Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
47 user(s) are online (30 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 47

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 46 users playing Freelancer on 48 servers.
August. 18, 2022

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



HardCMP Attach to:???
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/18 1:15
From Corellia
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 234
Offline
What does the Attach to: option do?

If you click the drop-down list button, you will see ROOT and a "name" where you can rename it.

What does Root & "name" mean?

I really don't know what is the purpose of it. Need some light for it...

T.Y.

Posted on: 2013/4/21 17:57
Top
Re: HardCMP Attach to:???
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/25 17:58
From On my way back
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
Posts: 364
Offline
Look at one of the vanilla fighters with HardCMP. The "attached to" menu is for multi-part models. You can assign hard points to those parts, anything attached to those HPs will be lost along with the destructible part.

Posted on: 2013/4/21 18:39
~Insert Cool Text Description Here~
Top
Re: HardCMP Attach to:???
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/18 1:15
From Corellia
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 234
Offline
thx for the reply ^_^

How about ROOT, what does it mean &/or purpose? My thought is that it is the main HP that can hold different HP or the source HP of them all. Correct me if I am wrong.

OR it is just all the same...even it is ROOT or any other "name", you will just assign them to a specific "group name" or "ROOT"...

Like for example: Root1 will be all laser weapons, Root2 = missile weapons & Root3 is components. When root2 is destroyed, it is the only group device that will lost and the other roots are not. Correct me again if I am wrong.... {-_-}

I just want to know how things should work and making sure my stuffs are fine and ready to jump to space. LOL

Posted on: 2013/4/21 20:02
Top
Re: HardCMP Attach to:???
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/25 18:56
From Temecula, California
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 284
Offline
Root is the base model that every other part is hung off of, or in a single part model, it is the whole thing. In Milkshape, these are defined as Groups when exporting the model. Root, when dealing with animations, is always stationary.

Posted on: 2013/4/23 9:50
Be always firm in belief, yet never rigid
Top
Re: HardCMP Attach to:???
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
Keep in mind, that if your ship's groups are offset from the origin through the cons nodes, the coordinate values of your hardpoint will be added linearly to the offset values.

Posted on: 2013/4/23 15:20
Top