Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
73 user(s) are online (46 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 73

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +165€

Current balance: 105€
(last updated 02/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 88 users playing Freelancer on 39 servers.
April. 17, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



How do i change button text?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/4/10 14:30
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 62
Offline
I mean the text boxes like "New Game" "Load Game" "Multiplayer" etc....or text dialogs like "I'm sorry, the account is banned on this server" etc....

Please help

Posted on: 2010/4/10 14:33
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2009/7/21 11:33
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 92
Offline
You need the ResHacker program from the tools section.

You wanna open this file with it:

freelancer\exe\resources.dll

This dll has info for:
The "dont recognize Graphix card" pop up
Button text
Mouseover info
Story mission text
.other text

Look for the function in the drop down menus that says "search" or "find"

And search for the text you see on the buttons.........

find em and mod em

Ras

Posted on: 2010/4/10 16:42
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
FLDev's easier to use for that, if you want. It can edit resources.dll easily.

Posted on: 2010/4/10 18:33
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/10/27 0:04
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 227
Offline
yes ^^
and how to disable the "new game" button ?
is it possible ?

Posted on: 2010/4/10 20:41
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1985
Offline
Here's one I made ages ago. I thought it was posted here, but I can't find it; maybe it was a PM. This is a BPatch file.

Code:
# Remove the "NEW GAME" and "LOAD GAME" buttons on the main menu.
# Jason Hood, 28 November, 2009.

File: Freelancer.exe
174634: E8 47 E5 EA FF 83 7C 24 50 01 77  [ C7 44 24 70 00 00 00 00 C7 44 24 ]
        11 DB 05 4C 46 57 00 EB 0D        [ 74 00 00 00 00 C7 44 24 78 ]
1746CA: 00 00   [ 80 3E ]
174707: 00 00   [ 80 3E ]

To keep load, change the 01 to 00 and delete the 174707 line.

Posted on: 2010/4/11 7:04
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/10/27 0:04
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 227
Offline
nice
thx adoxa, i'll try it soon ^^

Posted on: 2010/4/11 7:47
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/4/10 14:30
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 62
Offline
Great guys, thanks for all your help.


Another question, how would i edit misctext2.dll?? Its written in HEX, ive already tried to edit it, but one added character and it messes up the whole code

Posted on: 2010/4/11 22:56
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/21 16:18
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 202
Offline
Hi there,
how can o delete or unabled the "remove character" button please ?

Posted on: 2012/1/24 20:42
Burn the gum, Not your Soul...
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/6/11 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 138
Offline
@ Destroyer of worlds
Use Freelancer Developer

@Ezekiel
Why would you want to do that?? I strongly suggest you don't remove that button, people delete and create accounts all of the time. If you remove that button, they'll simply use a different multiplayer key to create additional accounts.

Cheers,
Rik

Posted on: 2012/1/25 5:51
Top
Re: How do i change button text?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/21 16:18
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 202
Offline
I want to do that, because we use FLSES, and when player create a char, delete it and create it aain with the exact same name, it's resukt in some database error, like unique key violation etc...

For deleting account, players must fill a form on our website, so that we can delete it completly before they can reuse the same name, without crashing our DB

Posted on: 2012/1/25 8:45
Burn the gum, Not your Soul...
Top