Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
60 user(s) are online (32 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 59

sukothai, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 25 users playing Freelancer on 37 servers.
May. 10, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



[almost resolved] Planet modding

Joined:
2012/2/23 13:01
From France
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 26
Offline
Hi,
I just started working on my planets.
With this great tutorial and this one, I am now capable of creating a new cmp planet model (the first thing I make in milkshape ^^), scale it to the size I want, apply my high def texture to it, and finally add glowmap to the mat. Everything is very nice, I'm more than happy about this part :
Open in new window

Except are missing the atmosphere effect and the clouds layer.

So with the help of this tutorial, I'm trying to add the atmosphere layer. Problem is : the model provided with the tutorial has far too low poly counts for my enormous planet. It is working, but it is very angular and ugly.

So, I tried the whole evening to reproduce the tutorial model but with a lot more polys (99*99, scale 100000 for the surface layer), and I go nowhere. The best I can achieve is this :
Open in new window
The 'tube' you see in the middle seems to be the atmosphere layer, the surface layer is completly cut... Not so good, isn't it ? ^^

I say again, I'm a total noob with modeling / texturing. All I can do well is creating glowmaps xD
So, is there anyone with enough will and time to reproduce the tutorial model for me, but with 99*99 polys for surface and atmosphere layers ?
Or at least, could someone please explain how I could do it myself ?

Thanks

EDIT
Ok, I tried to take another route to do it, and I think I noticed something weird.
I'm trying to make a cloud layer using a second model, a little bigger than the 'surface' model, and using the alpha channel technique of the second tutorial.
I can render the 'clouds model' fine, but only if I remove the surface model from the map. I tried to make 2 differents 'planets' for the test, not at the same position, but the clouds one doesn't seem to render if the surface one is present. I can select it, so the sur is ok. As soon as I remove the surface planet, the clouds one appears where it is supposed to be, with the right transparency.
Open in new window

I cannot use transparency and glowmapping at the same time, or something like that ? I repeat, i'm totally noob to this

Posted on: 2012/3/9 0:46
Top
Re: Planet modeling help

Joined:
2012/2/23 13:01
From France
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 26
Offline
Ok, after re-doing everything from the start, the second method is now working : 2 different models, one for surface+glowmap, the second 10% larger for the atmosphere (but without a sur, not needed).
Here is the result, with the original tutorial glass texture :
Open in new window
Not so bad, but needs some tweaking.

I think my problem was due to working blind inside milkshape without experience with it, my models being too large for the software (isn't there a workaround about this ?)

I still don't know why I wasn't able to render the 2 models on the same time yesterday... Now the exact same technique is working... Go figure !

EDIT :
one step further... need to work on the alpha channel to reduce the aliasing effect.
Open in new window
Next one will be with a 3rd model for the atmosphere layer...

(edit for a new screenshot, in HD res, I wanted to see the previous result on a good pc :p)
Open in new window

Posted on: 2012/3/9 10:52
Top
Re: [almost resolved] Planet modding
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/4/8 11:06
From USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
Looks good so far mate. But I have a problem maybe you have solved. Using a 2048 x 1024 texture, I get lines all the way around the planet as Startrader said in his tut. Do you know of any fix or does anyone else?

Posted on: 2012/3/12 12:56
Open in new window
Top
Re: [almost resolved] Planet modding
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/9/28 21:13
From Wales
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 925
Offline
Texture has to be square dude. Resize it to 1024 x 1024.

Posted on: 2012/3/12 21:19
Top
Re: [almost resolved] Planet modding
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/21 12:54
From Glasgow, Scotland
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 72
Offline
if you're exporting them in CMP format, then you should try using the 3ds exporter and use vertex painting to apply the alpha channel to the clouds, then you might be able to use the glow maps. Dunno if it will work but it's just a suggestion.

Posted on: 2012/3/13 7:13
Top
Re: [almost resolved] Planet modding

Joined:
2012/2/23 13:01
From France
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 26
Offline
@Alucard : I don't seem to have this problem. Maybe it is because I'm using TGA rectangular textures, with sphere mapping option (as opposed to default mapping like it seems in the tutorial)
Edit : just checked again, I don't think I have the problem you described. My textures are made with gimp, tga no compression, no alpha channel on the surface, scaled down to 4096x2048, mirrored vertically and horizontally, sphere mode in ms3d.

@Timmy : I'm using TGA 4096*2048 textures because after testing with dds (square) and tga, tga finally looks better (50% superior resolution, and my mercator texture is less 'stetched' on the poles with rectangular tga). On a side note, I don't have a problem with tga textures filesizes, as my mod is not meant to become largely public.

@Silent : Thanks for the advice, this one was the first working version, I plan to make tests with other settings on the clouds. Using different models for the different layers allows me to apply different effect on each layer, it was the point.
I would like to also make the surface a little more reflective and the clouds diffuse the light of the cities glowmap behind it.
I will try with 3ds.
About this, what is the difference between cmp and 3ds ? I note cmp are often being used in models and 3ds are being used for icons and small solars, but why ?

Edit : btw, I'm using these nasa maps for my textures. Maybe it will be useful for someone.

Edit #2 : a wild idea... Is it possible to use bumpmaps in FL ? And if yes, is it possible to use bumpmap + glowmap on the same model ? I just found a very good earth bumpmap....

Edit #3 : using my technique I notice something strange : I applied different spinning speeds to the different layers, but the surface is the only one which keeps spinning after a while. I already changed the spinning offsets, and it resolved my 'single model planet' spin issue (stopped after a few seconds).

Posted on: 2012/3/13 11:39
Top