Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
64 user(s) are online (50 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 64

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +165€

Current balance: 105€
(last updated 02/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 15 users playing Freelancer on 38 servers.
April. 14, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Confused face... - Fixing an error causes a server crash
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 953
Offline
I have the following lines in my mod. It makes sure that only the listed factions carry Bats and Bots instead of all factions. I had to do this in order to prevent Nomads from dropping Bats and Bots when killed during missions. Their dropping regens was a side-effect of adding missions against Nomads.

<data file="DATA\RANDOMMISSIONS\rmlootinfo.ini" method="sectionreplace" options="1:0, 1:1">
<section>
[RMBonusLoot]
archetype = ge_s_battery_01
</section>
<dest>
faction = all
</dest>
<source>
faction = br_m_grp, br_n_grp, br_p_grp, co_alg_grp, co_be_grp, co_hsp_grp, co_ic_grp, co_khc_grp, co_kt_grp, co_me_grp, co_ni_grp, co_nws_grp, co_os_grp, co_rs_grp, co_shi_grp, co_ss_grp, co_ti_grp, co_vr_grp, fc_b_grp, fc_bd_grp, fc_c_grp, fc_f_grp, fc_fa_grp, fc_g_grp, fc_gc_grp, fc_h_grp, fc_j_grp, fc_lh_grp, fc_lr_grp, fc_lwb_grp, fc_m_grp, fc_or_grp, fc_ou_grp, fc_rh_grp, fc_u_grp, fc_x_grp, gd_bh_grp, gd_gm_grp, gd_im_grp, gd_z_grp, ku_p_grp, li_n_grp, li_p_grp, rm_m_grp, rh_n_grp, rh_p_grp
</source>
</data>

and

<data file="DATA\RANDOMMISSIONS\rmlootinfo.ini" method="sectionreplace" options="1:0, 1:1">
<section>
[RMBonusLoot]
archetype = ge_s_repair_01
</section>
<dest>
faction = all
</dest>
<source>
faction = br_m_grp, br_n_grp, br_p_grp, co_alg_grp, co_be_grp, co_hsp_grp, co_ic_grp, co_khc_grp, co_kt_grp, co_me_grp, co_ni_grp, co_nws_grp, co_os_grp, co_rs_grp, co_shi_grp, co_ss_grp, co_ti_grp, co_vr_grp, fc_b_grp, fc_bd_grp, fc_c_grp, fc_f_grp, fc_fa_grp, fc_g_grp, fc_gc_grp, fc_h_grp, fc_j_grp, fc_lh_grp, fc_lr_grp, fc_lwb_grp, fc_m_grp, fc_or_grp, fc_ou_grp, fc_rh_grp, fc_u_grp, fc_x_grp, gd_bh_grp, gd_gm_grp, gd_im_grp, gd_z_grp, ku_p_grp, li_n_grp, li_p_grp, rm_m_grp, rh_n_grp, rh_p_grp
</source>
</data>

Note that the entry for Kruger Minerals is incorrectly entered as rm_m_grp instead of rh_m_grp. This has been this way since July and I recently caught it and corrected it for an upcoming update. There have been no problems noted with this error.

Now that I've updated this correction, a player docking on Planet Toledo in Omicron Minor (or any of my added systems) generates a
.\HookFunctions.cpp(1840): ***ERROR: Exception in Hook_BaseEnter (unhandled exception) error.

When the player attempts to launch, the server crashes. No notes are captured in the fl-server-errors.log file to indicate what the problem might be.

This appears to be the only change in the mod. The mod works fine until I change that entry in rmlootinfo.ini

One would think that correcting the line to reflect the correct faction would at the least not introduce any issues.

Any suggestions why this is happening? It does not seem to happen when docking at New Berlin or any other vanilla systems.




Posted on: 2011/11/14 17:15
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Confused face... - Fixing an error causes a server crash
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/8/14 5:45
From Fusion's Forge and Factory, Valdez UV
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 105
Offline
ini coding is not my thing, but the first thing that comes to me would be to check the spelling on the faction group(s) that belong to the base(s) in question. Presuming that you had copy/pasted the typo in the other base/system ini entries, as you posted above, that might explain the error. Have you run the FL error checker program to see if it can explain this problem? I could be way off, but it's an idea and a suggestion on how to correct.

Fus

Posted on: 2011/11/14 19:48
Proud Member of Team [RIP] www.ripteam.com
Open in new window
Top
Re: Confused face... - Fixing an error causes a server crash
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 953
Offline
Yeah, thought of that and checked that out also.
FLScan and FLErrorChecker never caught the error. I just happened to notice it by chance.

After checking every file in the mod, those are the only two instances of that error.

It's confyoosdimating. I would have expected the server crashes when the error was introduced back in May, not now when I try to rectify it.

Posted on: 2011/11/14 21:45
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Confused face... - Fixing an error causes a server crash
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Is the error 100% always happening? Does the crash always occur?
Does it still exist if you remove the entry for Kruger rather than correct it?
Does it crash without hook?

I'd be very surprised if that's your issue and not an encounter outside the base.

Posted on: 2011/11/14 21:46
Top
Re: Confused face... - Fixing an error causes a server crash
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 953
Offline
Server runs FLServer with 1.1 update, and FLAC.

This does NOT seem to happen in New Berlin where Kruger also flies around. If I leave the entry as rm_m_grp, no problems in ST01 or the other added systems. The moment I change it to rh_m_grp the error is generated when the player docks and when the player attempts to undock, the server crashes.

Fault address is in content.dll at 0x00014dbc

Checking the mod files shows that the two edits to rmlootinfo are the ONLY instances wherein that faction was entered incorrectly.

I'm going through mbases and the system encounters now to see if there's anything that jumps out at me, but nothing obvious is showing up.




Posted on: 2011/11/14 22:03
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top