Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
65 user(s) are online (37 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 65

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 80 users playing Freelancer on 39 servers.
May. 18, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2)


Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
Library?

Posted on: 2011/10/5 6:56
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
Basically, anywhere but.
My Documents, anywhere.

A lot of problems spawn from Windows going 'Hey, what are you doing NO STOP THAT.' when a program tries to edit files in Program Files, so while you can disable that 'feature', it's really just easier not to install there.

It's only ever been a problem with FL, at least as far as I've seen.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 7:01
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
Wow You Can't imagine How much I appreciate all your help.

THANK YOU.All

Posted on: 2011/10/5 7:07
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/10/3 6:01
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 72
Offline
It should still be OK for FL.

For FLMM run the installer as Administrator and when you set the settings for FLMM, set it to have Admin privileges.

See if that works.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 8:22
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/21 16:18
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 202
Offline
install it in c:\mygames\
just create "mygames" in c:\ for exemple ^^

Posted on: 2011/10/5 9:08
Burn the gum, Not your Soul...
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
With w-7 does that box saying programe may have installed improperly ALWAYS rear its ugly head or did it realy not perhaps install properly

Posted on: 2011/10/5 9:17
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
I used to get it a lot, I always just ignored it and used my own intuition.

But, I'm being archaic and using XP these days, the only popups I get is Firewall blocking everything xD

Posted on: 2011/10/5 10:17
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3520
Offline
If you run on EDGE, you will not be able to play any sort of online game. That's just too slow.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 14:08
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
Doyou know if there is a way to make it stay on 3G
and not jump to other signal types.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 18:26
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2010/5/29 11:40
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 176
Offline
Your mobile phone will always take the best available type of connection..

Posted on: 2011/10/5 18:28
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
So it comes down to best to use land line unless your sitting under a cell tower and even then your taking your chances.

THANK YOU ALL for your responses i guess ill have to rethink Cell only Service.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 18:36
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Quite a regular
Joined:
2011/10/1 11:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 126
Offline
Ok i'm hooked into a land line and trying to figure out how to get through the steps for on line i went to the conection tutorial and it said

"Before looking any further, please be sure you have installed and configured a multiplayer connection method".

I opened game and on milti-p i hit enternet and when i did it say's it's wanting to GIVE me an ID like there should be one in the slot Below. It acts like im suposed to CREATE an ID Though with Flashing curser in slot.

there is another post elswhere.


it doesn't give me The ID just a curser I guess i dont know how to procceed.

Posted on: 2011/10/5 22:58
Top
Re: Q?: 4-Admin Or Knowlegeable
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/10 22:00
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 1281
Offline
Anywhere you want as long as you avoid the 'Program File (x86)' folder.

Posted on: 2011/10/6 4:35
Galaxy Empire
Youtube Videos
Facebook
Top
« 1 (2)