Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
151 user(s) are online (94 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 151

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 59 users playing Freelancer on 44 servers.
May. 29, 2023

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Dropping all cargo in SP
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 252
Offline
I'm familiar with this line in shiparch,

fuse = drop_cargo_fuse, 0, 1

which, when you add in the fuse entry for it,

[fuse]
name = drop_cargo_fuse
lifetime = 0.0
death_fuse = true

[dump_cargo]
at_t = 0
origin_hardpoint = HpMount

[destroy_root]
at_t = 1


means that when you die in multiplayer, all loose cargo and equipment dies with you.

Now i added this to single player and it doesn't work. Is there any way to achieve total loss of cargo and loose equipment in single player? Or have i missed something?

Posted on: 12/12 7:29
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 2035
Offline
I think you've missed "Load Game".

Posted on: 12/12 7:33
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 252
Offline
I load the autosave after if that's what you mean

Posted on: 12/12 7:49
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 2035
Offline
I mean, what's the point of dropping equipment when you can load the game where you still have it? Have you disabled save? "I load the autosave", so apparently not. And what does that mean? Have you removed the cargo & equipment from the autosave? In which case, the original question is moot. What am I missing?

Posted on: 12/12 8:01
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 252
Offline
I'm trying to achieve the same thing in SP, that when you die you come back without the cargo you were carrying or any loose equipment like guns or shields you picked up, like in MP with the above addon.

I don't want to die and still have the cargo i was carrying, pretty simple

Posted on: 12/12 8:03
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 2035
Offline
Sure, but unless you disable save (or manipulate the files themselves), you simply cannot achieve it. Unless of course this is just for yourself and you're highly disciplined. Have you considered local MP, instead?

Are you sure the fuse doesn't work? A cursory scan through the disassembly didn't notice anything, and if you load the autosave the equipment would never have been lost. Hm...

Posted on: 12/12 8:42
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 231
Offline
The issue simply is while in MP the system remains loaded in its current state because the server software is there to do so, in SP there is no server to keep the system loaded. Once you respawn you reset all the conditions when the last savegame is loaded. There is nothing left to be loaded from your dropped equipment.

Like Adoxa said. Only way would be running a local server.

Only other way would be to have a plugin which tracks player death and all dropped items in the current system and then writes them into the autosave.fl
But the effort for that certainly is very high.
That leads to the next issue. How to load lootcrates back into the game from such a savegame? FL by default does not do that.

Posted on: 12/12 8:54
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 2035
Offline
There's also the simple, manual approach: just jettison everything.

Posted on: 12/12 9:27
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/5/22 20:21
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 252
Offline
It's not about jettisoning stuff, it's the mechanics of the game on death are clearly different in SP v MP. As i said, the above code works a treat in MP, i was simply wondering why it wouldn't work in SP. Private server it is then

Posted on: 12/12 18:30
Top
Re: Dropping all cargo in SP
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 231
Offline
I have my doubts that the way how it works is different in SP. There is no reason why the death fuse would work differently.
The only difference I see is that the SP environment is not persistent and that you reset it by loading a savegame in order to respawn.

Posted on: 12/13 9:13
Top