Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
38 user(s) are online (19 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 38

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +25€

Current balance: -40€
(last updated 09/2020)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 88 users playing Freelancer on 42 servers.
September. 25, 2020

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 ... 58 59 60 (61) 62 63 64 ... 67 »


Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/2/17 20:45
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 480
Offline
Quote:

Gold_Sear wrote:
- Jump Holes; seem to have a draw distance between 4000 and 4500, depending on the angle you look at them (straight 4000, side of screen 4500), could be a hex value offset that isn't discovered yet (by us)(?)

No.
Jump holes use invisible models, so adding a LOD Range there won't change anything.

Actually what you see are only effects, and those are gf_wormhole* in effects.ini.
There you see their vis_type = EFT_JUMP_GATE_EFFECTS
Looking into effect_types.ini for EFT_JUMP_GATE_EFFECTS gives us pbubble = 3000, 4000.
pbubble is the visibility range.
Code:
100f  freelancer.exe  212B00  Dev  unknown, likely the first value of pbubble
500f  freelancer.exe  212B04  Dev  visual cutoff range of effects (second value of pbubble)

(from eft_explosion_large)

Posted on: 2015/6/10 13:01
How to create .SUR files - Tutorial
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/25 17:58
From On my way back
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
Posts: 345
Offline
Quote:

Gold_Sear wrote:

- surprise_ge_fighter5; most likely bug, since all other surprise ships do have LODranges


just a typo I would think. the whole
Code:
LODranges = 
line is missing from the arch entry.

Posted on: 2015/6/10 16:43
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
Most of those exceptions are rather straightforward. Planets don't have LODs, they're spheres generated on the fly. Suns and jump holes are not physical; their appearance is entirely determined by their effect. For suns, that's all in stararch.ini. For jump holes, there's an effect in the loadout, changing that effect's draw distance will affect the jump hole itself (up to a certain limit, I believe there's a max range for attached FX as well).

Posted on: 2015/6/11 6:55
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Quite a regular
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 101
Offline
Quote:

Skotty wrote:
Quote:

Gold_Sear wrote:
- Jump Holes; seem to have a draw distance between 4000 and 4500, depending on the angle you look at them (straight 4000, side of screen 4500), could be a hex value offset that isn't discovered yet (by us)(?)


No.
Jump holes use invisible models, so adding a LOD Range there won't change anything.


Sorry, my mistake (although if you add Jump Hole archetype as asteroids inside a nebula, they'll become slightly visible. To make invisible asteroids, use gravity_buoy archetype.)

Posted on: 2015/6/11 19:01
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 18:04
From Maine, USA
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
Hey everyone, it's that time of year again! Or something like that.

I've gone through and added everything that was posted in this topic (phew!) as well as a few others that I found were missing. I also added an offset that determines at what distance solar fuses are activated (25km by default).

For the time being I've simply tossed all files up on Google Drive here: https://drive.google.com/folderview?id ... WdVbVk&usp=drive_web#list

As far as I know there are no bandwidth limits on public-facing shared folders, so hopefully that won't go away any time soon (unlike Dropbox, which permanently disabled my account's sharing due to bandwidth concerns with no warning).

Let me know if there are any I missed! Maybe I'll get to them this year. ;)
fox

Posted on: 2015/7/21 3:54
88 Flak for Freelancer
1.27 Betas | Wiki | Forums
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/17 19:44
From Virginia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 369
Offline
Thanks!

Posted on: 2015/7/21 16:40
http://UnderVerse.us
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/9 17:45
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 333
Offline
Thank U.
Consider your work is very much appreciated.

Greetings J.R.

Posted on: 2015/7/21 19:26
ENIGMA V.4 ATG HOMEPAGE/FORUM
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/9 17:45
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 333
Offline
Quote:

foxUnit01 wrote:

Let me know if there are any I missed! Maybe I'll get to them this year.
fox


@foxUnit01
Found this while wandering the Forums but couldn´t find it in the current 101-List.

Code:
freelancer.exe, 00840B3, 0F84 --> 90E9  = remove the automatically generated portion of equipment infocards. ~M0tah


Note:
Only AFAIK this offset was found by M0tah.

Greetings
J.R.

Posted on: 2015/7/24 9:25
ENIGMA V.4 ATG HOMEPAGE/FORUM
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 18:04
From Maine, USA
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
Hey J.R., I'm away for the weekend but I'll be sure to get that (and anything else that pops up?) in the list when I'm back.

Posted on: 2015/7/25 19:09
88 Flak for Freelancer
1.27 Betas | Wiki | Forums
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Quite a regular
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 101
Offline
Thanks a lot fox!

I hope you'll be able to update this to the wiki list.

If I may, tomorrow I'll check the new list for any errors and missing offsets.

