Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
55 user(s) are online (28 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 55

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 22 users playing Freelancer on 36 servers.
May. 10, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 2 (3)


Re: Custom Ships and wireframes
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1790
Offline
Do you have an example file because it doesnt do that with the models we have.

Posted on: 2011/12/26 16:10
aka chaosgrid
http://www.freelancerserver.de
https://www.moddb.com/mods/fwtow
Top
Re: Custom Ships and wireframes
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/21 12:54
From Glasgow, Scotland
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 72
Offline
Ok this is completly my fault, god knows what was going on but for some reason it was all to do with the test model.

Even though the vert count was massively reduced the poly count remained the same. And obviously the verts where being generated on a per poly basis, doh thank god cause it was starting to piss me off if i'm honest.

Posted on: 2011/12/26 16:50
Top
Re: Custom Ships and wireframes
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/2 0:04
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 464
Offline
For a moment I was disappointed I not have it!
Using P1p3r's CMP Exporter and exporting a LOD (with wireframe) got 1st result.
- If 3 ds Max exporter makes better, can it be implemented in MilkShape exporter, too?
- And with this new exporters, is the magic 18 group limit now broken?

Attach file:



jpg  3MAJ-wireframe_fromMSCMPexporter.jpg (91.90 KB)
6823_4f30572ad3659.jpg 295X239 px

Posted on: 2012/2/6 22:41
Of all things that are lost - brain I miss most
Top
Re: Custom Ships and wireframes
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
Looks good, no?

But maybe you can reduce the polycount more for this lod?

Posted on: 2012/2/6 23:31
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top
Re: Custom Ships and wireframes
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/2 0:04
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 464
Offline
Not perfect, but at least works, yea. It spits wire as u see a wired model in MS.
Still I cant reproduce 3ds Max version to compare them.
I think it should look like this (right pic)!

And 18 group limit is history now?

[EDIT]* Made wire_lod and exported it for best result i can have.

Attach file:



jpg  wireframe-full-reduced.jpg (139.44 KB)
6823_4f33aa540ce66.jpg 568X239 px

Posted on: 2012/2/9 11:13
Of all things that are lost - brain I miss most
Top
« 1 2 (3)