Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
58 user(s) are online (28 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 58

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: 0€
(last updated 06/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 60 users playing Freelancer on 38 servers.
August. 8, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
Yo again.

Ive been having to use single player to test most of my mods progress, i wanted to make a multiplayer server so my friend who is helping me can do combat testing, so i started FLServer.exe, I put a name, and description.

press ok, and it starts. i go in-game and i can find my server in the list, then i try to log into my server and it just hangs on the joining screen

the other strange thing is that it says i have the strangest IP address ever, i know that what is displayed isn't my IP address because ive seen my IP before..

Open in new window


i check on the desktop to see if anything is happening and the program looks like its trying to do something because the bar is fully red, (sounds like a bad thing really)

Open in new window


I go back ingame and see whats happening. and its says i cant login.

Open in new window

how can i join my server? or even make one that others can join :|

Posted on: 2011/11/10 11:58
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
Disable IPV6 (should be done already if you play Disco)
Open Port 2302.

Posted on: 2011/11/10 12:39
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
how do i do that? o.o

Posted on: 2011/11/10 12:50
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
http://www.google.com/support/websear ... er.py?hl=en&answer=134479


But really, here's a link on the IPV6 at least.

Though, I'm not gonna lie, I've done all this and I've still got the problem. I just keep refreshing, it's annoying, but it works.

Posted on: 2011/11/10 12:59
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
I was looking at this website and found a relavent tutorial for opening port 2302.

http://www.best-home-networking-solut ... mputer-network-ports.html
(scroll down half way in the page)

but it says that you have to open your router software, and my router doesnt have any software to make it run.

well not any with an interface that you can interact with.

I have an old BT Voyager 1055 wireless router, all you get for it is a set of drivers which auto install, a usb stick to recieve the wireless signal from the router, and the router itself..


Posted on: 2011/11/10 14:15
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
besides, you got to have the official 1.1 patch applied, otherwise you can only create dedicated servers.

Posted on: 2011/11/10 14:30
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
Quote:

Gisteron wrote:
besides, you got to have the official 1.1 patch applied, otherwise you can only create dedicated servers.


I do have the patch applied.. though it doesnt say VER. 1.1 ingame, it still says 1.0

i have the 1.1 patch, Adoxa's JFLP/ Healing.dll / Moors.dll / Console.dll and a no cd .exe file because i cant find my disc..

Posted on: 2011/11/10 15:17
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/10 15:03
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1018
Offline

Posted on: 2011/11/10 16:51
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
Quote:


Wow, hah.. it worked, you people amaze me more and more everytime i log in here..

the server skips everynow and then, I assume its when more npc's spawn because my pc net connection isnt really good enough to be host.

still.. thank you very much.

Posted on: 2011/11/10 18:09
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/25 17:58
From On my way back
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
Posts: 344
Offline
Quote:

Hidamari wrote:

the server skips everynow and then, I assume its when more npc's spawn because my pc net connection isnt really good enough to be host.


Sounds like you are running the server and a client on the same box. You will get sticky lag every now and again and the odd occasional unexplained crash doing that. Best to run the server on a dedicated box, but I know myself that it is not always possible

Posted on: 2011/11/10 22:19
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/12/28 11:49
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 220
Offline
Quote:

Thaddeus wrote:

Sounds like you are running the server and a client on the same box. You will get sticky lag every now and again and the odd occasional unexplained crash doing that. Best to run the server on a dedicated box, but I know myself that it is not always possible


Ahhh... yes I was.. dont really have a choice as you say.

I dont have more than one pc, well, i could use my brothers, but he is on it all the time, i dont have a comp that can just run the server for the sole purpose of running the server.... yet

Posted on: 2011/11/10 22:40
Top
Re: cant join my own server?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
Quote:

Bobthemanofsteel wrote:
But really, here's a link on the IPV6 at least..


mfw I didn't actually put the link in.

Quote:


Thanks Cheesey xD

Posted on: 2011/11/11 5:52
Top