EDIT:
The following offsets still missing:
Reputation
Code:
content.dll  11B930  0.1d = adjustment for maximum reputation ~adoxa


System Editing
Code:
server.dll  2C057  740A4183C2043BC87CF4EB0BC7848C9C000000000000
-> 750BC7848C9C000000000000004183C20439C17CE9EB = update objects once (fixes bug that makes solar guns reduce refire delay when multiple players are around) ~adoxa


Misc
Code:
Freelancer.exe  8049A  28 -> 00 = need level to buy ships and equipment in MP PART 1 ~adoxa
Freelancer.exe  82E96  0A -> 00 = need level to buy ships and equipment in MP PART 2 ~adoxa
Freelancer.exe  B948E  1B -> 00 = need level to buy ships and equipment in MP PART 3 ~adoxa
Freelancer.exe  13E1F8  9090909090909090 -> 89358C336700EB47 = need level to buy ships and equipment in MP PART 4 ~adoxa
Freelancer.exe  13E23D  09 -> BA = need level to buy ships and equipment in MP PART 5 ~adoxa


Some errors I found in the list:
Cruise/Tradelane
Code:
common.dll  13F448  0.4d = trade lane exit distance ~Helloween

should be 400d

System Editing
Code:
common.dll  DAD24  057B -> 0175 = make drag_modifier independent of interference/damage ~adoxa

should be 057B -> 4174

Misc
Code:
content.dll  4EE3A  A22A -> A26A = OpenSP tweak for 1.1 DLLs to always start from m13; alternatively, simply direct your newplayer.fl file to start on a blank Mission_13 instead of using this hack ~Xerx, Cannon

In my content.dll (original 1.1) on 4EE3A I see 422A, so I guess it should be 422A -> A26A or 422A -> 426A.

HUD: Contacts/Weapons List/Wireframe
Code:
freelancer.exe 0D0A4E 57->EB = remove hostile freighters from "important" filter ~Jolly_Roger
freelancer.exe 0D0DC3 57->EB = remove hostile fighters from "important" filter ~Jolly_Roger

Both offsets have 75 byte value, not 57.

Effects (main section)
Code:
server.dll 0A8AF0 25000f = range at which fuses for solars activate (and probably other stuff too) ~fox

Should be 10000f.

EDIT: missed another one:
Code:
content.dll A9D8E = 28b rank level limit ~adoxa


Many greetings

Posted on: 2015/7/31 20:32
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Quite a regular
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 101
Offline
Quote:

Moonhead wrote:
Adoxa emailed me the solution for the above problem:

Quote:
Freelancer.exe 0967CD 3C->A0 = allow all positions on Universe map (visible region roughly -2.4,-2.7 to 17.3,17) ~adoxa


Btw good to see the Starport is back online again


This hacks works fine for system diamonds, but not for the player position marker (blue ship), as the image below shows. Does adoxa or anyone else have a solution to this problem as well?

Attach file:



jpg  universe_map_player_position.JPG (33.69 KB)
45768_55bcbf5ab9d9d.jpg 379X380 px

Posted on: 2015/8/1 13:46
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/22 17:43
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 72
Offline
Noone did any feedback so posting as is.
Code:
//diamonds/objects?
freelancer.exe 96A1B 75->EB = ignore +x
freelancer.exe 96A36 75->EB = ignore -x
freelancer.exe 96A4D 75->EB = ignore +y
freelancer.exe 96A68 75->EB = ignore -y

//player's icon
freelancer.exe 967E3 68E35D00->F1674900 = use new +x
freelancer.exe 96808 643E5D00->16684900 = use new -x
freelancer.exe 9682D 683E5D00->3B684900 = use new +y
freelancer.exe 96852 643E5D00->60684900 = use new -y

//new values
freelancer.exe 967F1 112000f = +x 
freelancer.exe 96816 -112000f = -x 
freelancer.exe 9683B 112000f = +y 
freelancer.exe 96860 -112000f = -y 

With applying 112000f => 130000f (keep sign there!) limits are ~:
Code:
pos = -2.1, -2.6 
pos = -2.1, 16.75 
pos = 16.75, -2.6 
pos = 16.75, 16.75

It also affects a red arrow in system map.Result:
http://s30.postimg.org/taj8n4gm9/universe.jpg
http://s30.postimg.org/6kk3u4xep/system.jpg

Posted on: 2015/8/2 2:59
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/9 17:45
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 333
Offline
Quote:

Gold_Sear wrote:

Effects (main section)
Code:
server.dll 0A8AF0 25000f = range at which fuses for solars activate (and probably other stuff too) ~fox

Should be 10000f.



Since there is another function at the same offset (found by FriendlyFire) I would suggest something like:
Code:
server.dll 0A8AF0 10000f = maximum AI firing range as well as the range at which fuses for solars activate (and probably other stuff too) ~FriendlyFire / ~fox





Greetings

Posted on: 2015/8/2 8:11
ENIGMA V.4 ATG HOMEPAGE/FORUM
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Quite a regular
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 101
Offline
@WhiskasTM
Thanks a lot man!

@J.R.
I'd prefer to keep these functions seperated because they don't match categories (Effects and NPC behavior). You can see this effect throughout the list, for example adoxa's trade initiate distance and my non-selected arrow distance have the same offset but have different categories (Cargo/Tractor Beam/Trading and HUD: Ship Brackets respectively).

Posted on: 2015/8/2 18:29
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/9 17:45
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 333
Offline
Ups... Yeah man... You´re damn right.

THX anyways for your (and other people´s) work on this.

Greets J.R.

Posted on: 2015/8/2 20:26
ENIGMA V.4 ATG HOMEPAGE/FORUM
Top
« 1 ... 58 59 60 (61) 62 63 64 ... 67 »