Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
41 user(s) are online (23 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 40

Schmackbolzen, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +5€

Current balance: -65€
(last updated 10/2019)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 29 users playing Freelancer on 41 servers.
November. 12, 2019

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Anonymous
Cloaking in SP
Anonymous-Anonymous
Hey people, can anybody tell me if it is possible to create a cloaking device working in SP? I thought of an option making MP chat commands work in SP, so the cloak can be triggered with /cloak and /uncloak. Can you help me with this?

Posted on: 2010/4/9 14:56
Top
Re: Cloaking in SP
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1526
Offline
well, it should be possible (though it would likely be adoxa's console or another sp hack plugin rather than flhook). problem is, that with our modern cloak the npc's scanners still detect you. as sometimes npc's scan you or hail you in any other way you are not entirely irrecognizable even to other players. likely the game is used to see your starship and i think this would be a problem to work around this. on the other hand, if our gentlemen from the additional programming section do not work around it, it would be senseless to cloak yourself in an ambience, where every starship and base around (as there cannot be players around) can actually detect you. the visual effect and disappearance of the own ship onscreen is possible, im convinced of that.

Posted on: 2010/4/9 20:59
Top
Re: Cloaking in SP
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1909
Offline
I will not be adding cloak and the only thing that will change my mind is Freelancer's source.

Posted on: 2010/4/10 6:34
Top
Re: Cloaking in SP
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/22 17:43
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 63
Offline
In the same way as a kplol you'll be invisible on loading game & leaving planets/bases, but not limited by timers and be just free from heavy threaded code.

Set secondary control to Tractor Beam(All Items) to some valid char along with Ctrl (Ctrl+C, Ctrl+U etc). Get a ship with a cloak_fighter onboard. True SP.

Earlier made a mistake and was activating left light like it was a blinker in cars, and that's a just for fun idea lol.

Attach file:


zip Invisibility.zip Size: 13.19 KB; Hits: 423

Posted on: 2014/3/15 9:25
Top
Re: Cloaking in SP
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2013/4/23 16:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 96
Offline
Did already someone tried this Invisibility mod/plugin? I am just curious.

Posted on: 2014/12/31 11:13
Top
Re: Cloaking in SP
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/4/11 22:00
From Lorain, Ohio
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 64
Offline
Happy New Year All,
When StarLancer was out, I seem to remember cloaks. So the fact that FreeLancer is a continuation of that story, the entire Sirius systems should know of cloaks. Liberty had experimented with the technology.
I support cloaking technology, but also believe it has limitations and weaknesses. For example, the Klingon or Romulan ships can't fire while cloaked. Also, there exist ways to detect cloaked ships.
Anyway, I have heard Adoxa specifically say he won't work on it. His comment in this article does make me wonder about the FreeLancer coding. Does the games support it? Or is it just cut-scene gibberish to bolster a weak storyline? If the game does not support cloaking is some type of scanner interference possible?
My approach to playing FreeLancer is essentially purist, in that I see the way ships progress through the game play. Start with weak ships and work your way up. That requires a better degree of skill. This is why even in my own little mod I use to play, I just teak a few things that don't make much sense. My initial example is that I give Trent a fully equipped Starflier. I keep the games locks on gates and jump holes, but they are visible on the map. My thinking is why have a guy fight for you and disadvantage them from the start. Obviously a good pilot can make due, but it makes no sense. Imagine flying an F-16 with just machine guns. Another thing I do is place the entire universe in the map. Here on earth, I can buy a map to anywhere long before I go there. An the very best argument is that Trent has flown Bretonia and why should he go exploring?
Anyway, cloaks don't exist so I make do with skill, just as if my cloak were damaged. But it is a curiosity.

Again, Happy New Year,
Pascal05

Posted on: 2015/1/1 4:50
L Chandler 3
Top