Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
83 user(s) are online (44 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 83

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 49 users playing Freelancer on 47 servers.
July. 1, 2022

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Since I'm using a laptop running Windows Seven, FLScan (the error scanner made by Accushot in the before-time, the long-long-ago) is always reporting a bunch of errors like this:

+ Unhandled exception while opening critical file, could not read data.

File: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\EXE\freelancer.ini
Line Number: 0
File: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\DATA\audio\ambience_sounds.ini
Exception: Illegal characters in path.

+ Unhandled exception while opening file, could not read data.

File: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\Data\fx\explosions.ini
Line Number: 0
File: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Freelancer\Data\fx\effect_types.ini
Exception: Illegal characters in path.


Usually these are files I haven't modified, or even looked into. Also, and more importantly, these reported error do not seem to bother the game in any way.

My guess: it's the Program Files (x86) folder that cause these error reports, more precisely the (x86) part.

Can anyone confirm this? And: can we somehow configure FLScan to not regard this as an error?

Posted on: 2011/3/17 21:00
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/11/30 19:02
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 391
Offline
First off, this is probably a given, but have you tried running it as administrator?

Otherwise, you could always just make a separate folder called just 'Program Files' and install/move FL there.

EDIT: I also see it says 'Exception: Illegal characters in path.' This pretty much guarantees your problem is the (x86) in the path, more specifically the ( ).

Posted on: 2011/3/17 21:12
Open in new window
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Quote:

Vesko wrote:

EDIT: I also see it says 'Exception: Illegal characters in path.' This pretty much guarantees your problem is the (x86) in the path, more specifically the ( ).

Thx, that's what I assumed.

Posted on: 2011/3/18 0:37
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 2010
Offline
I think this may be an admin issue, since I renamed my path to include brackets and it worked fine (in XP).

Posted on: 2011/3/18 12:20
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/17 23:28
From new jersey usa
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 911
Offline
i cant even get that program to work on windows 7

Posted on: 2011/3/18 14:00
Open in new window
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 21:00
From Melbourne, Florida, United States
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 260
Offline
At least you can get it working. I can't. It comes up with that exact error when it starts parsing the files, and it just hangs there after you close the error box. :\

A little help here? I personally find FLScan better than FLErrorChecker, so I want to get it going. Changing the file path so that it doesn't have any odd characters in it doesn't help. I'm wondering if it's because I'm on a 64-bit computer; I've had problems compiling thorn files on this one, whereas it works fine on my 32-bit computer.

Posted on: 2011/4/5 21:49
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Update

(I came along this thread while searching thru old posts)

I've now installed Freelancer at C:\FL\Freelancer and I still get those supposedly critical errors. Not really a problem, I just ignore them.

@ MKnote: (Maybe you already fixed it; this thread is a couple of months old by now.) My comp is a 64bits too. And I didn't do anything special (I wouldn't know how).

The only odd thing, iirc, is that I did not install FLScan to this computer, as the installer didn't work. Instead, I use a version I installed to an older comp, either my PC running XP, or my gf's laptop running Vista - I don't know anymore because this wasn't intended to; I just copied my entire FL resource folder and apparently I had installed the program there instead of in a program files folder. I found out by coincidence that I could use this version.

Btw the last part might also be a clue? It's not running from one of the program file folders, but from a folder called "C:\FL\Freelancer Resources\Freelancer Modding Tools\FLScan v1.3"

Posted on: 2011/8/29 12:47
Top
Anonymous
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Anonymous-Anonymous
I also use a "copied over" version of FLScan (in "Program Files (x86)" ) and get the same error when scanning a vanilla Freelancer.ini.
You can easily remove the pointless warning by deleting the tabs between the following entries and their comments:

sounds = audio\sounds.ini ;all sfx not falling into some other category
sounds = audio\engine_sounds.ini ;engine sounds only
sounds = audio\story_sounds.ini ;dialogue for the story (except for news broadcasts)
sounds = audio\gf_sounds.ini ;sound-effects for gameflow - bases, rooms etc.
sounds = audio\news_sounds.ini ;dialogue for news broadcasts - re-usable PLUS story CUT on 20021211 MG
effects = fx\effect_types.ini ; needs to be before effects.ini
effects = fx\beam_effects.ini ; also needs to be before effects.ini

Posted on: 2011/8/29 13:02
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 928
Offline
Quote:

Aigle1707 wrote:
I also use a "copied over" version of FLScan (in "Program Files (x86)" ) and get the same error when scanning a vanilla Freelancer.ini.
You can easily remove the pointless warning by deleting the tabs between the following entries and their comments:

sounds = audio\sounds.ini ;all sfx not falling into some other category
sounds = audio\engine_sounds.ini ;engine sounds only
sounds = audio\story_sounds.ini ;dialogue for the story (except for news broadcasts)
sounds = audio\gf_sounds.ini ;sound-effects for gameflow - bases, rooms etc.
sounds = audio\news_sounds.ini ;dialogue for news broadcasts - re-usable PLUS story CUT on 20021211 MG
effects = fx\effect_types.ini ; needs to be before effects.ini
effects = fx\beam_effects.ini ; also needs to be before effects.ini


Thanks for sharing this!!

Posted on: 2011/8/30 8:52
Top
Re: FLScan and Win7 - false errors reported?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/10 22:00
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 1281
Offline
BTW, FLEC is meant to compliment FLScan, not replace it. I intentionally avoided adding features FLScan already had

Posted on: 2011/8/30 23:39
Galaxy Empire
Youtube Videos
Facebook
Top