politely joins Juni's conversation. While this could be hidden by cutting short or delaying certain captions, it's not ideal, so I'm looking to make each line's position fixed for their lifetimes. This has some quirks to work out, like what happens if you have a three-line text area with the middle line occupied and a large two-liner caption is about to appear.

The second drawback is that this setup makes it hard to assign multiple audio sources to the same line (which is exactly what happens when you're being hailed), or one audio source to multiple lines at the same time (as long as they're not overlapping, which is exactly what dynamic captions were doing). I was trying to implement some kind of hand-over, whereby these audio chunks would contribute text to a special 0th line reserved for this, but this ended up being too hacky.

Posted on: 2015/5/11 17:33
Top
Re: Subtitles [WIP]
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/10 5:56
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 15
Offline
As you have no doubt noticed, development has pretty much ceased on the project due to reasons you probably don't care about.

Because of this, I've released the source under the GPL3, you can find it here: https://github.com/lcsondes/flsubs
It has been renamed in order to not infringe on Microsoft's trademarks. The captions are also not included there because as far as I know they're copyrighted by Microsoft.

Pull requests are welcome.

Posted on: 2016/7/12 20:13
Top
« 1 (2)