Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
135 user(s) are online (100 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 135

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +10€

Current balance: -70€
(last updated 08/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 61 users playing Freelancer on 31 servers.
August. 17, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 3 4 »


high ping :(
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/10/27 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 84
Offline
i have high ping in all servers , my enemys kill me in few sec because lag and admin kicking me because lag or high ping !

there is no way to fix it because i am very far from europe

here some servers :
HHC:332ms
DFLS:260ms


i think someone have idea how i can fix that and make my ping faster than now , like 60 ms .

Posted on: 2011/1/22 15:03
Top
Re: high ping :(
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 634
Offline
The test you posted:

Open in new window

Unfortunately that is not a good enough speed to play FL well on. Most of the servers are in the USA and Europe.

Posted on: 2011/1/22 16:01
Top
Re: high ping :(
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/10/27 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 84
Offline
Quote:

=Alex= wrote:
The test you posted:

Open in new window

Unfortunately that is not a good enough speed to play FL well on. Most of the servers are in the USA and Europe.


speed does not change something ! , i have friend played from USA and he has bad ping !

i had test with 3,50MB/s but the ping is the same !

Posted on: 2011/1/22 16:09
Top
Re: high ping :(
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 634
Offline
I should also add that a ping of 98ms to a server in your own country is also not great.

Posted on: 2011/1/22 16:13
Top
Re: high ping :(
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/10/27 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 84
Offline
Quote:

=Alex= wrote:
I should also add that a ping of 98ms to a server in your own country is also not great.


i don't mean that , you have to download some program or do something in Registry !

Posted on: 2011/1/22 16:49
Top
Re: high ping :(
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/11/30 19:02
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 391
Offline
Yeah, if your ping to your own country is 98, then there's no way you'll be able to get 60 to Europe. Out of curiosity, what IS your country? I've played overseas with a 1mb connection and it works just fine, but below that it's going to get pretty jumpy.

Posted on: 2011/1/22 16:53
Top
Re: high ping :(
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/10/27 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 84
Offline
my conutry is Oman , i have question ----> if i change my proxy to Europe proxy than ping will be down ?



why battlefield 2 had better ping than freelancer ??

About 2,000 players playing battlefield 2 in my contury without problem with ping !


i think problem is in FLlistservers (GLS) , some time i get nice ping in all servers germeny and sometime in Russia !

today i have190 ms in USA servers !

Posted on: 2011/1/22 17:06
Top
Re: high ping :(
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/11/30 19:02
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 391
Offline
If you're using a proxy already, then yes. But technically, using a proxy just means the packets need to be sent to the proxy and then back to you, and vice versa - making your ping go even higher.

Honestly, the only way to decrease your ping would be to get a better connection - Like I said, 1Mbit should be good enough.

Posted on: 2011/1/22 17:14
Top
Re: high ping :(
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/10/27 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 84
Offline
why battlefield 2 had better ping than freelancer ??

About more than 200 players playing" battlefield2" in my contury without problem with ping !


i think problem is in FLlistservers (GLS) , some time i get nice ping in all servers germeny and sometime in Russia !

last 5 day my ping was 1000ms in some servers , i tried with two Device contact than i got the same ping !

today i have190 ms in USA servers !

can you tell me Way Mb/s ? i had no understand what is 1mbit???

-----------------------------------------------------------------
i had downloaded "PingTesterPro" but i have no idea how i can use it .

look here http://www.softpedia.com/reviews/wind ... ional--Review-84621.shtml

Posted on: 2011/1/22 17:16
Top
Re: high ping :(
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/11/30 19:02
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 391
Offline
Battlefield 2 uses a different server architecture than FL, hence why your ping in FL is higher. Plus, it always depends on the server/amount of players/distance to the server.

About PingTesterPro, I've never used it but http://pingtest.net/ works just as well.

EDIT: The Global List Server also can't be the cause of your ping, since that's only active while you're browsing the list of servers. While you're ingame, the only ping is between you and the actual game server.

Posted on: 2011/1/22 19:47
Top
Re: high ping :(
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Using windows? Open up your start menu, go to all programs, accessories, command prompt.

Then you can type in ping bbc.co.uk or ping the-starport.net

This will ping those sites and give you a time it takes for the ping to reach.

Things that may affect your ping will include the load of the network (anyone else using yours? You using the internet during peak times?), whether you are throttled by your ISP and so on.

If you get high ping in many games and whilst pinging servers around Europe (don't just use FL as a way of discerning ping!) then I suggest you contact your ISP and ask

They are right about speed not really being important... but don't forget that ping is small packets of data, a few bytes. FL may send kilobytes, so speed (amount of data per second) would matter. However, FL was developed with dial up in mind, so that connection should be fine to play FL on

Someone may correct me upon this

Posted on: 2011/1/23 14:33
Top
Re: high ping :(
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3518
Offline
Play? Sure, though you have a fairly high chance of being "that guy" who's making everyone lag in a 50k bubble. PvP would probably be fairly horrendous.

Host? Not a chance.

Posted on: 2011/1/23 15:16
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: high ping :(
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/11/30 19:02
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 391
Offline
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
Play? Sure, though you have a fairly high chance of being "that guy" who's making everyone lag in a 50k bubble. PvP would probably be fairly horrendous.

Host? Not a chance.


This.

Posted on: 2011/1/23 17:53
Top
Re: high ping :(
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Quote:

Vesko wrote:
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
Play? Sure, though you have a fairly high chance of being "that guy" who's making everyone lag in a 50k bubble. PvP would probably be fairly horrendous.

Host? Not a chance.


This.


Really? I don't remember anyone lagging as others lag - they made fighting them tough as they were jumping all over - but didn't cause lag for other players... so what's changed?

Posted on: 2011/1/23 22:00
Top
Re: high ping :(
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/20 20:34
From the Netherlands
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 242
Offline
Quote:

Chips wrote:

Really? I don't remember anyone lagging as others lag - they made fighting them tough as they were jumping all over - but didn't cause lag for other players... so what's changed?


What is changed, don't ask me.

But i'm sure that depends on the connection the host is, that if one person is very laggy, it's effecting the whole server.

In the past i had adsl, big crime if one person was laggy. The most players where laggy than to. Soon as we kicked the person with the highest lag/loss, it was over.

Now i have cable, 60/6 and now it hardley effect.

Posted on: 2011/1/23 22:17
Open in new window
~~My spells are dangerous~~

WTS for the Game. WTS for the World
Top
(1) 2 3 4 »