Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
26 user(s) are online (15 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 25

Jeider, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: -125€
(last updated 10/2018)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 96 users playing Freelancer on 32 servers.
October. 19, 2018

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Evenly Incremented Rank
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/17 19:44
From Virginia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 364
Offline
This is an old question, I remember it from the old TLR boards.

The desire is to have an evenly incremented Rank. A new player with about 50,000 credits would show as rank 1, A player with a net worth of 1 billion would show as rank 45 and a player with a net worth of 2 billion would show as rank 90.

Has anyone found a solution yet?

Posted on: 2010/8/14 6:31
http://UnderVerse.us
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/13 8:19
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 201
Offline
MISSIONS/PTought.ini

Posted on: 2010/8/14 8:08
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
Ptough is restricted to level 40. It keeps going until 999,999,999 is reached, taking the previous value * 1.125. If you can be more specific about what you want, I can hack the calculation. If you want to DIY, go to 0A9E00 in content.dll and 0A9DE8 & 0A9F75 to set the limit to stop. If you want to type 'em all in, go to 0A9D8E and change 40b to whatever (127 max, although I'm not really sure if it allocates the extra space).

Posted on: 2010/8/14 9:37
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/3/15 16:10
From Slovenia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 75
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
If you want to type 'em all in, go to 0A9D8E and change 40b to whatever (127 max, although I'm not really sure if it allocates the extra space).


With this hack you can define all level requirements in pthough.ini?

Posted on: 2010/8/14 10:03
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
is it possible, instead of a rank number to show a string like "recruit", "pilot", "ace", "veteran" and such? therefore ofc making less ranks possible?

Posted on: 2010/8/14 11:19
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
@Sethernis: I believe so. Here's one that ignores the test altogether, theoretically allowing any number of levels: 0A9D93, 7F->EB.

@Gisteron: Why not use a range, thus having both? For example, if recruit is 1..5 and pilot is 6..10, it could show as "Recruit (2)" or "9 - Pilot". If you want fewer ranks, use the patch above (assuming you want more than 40) and make the last rank at 999 999 999 (or whatever limit you set).

Posted on: 2010/8/14 14:29
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
so, the number in ptough.ini is not a numeric value but a string you can define directly?

Posted on: 2010/8/14 18:42
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/3/15 16:10
From Slovenia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 75
Offline
Thanks adoxa. Now it is finally possible to define ranks for players using ptough.

Posted on: 2010/8/14 18:47
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/17 19:44
From Virginia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 364
Offline
Thanks adoxa, I will play with that this week.

Posted on: 2010/8/15 2:22
http://UnderVerse.us
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
@Gisteron: No, I meant rather than having one rank as one name, have a range of ranks associated to a single name and display both. It'll take a plugin to actually display the name.

Posted on: 2010/8/15 8:49
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
ah, thanks. hope youre not too busy cuz you sound as if you had the code in your genius mind already...

Posted on: 2010/8/15 13:34
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
Here it is. Read ranks.cpp for the instructions - hope you can follow them. Oh, forgot to say how to install it: copy ranks.dll to EXE and add it to [Libraries] in EXE\dacom.ini.

So, after one year at T SP, that makes 25 plugins (more or less).

Attach file:


zip ranks.zip Size: 10.18 KB; Hits: 162

Posted on: 2010/8/16 9:33
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/17 19:44
From Virginia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 364
Offline
Heh, finished it before you posted. Here is what we did. We went straight to the 0a9d8e and changed the 28 to 64 (assuming this meant rank 40 to 100). Then I built a custom ptough.ini with my desired ranges of money to rank 100 and tested it. Worked like a charm! Thanks adoxa!

UnderVerse 2.25 release, Rank vs Net Worth

Thanks to Adoxa for the hex edit and to [RIP]d3jake for helping me insert it.

New player = Rank 1 (formerly Rank 24)
Sell the manual ($5 million) = Rank 5 (formerly Rank 44)
Gain $5 million more = Rank 10 (then you are fair game) (formerly Rank 50)
$1 billion net worth = Rank 50 (formerly Rank 89)
$2 billion net worth = Rank 100 (formerly Rank 90)

Attach file:



jpg  rank100.jpg (54.31 KB)
21_4c6915f8b6abd.jpg 565X233 px

Posted on: 2010/8/16 11:42
http://UnderVerse.us
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
Top
Re: Evenly Incremented Rank
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 87
Offline
Hi, sorry for bumping old topic.

So I've been doing some research on this and ptough.ini, and found some things:

  1. As adoxa said, ptough.ini is restricted to level 40, providing the format ptough_graph_pt = <worth>,<level>.

  2. This limit is hardcoded at content.dll A9D8E as a byte, only allowing 127 as maximum.
    Quote:
    adoxa wrote:
    @Sethernis: I believe so. Here's one that ignores the test altogether, theoretically allowing any number of levels: 0A9D93, 7F->EB.

    Adoxa is right about that the test can be ignored, but provides the wrong patch; this is the correct one:
    Code:
    content.dll A9D93 7F 0F -> 90 90 = ignore rank level limit test, theoretically allowing any number of levels ~adoxa, Gold_Sear

  3. There's theoretically no limitations about what you can enter for <worth> and <level>, levels need not be consecutive and neither do worths. Worth noting is that when leveling up, the reached level is shown correctly in the rep screen up to 1410065408, but in the announcement at top center of screen, only the last two bytes are shown, e.g 50000 and 65535 are shown correctly, but 100000 will become 34464.



Hope this clears things up a bit.

Posted on: 7/27 19:23
There is always something to do.
Top