Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
74 user(s) are online (41 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 73

sukothai, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 78 users playing Freelancer on 39 servers.
May. 18, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/25 18:56
From Temecula, California
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 284
Offline
Just a quick question.. during export I get an 'Error exporting LOD' which says:
Quote:
"The node under your component must specify the lod"

Sooo... my meshes are already grouped as Root, and each part is named
"blah blee_bloo_lod1"
"blah blar_blur_lod1"

amimissingsomething? which node might this refer to?

Might be a good idear to include a sample / template file for easy reference.

Posted on: 2011/6/30 2:51
Be always firm in belief, yet never rigid
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Here's a tutorial that will answer your question:

Posted on: 2011/6/30 4:19
Open in new window
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/25 18:56
From Temecula, California
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 284
Offline
Thank you oh fishy one, looks like this'll be a great step forward in complex models. Just stumbled on the compiled versions in the downloads section today, pleasant surprise with x64 and 32 bit versions for max 2010 & 2011.

Lets hear it for Milkshape's exit from the pipeline

Posted on: 2011/6/30 4:42
Be always firm in belief, yet never rigid
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/8/30 8:36
From Bay Area, CA, USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 379
Offline
Amen

Posted on: 2011/6/30 4:52
"Before I start, I'd like to apologize from all my heart in front of everybody for all the bad things I've done before posting this thread. (Sizer, I'll ALWAYS hate you)" - TheDVDMan
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/21 12:54
From Glasgow, Scotland
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Posts: 72
Offline
You can also select the meshes to be grouped and when you group them the first time, you call the group lod* whatever. Then group again and name the component.

Root
-->lod0
-->Mesh
-->Mesh

And so on. Here's a video of what I mean. Basically there only has to be the one lod node for the entire group. Or how ever many lods there are, so if you have 2 lods there only needs to be the (component name => lod0 Meshes) then under the same (component name => lod1 meshes)

Open in new window

Root
-->lod0
-->Mesh
-->Mesh
-->lod1
-->Mesh
-->Mesh

EDIT:

The version on the repository hasn't been updated in a while. The plugin should split the meshes up by material ID now within thiere groups like in the video above. I dunno if the compiled version you are all using has the ability to do this, cause well I dunno who compiled it and where from. But basically the plugin can be a pain in the ass without it, unless you use a script to split the meshes up before you start grouping stuff. After you export your model if the meshes aint been split the textures will not show correctly.


Posted on: 2011/6/30 11:34
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Ya, I can didn't mention that. If anyone wants a tutorial on setting up animations, I can do that, too.

Posted on: 2011/6/30 14:00
Open in new window
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/6/2 10:17
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1847
Offline
Yes please, Sushi.

Thanks.

Posted on: 2011/6/30 20:05
"C" for "Caterpillar"... "Cool"... "Cheesey"!
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/1/6 12:16
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 98
Offline
That would indeed be very helpful. Looking forward to it.

Posted on: 2011/7/1 11:46
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Alright. I'll get to it when I can.

Posted on: 2011/7/1 12:30
Open in new window
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/11/1 9:30
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Please provide a link to the newest revision.
(source code)

Posted on: 2011/8/5 8:38
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline

Posted on: 2011/8/5 10:09
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/11/1 9:30
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Thanks but it's the old one.

Quote:
(...) The version on the repository hasn't been updated in a while. The plugin should split the meshes up by material ID now within thiere groups like in the video above. (...)


the linked rev doesn't do that.

Posted on: 2011/8/5 10:31
Top
Re: on the new Max CMP exporter plugin
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/10/27 18:18
From Adelaide, Australia
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 445
Offline
Ah, I missed that post, sorry about that. D:

Posted on: 2011/8/5 12:22
Top