Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
64 user(s) are online (30 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 64

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +70€

Current balance: 85€
(last updated 02/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 38 users playing Freelancer on 40 servers.
February. 20, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Question about TCM starter pack
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/7/16 12:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 205
Offline
I'm currently using DwnUndr's TCM starter pack as a means to turn an old mod into a playable open single player version. (currently I can only get it t run on an old XP machine as the server isn't visible on my main Win 7 PC)

I've copied and pasted a lot of the old mod data and It's been going fairly well so far, the main issues relating to the initial world (nearly 40 additional factions) and changing the starting location/cash/ship ini.

The DATA\CHARACTERS\newcharacter.ini from the TCM is below

[Pilot]
nickname = trent
body = trent
comm = trent
voice = trent_voice
body.anim = Sc_MLBODY_STND_000LV_A_31
comm.anim = Sc_comm_body_unfold_female, Sc_headCOM
[Package]
nickname = li_freighter
strid_name = 11051
strid_desc = 11551
ship = li_freighter
loadout = MP_li_freighter
money = 400000
[Faction]
nickname = new_player
rep_group = co_ic_grp
base = AA01_01_base
Package = li_freighter
Pilot = trent

I've tried to change this several times editing cash and starting ship but no matter what the file is changed to the cash and starting ship remain as listed above.

Am I editing the wrong file? or is it something else?

Thx in advance


Posted on: 2014/1/30 17:57
Top
Re: Question about TCM starter pack
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/8/18 10:10
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 258
Offline
Hi CK256,
I used the same TCM, if my memory is right i edited the newplayer.fl in the exe file. I could be wrong, i don't have my mod files infront of me.
Hope ya get sorted, Khayman.

Posted on: 2014/1/30 18:12
Top
Re: Question about TCM starter pack
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/7/16 12:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 205
Offline
Thanks for the fast reply, I had looked there but the file still appears to be encoded (looks like gobbledegook to men anyway LOL).
I'll try swapping another version of the newplayer file and see what happens.

Thanks again

Posted on: 2014/1/30 18:16
Top
Re: Question about TCM starter pack
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/8/18 10:10
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 258
Offline
To look at whats in the .fl file and edit it, i think i used THIS. Good luck

Posted on: 2014/1/30 18:35
Top
Re: Question about TCM starter pack
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/7/16 12:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 205
Offline
Thanks that's a useful tool and it shows the TCM newplayer file does contain the base/cash/ship data and starting rep.
I edited the cash but it still had the same 400k in the activated game DOH!

Time for a beer I think!

Posted on: 2014/1/30 19:02
Top
Re: Question about TCM starter pack
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/17 19:44
From Virginia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 369
Offline
Three files actually, the two you now know about and mpnewcharacter.fl

Be sure you are deleting your Restart.fl in the accts\singleplayer folder before looking for changes.

Posted on: 2014/1/30 21:32
http://UnderVerse.us
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
Top
Re: Question about TCM starter pack
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/7/16 12:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 205
Offline
It looks like the Restart.fl was the problem, once I deleted it the changes in the other two files were applied in the activated game .

Thanks to everyone for all the help (and back to Notepad++ for me LOL)

Posted on: 2014/1/31 10:06
Top